Official Logitech Harmony One thread - Page 389 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 55Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11641 of 11652 Old 05-22-2015, 07:02 PM
Member
 
greyflag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
How recent was the last update? Haven't updated in very long time. I assumed that since they don't make it anymore, there wouldn't be any more updates...
Don't know the date, but I remember doing it last year as well to get the date to read 2014. The latest Logitech remote software that I have installed is version 7. Update firmware button works after logging in to your remote's account.
greyflag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11642 of 11652 Old Yesterday, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dirk1843's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Northeast Arkansas
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Last year I purchased a replacement battery for a spare for my Harmony One. I popped it in last week and it won't charge. I checked the Amazon sale, and it specifically states for a One.

I want at least one spare for this remote, but after going the Amazon route once I am wary. Any reputable places to purchase these from? Thanks

I've seen things you wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate.
dirk1843 is offline  
post #11643 of 11652 Old Today, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk1843 View Post
Last year I purchased a replacement battery for a spare for my Harmony One. I popped it in last week and it won't charge. I checked the Amazon sale, and it specifically states for a One.

I want at least one spare for this remote, but after going the Amazon route once I am wary. Any reputable places to purchase these from? Thanks
Ordinarily one buys the battery so infrequently why risk a potentially crappy knockoff? Just buy it from Logitech and be done with it.
bmcn is offline  
post #11644 of 11652 Old Today, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
rehaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Logitech no longer sells the batteries for the H1 or 900
rehaz1 is offline  
post #11645 of 11652 Old Today, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehaz1 View Post
Logitech no longer sells the batteries for the H1 or 900
Thanks for the update. Bought two last time; any idea on their shelf life?
bmcn is offline  
post #11646 of 11652 Old Today, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
rehaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
Thanks for the update. Bought two last time; any idea on their shelf life?
Probably about 3 or 4 years guessing
rehaz1 is offline  
post #11647 of 11652 Old Today, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehaz1 View Post
Probably about 3 or 4 years guessing
Thanks. The buttons on my H1 will probably wear out before the second battery is installed. Have you found a suitable replacement for the H1?
bmcn is offline  
post #11648 of 11652 Unread Today, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
rehaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
Thanks. The buttons on my H1 will probably wear out before the second battery is installed. Have you found a suitable replacement for the H1?
My 2 H1s are packed away in the closet, as I am using 4 900s because of the Blasters, I don't have to point the remotes at my equipment to get them to work. I also have 3 Ultimates, an Ultimate Home, and a Touch with the Hub and Smart Control remote, and a Smart Keyboard and Hub, but I havn't found any of the newer Harmony remotes that I like as good as the 900 and H1. The 650 would not serve my needs as it can only handle 8 devices. If you ask how come I have all of these remotes, I have been beta testing Harmony remotes since 2009. When the 900s fail I will switch over the one of the Ultimates or Ultimate Home. I do use one of the Ultimates for my TV out on the patio though, it is just a different learning curve using the Ultimate, as I use the Gestures Screen while watching recorded programs out on the patio to advance through the commercials.
bmcn likes this.
rehaz1 is offline  
post #11649 of 11652 Unread Today, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehaz1 View Post
My 2 H1s are packed away in the closet, as I am using 4 900s because of the Blasters, I don't have to point the remotes at my equipment to get them to work. I also have 3 Ultimates, an Ultimate Home, and a Touch with the Hub and Smart Control remote, and a Smart Keyboard and Hub, but I havn't found any of the newer Harmony remotes that I like as good as the 900 and H1. The 650 would not serve my needs as it can only handle 8 devices. If you ask how come I have all of these remotes, I have been beta testing Harmony remotes since 2009. When the 900s fail I will switch over the one of the Ultimates or Ultimate Home. I do use one of the Ultimates for my TV out on the patio though, it is just a different learning curve using the Ultimate, as I use the Gestures Screen while watching recorded programs out on the patio to advance through the commercials.
Good story; looks as if there's no turning back by Logitech, who had a run of great products over very long time.
bmcn is offline  
post #11650 of 11652 Unread Today, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,708
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2565 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
Quote:
Originally Posted by rehaz1 View Post
My 2 H1s are packed away in the closet, as I am using 4 900s because of the Blasters, I don't have to point the remotes at my equipment to get them to work. I also have 3 Ultimates, an Ultimate Home, and a Touch with the Hub and Smart Control remote, and a Smart Keyboard and Hub, but I havn't found any of the newer Harmony remotes that I like as good as the 900 and H1. The 650 would not serve my needs as it can only handle 8 devices. If you ask how come I have all of these remotes, I have been beta testing Harmony remotes since 2009. When the 900s fail I will switch over the one of the Ultimates or Ultimate Home. I do use one of the Ultimates for my TV out on the patio though, it is just a different learning curve using the Ultimate, as I use the Gestures Screen while watching recorded programs out on the patio to advance through the commercials.
Since you have been beta testing Harmony products, I hope you are in a position to give them some feedback. I have had my Ultimate One for several weeks now, having replaced a H1. While I have become quite accustomed to the programming interface, the gestures, and other enhancements, what I can't get used to is the ergonomic layout of the keys. The placement of the keys is just so foreign to using it with one hand that I find it very uncomfortable. And one other thing that makes it more difficult to use in the dark is that the Volume and the Page Up/Down keys are missing the "+" and "-" indicators.

Unfortunately, since my two H1's have worn out keys, I don't have a choice. I must make do with the U1. I just wish I liked using it a little more.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11651 of 11652 Unread Today, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I recently broke the screen on my H1, are these easy to replace and are there replacement screens readily available?
JRobert1967 is offline  
post #11652 of 11652 Unread Today, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk1843 View Post
Last year I purchased a replacement battery for a spare for my Harmony One. I popped it in last week and it won't charge. I checked the Amazon sale, and it specifically states for a One.

I want at least one spare for this remote, but after going the Amazon route once I am wary. Any reputable places to purchase these from? Thanks
I bought this one 3 years ago and it works fine:

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Li-io...NE+880+890+720

I may have gotten lucky though.
Tom C is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Logitech , Harmony 880 Advanced Universal Remote

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off