Official Logitech Harmony One thread - Page 379 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11341 of 11354 Old 08-14-2014, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
FYI... I know they've been mentioned here before, but Harmony Remote Repair can fix many of the routine problems. At the prices refurbs have hit, their services are getting more attractive. I haven't used them myself, so I can't vouch for them in any way.
I've used Quin's service at Harmony Remote Repair and found him to be very helpful and thorough with the repair he did for me.

I have an older Harmony One and the white touch areas below the screen started to blink, fade out, go out intermittently. These are the touch areas labeled Options and Devices. They lit up fine when they were amber just not when they were supposed to be white. The areas still worked when touched, just not lighting up properly.

He diagnosed and repaired the problem very quickly. He also took care of another minor problem he noticed while working on it and fixed that too. I can recommend his service.
joe221 likes this.
Tom Thomas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11342 of 11354 Old 08-20-2014, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mrcarnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do you have a link to a web site for him? Thanks.
mrcarnut is offline  
post #11343 of 11354 Old 08-20-2014, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcarnut View Post
Do you have a link to a web site for him? Thanks.
It's already in my post above (original and quotes).

Commercial AV Design Engineer,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #11344 of 11354 Old 09-08-2014, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Chazcdc54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Coatesville, PA (Suburban Philadelphia)
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a new receiver (Onkyo TX-NR828) and set it up a week ago. I'm trying to program my H One but have a problem. The remote mode button "Receiver" has no command that I can see in the command set downloaded with this model. From what I see the button is important to switch functionality to the receiver away from other source components. I tried to learn the command remote to remote but no signal/command was seen - no luck.



Does anyone with an Onkyo receiver have a solution to this problem? Perhaps, using the InputNET command might work as it has no direct association with a physical HDMI input on the back panel? Maybe, the "Home" button command includes somehow switching to the receiver, but such is not the case when using the original remote as you need to first hit the "receiver" remote mode button before hitting any other receiver related commands.



I'm at a loss here as this is the only button that one needs programmed that does not have a related command.



Any advice is appreciated. I admit the 828 remote is nicely designed and an improvement over the one I had for the TX-SR805 this unit replaces, however, it pales as a universal remote. The One remains king in this area!
Chazcdc54 is offline  
post #11345 of 11354 Old 09-10-2014, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Topher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't have an Onkyo, but on my Pioneer, the 'Receiver' button on the remote is so the remote controls the receiver, not other equipment. Say I press the TV button on the Pioneer's remote to change the channel. To get the remote to control the Pioneer, I'd push the 'Receiver' button.
Topher is online now  
post #11346 of 11354 Old 09-10-2014, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,869
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Onkyo works the same. "Receiver" switches the original remote's operating mode. It doesn't perform any function on the receiver itself. It isn't learnable and would serve no purpose on another remote. All the functions on Harmony operate the Onkyo without needing to press any other buttons first.
Bladerunner1959 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #11347 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I purchased a refurbished Harmony One as a backup for my 5 year old original One. It seems to work fine, and I'm thinking of getting another for peace of mind, knowing that they might be harder to find in the future.


My question is, what's the best way to guarantee its longevity? Should I take out the battery? Or leave it in and occasionally charge the remote? I'm not planning on using it until my original One reaches the end of its life. Thanks in advance
tightrope is offline  
post #11348 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walls, MS
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tightrope View Post
I purchased a refurbished Harmony One as a backup for my 5 year old original One. It seems to work fine, and I'm thinking of getting another for peace of mind, knowing that they might be harder to find in the future.


My question is, what's the best way to guarantee its longevity? Should I take out the battery? Or leave it in and occasionally charge the remote? I'm not planning on using it until my original One reaches the end of its life. Thanks in advance
I've done the same as you and picked up a couple spares. I rotate them all. I use one while another is on the charger and the third is "on-deck". I then rotate them to use the one from the charger, put the "on-deck" one on the charger and let the one I was using become "on-deck". I hope this makes sense...
Tom Thomas is offline  
post #11349 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The best thing you can do for longevity is to put the H1 on the charger only long enough to fully charge it and then remove it. It's fine to leave it sitting with a full charge (it will gradually discharge), but it's very bad to leave it fully discharged or on the charger when it's fully charged.


Mike
120inna55 likes this.
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #11350 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
The best thing you can do for longevity is to put the H1 on the charger only long enough to fully charge it and then remove it. It's fine to leave it sitting with a full charge (it will gradually discharge), but it's very bad to leave it fully discharged or on the charger when it's fully charged.


Mike
(BAG O'WORMS WARNING] I agree with this statement based on the fact that I'm still using a 6 1/2 year-old daily use H1 with the OEM blue stripe battery and only have to charge it every 2 weeks. It shows no signs of swelling. I even periodically remove the battery to check for swelling. I attribute this good fortune to never having left it on the charger despite Logitech's claims that it is okay to do so.

There will be folks who will vehemently disagree with this statement.

My spare remains on a shelf with battery loaded. I check it ever so often, and when it becomes near depletion, I charge it up and put it back on the shelf. I have it sync'd just like my daily use H1, so if it ever dies, the spare will be ready to go.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
120inna55 is online now  
post #11351 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
The best thing you can do for longevity is to put the H1 on the charger only long enough to fully charge it and then remove it. It's fine to leave it sitting with a full charge (it will gradually discharge), but it's very bad to leave it fully discharged or on the charger when it's fully charged.


Mike
OK thanks for the tip, I will follow your advice.
tightrope is offline  
post #11352 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 120inna55 View Post
(BAG O'WORMS WARNING] I agree with this statement based on the fact that I'm still using a 6 1/2 year-old daily use H1 with the OEM blue stripe battery and only have to charge it every 2 weeks. It shows no signs of swelling. I even periodically remove the battery to check for swelling. I attribute this good fortune to never having left it on the charger despite Logitech's claims that it is okay to do so.

There will be folks who will vehemently disagree with this statement.

My spare remains on a shelf with battery loaded. I check it ever so often, and when it becomes near depletion, I charge it up and put it back on the shelf. I have it sync'd just like my daily use H1, so if it ever dies, the spare will be ready to go.
Wow, impressive charge! I (foolishly) followed Logitech's advice to leave my 5 year-old One on the dock and it only holds its charge for a couple of days now. I'll be more careful with my spare remote. I'm curious, would there be an adverse effect to let the charge deplete completely and only recharge it when I want to use it?
tightrope is offline  
post #11353 of 11354 Old Yesterday, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tightrope View Post
Wow, impressive charge! I (foolishly) followed Logitech's advice to leave my 5 year-old One on the dock and it only holds its charge for a couple of days now. I'll be more careful with my spare remote. I'm curious, would there be an adverse effect to let the charge deplete completely and only recharge it when I want to use it?
Please don't take my comments as if I have some technical knowledge about the batteries in question. I am simply giving you my honest experience.

As far as letting it completely deplete and leaving it dead for prolonged periods of time? I would imagine that's probably about as good as leaving the battery out of the remote. In my experience with other rechargeable devices, allowing them die and stay dead for prolonged periods dramatically shortens their life and capacity. I would do what I said I'm doing. My backup remote sits on a shelf in a cool environment. I allow the battery to get very low. So far, I've not let it completely die. It's on a shelf in my media closet, so I see it about twice per week. I just wake it up and have a look at the battery symbol. If it's orange, I charge it over night, and then put it back on the shelf. Since the backup never sees any action, I rarely have to charge it. I haven't paid that much attention to the frequency, but I would imagine it's no more frequent than every 6 to 8 weeks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
120inna55 is online now  
post #11354 of 11354 Old Today, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The technical reason for never letting batteries sit in a discharged state is (roughly) as follows:


Rechargeable batteries tend to grow "tendrils" between the two plates. These tendrils effectively short circuit the battery. If the battery is fully charged, then any tendril that grows will be immediately destroyed as soon as current passes through it. Think of a fuse. But if the battery is dead, then the tendril is not destroyed, and will continue to grow over time, to the point where it can no longer be destroyed and the battery is ruined. (Technically, it can't be destroyed by the current available from the charger, but might be able to be destroyed by a much larger current, but that can also explode the battery.)


Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Logitech , Harmony 880 Advanced Universal Remote

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off