Official Logitech Harmony One thread - Page 395 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 69Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11821 of 11879 Old 02-04-2016, 03:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 14,778
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dre325 View Post
So it looks like it'll cost me $70 to get my Harmony One repaired. I'm considering picking up a Harmony 900 instead because I'm actually now in need of RF capability. Any H1 owners out there that have moved to the 900 that care to comment on performance? If I should post this elsewhere, just let me know.
Amazon reviews have several comparisons.
Bond 007 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11822 of 11879 Old 02-06-2016, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Jiminkirkland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help,
I just bought a used Harmony One. I'm using it with a TIVO (series 2 DVR). I've entered some "favorite" channels (with icons) in the appropriate place on MyHarmony but after syncing they don't show up on my remote. Any suggestions?

Also, the time/date that I set don't stay set!! They seem to "go bad" after a little while off of the charger. Suggestions?

Thanks,
Jiminkirkland
Jiminkirkland is offline  
post #11823 of 11879 Old 02-06-2016, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Jiminkirkland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help,
I just bought a used Harmony One. I'm using it with a TIVO (series 2 DVR). I've entered some "favorite" channels (with icons) in the appropriate place on MyHarmony but after syncing they don't show up on my remote. Any suggestions?

Also, the time/date that I set don't stay set!! They seem to "go bad" after a little while off of the charger. Suggestions?

Thanks,
Jiminkirkland
Jiminkirkland is offline  
post #11824 of 11879 Old 02-06-2016, 02:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 14,778
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Time/date will reset every time you sync it.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #11825 of 11879 Old 02-07-2016, 07:36 AM
Member
 
jmcging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbia MD
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have a Harmony One controlling my Panasonic plasma, Onkyo AV, an HDMI switch, a Roku 4 and the blue-ray. The spouse loves the thing. I bought a Harmony Ultimate One for the bedroom in order to control the Roku 4 I put in there. Wife and I hated it so badly it's back in the box, rotting. The buttons/control placement is wretched and the thing can't be used one handed for anything but volume and channel up/down. No number keypad? Seriously? Same essential issues with the Harmony Elite; slightly better placement of keys but no number keypad buttons? So got a Home Companion to replace it, wish it has back lighting but it's a good fit in the hand, the keys are in the right places and it's usable one handed, albeit it's dainty. More importantly, spouse is OK with it. Hoping to replace the Panny in a few months and given the new remotes with smart TVs, that could be interesting. Thinking getting a spare Harmony One as a backup for when this one wears out is the way to retain family room and spousal harmony (no pun intended.)

But to be honest, I never looked at the 350 nor the 650 for whatever reason, and see that they have the essential Harmony One key placement and hand shape that is second nature to us. Not sure what is different between these 2 and the Harmony One but given we just have 4 essential activities (watch tv, watch dvd, watch roku and switch to chromecast) it is likely that the new TV may make the roku redundant as well as the chromecast. Hmmm, I may have just figured out I've been overbuying for my needs,
jmcging is offline  
post #11826 of 11879 Old 02-07-2016, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcging View Post
I have a Harmony One controlling my Panasonic plasma, Onkyo AV, an HDMI switch, a Roku 4 and the blue-ray. The spouse loves the thing. I bought a Harmony Ultimate One for the bedroom in order to control the Roku 4 I put in there. Wife and I hated it so badly it's back in the box, rotting. The buttons/control placement is wretched and the thing can't be used one handed for anything but volume and channel up/down. No number keypad? Seriously? Same essential issues with the Harmony Elite; slightly better placement of keys but no number keypad buttons? So got a Home Companion to replace it, wish it has back lighting but it's a good fit in the hand, the keys are in the right places and it's usable one handed, albeit it's dainty. More importantly, spouse is OK with it. Hoping to replace the Panny in a few months and given the new remotes with smart TVs, that could be interesting. Thinking getting a spare Harmony One as a backup for when this one wears out is the way to retain family room and spousal harmony (no pun intended.)

But to be honest, I never looked at the 350 nor the 650 for whatever reason, and see that they have the essential Harmony One key placement and hand shape that is second nature to us. Not sure what is different between these 2 and the Harmony One but given we just have 4 essential activities (watch tv, watch dvd, watch roku and switch to chromecast) it is likely that the new TV may make the roku redundant as well as the chromecast. Hmmm, I may have just figured out I've been overbuying for my needs,
350 is a different animal altogether, but the 650 and 700 are decent alternatives to the One. My wife is technology challenged and easily adapts between 650, 700 and One. Ultimate One is collecting dust here, too.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #11827 of 11879 Old 02-07-2016, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: just north of Atlanta
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
350 is a different animal altogether, but the 650 and 700 are decent alternatives to the One. My wife is technology challenged and easily adapts between 650, 700 and One. Ultimate One is collecting dust here, too.
I have a One and have just spent some time with a 650, having programmed a clients remote. The differences I see are the 650 doesn't have touchscreen controls, instead relying on hard buttons to either side and it requires AA batteries rather than being rechargeable, other than that the button layout is very similar.
mylan is online now  
post #11828 of 11879 Old 02-07-2016, 09:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,028
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1928 Post(s)
Liked: 875
The 700 is a closer match to the One since it is rechargeable. Still not touch, and has 4 functions per screen vs. 6 on the One.
mdavej is offline  
post #11829 of 11879 Old 02-08-2016, 04:14 AM
Member
 
jmcging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbia MD
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
The 700 is a closer match to the One since it is rechargeable. Still not touch, and has 4 functions per screen vs. 6 on the One.
Will definitely check those out as alternatives, don't mind AA batteries for bedroom and touch screen is overkill id teh activities are routine. Glad I stopped by, I never would have considered these as alternatives. Sorry I wasted time and money with Ultimate.
jmcging is offline  
post #11830 of 11879 Old 02-08-2016, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bladerunner1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pittsburgh...Preferably the Virgin Islands....
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I have the HarmonyOne.

My current setup is my 2012 lineup of the Samsung 3D led/lcd UN60ES8000 and the Samsung bd-e6500 bluray player BUT, due to disc load errors recently i just bought the Samsung BD-J7500.

Will i have to add the new Samsung bluray player and assign it , in my remote?

I'm hoping its a simple plug and play with regard to my HarmonyOne. If I dont have to reprogram the Harmony for a different Samsung bluray player that would be cool.

Love for all things Hi-def...Losing count; 200 plus bluray, 500 plus dvd, 30 plus HDdvd and a rapidly growing 50 plus in the cloud.

Bladerunner1959 is online now  
post #11831 of 11879 Old 02-08-2016, 04:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 14,778
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladerunner1959 View Post
I have the HarmonyOne.

My current setup is my 2012 lineup of the Samsung 3D led/lcd UN60ES8000 and the Samsung bd-e6500 bluray player BUT, due to disc load errors recently i just bought the Samsung BD-J7500.

Will i have to add the new Samsung bluray player and assign it , in my remote?

I'm hoping its a simple plug and play with regard to my HarmonyOne. If I dont have to reprogram the Harmony for a different Samsung bluray player that would be cool.
Probably not. Try it and find out.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #11832 of 11879 Old 02-10-2016, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Lyons07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hi,

I'm getting the new Samsung - UBD-K8500 UHD Bluray player today. Has anyone got this to work with the Harmony One?

Thanks, Jerry

UN60HU8550 HS01 SEK-3500 Denon X4000
Lyons07 is offline  
post #11833 of 11879 Old 02-10-2016, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Lyons07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hi,

I'm getting the new Samsung - UBD-K8500 UHD Bluray player today. Has anyone got this to work with the Harmony One?

Thanks, Jerry

UN60HU8550 HS01 SEK-3500 Denon X4000
Lyons07 is offline  
post #11834 of 11879 Old 02-10-2016, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Pedro6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone know where to purchase a Logitech IR extender system or a new alternative for this remote?
Pedro6 is online now  
post #11835 of 11879 Old 02-10-2016, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 14,778
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro6 View Post
Anyone know where to purchase a Logitech IR extender system or a new alternative for this remote?
ebay?
Bond 007 is online now  
post #11836 of 11879 Old 02-20-2016, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ZzBloopzZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I want to sell off my Harmony One remote as I like the "feel" of the 700 much better.

How can I reset it to factory defaults, before I sell it off? The new buyer can just create a new account to program the remote correct? Rather, is a remote tied down to a particular account?

Thanks!

Basement | Horrorfest 2015
Samsung 51" PN51D7000 | Mede8er 600X3D | Roku 3 | Pana. BDT110 | 30TB+ ZFS
Denon AVR-2113CI | Ascend Sierra-1 LCR | Ascend CBM-170 SE | PSA XV15
Living Room
Sony 65" KDL65W850A | Mede8er 600X3D | Wii
Denon AVR-X1000 | JBL Studio 530 | JBL Studio 520C | Outlaw LFM-1 EX
ZzBloopzZ is offline  
post #11837 of 11879 Old 02-20-2016, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 14,778
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 1429
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZzBloopzZ View Post
I want to sell off my Harmony One remote as I like the "feel" of the 700 much better.

How can I reset it to factory defaults, before I sell it off? The new buyer can just create a new account to program the remote correct? Rather, is a remote tied down to a particular account?

Thanks!
Just delete all your devices and activities.
Yes.
No.
ZzBloopzZ likes this.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #11838 of 11879 Old 02-21-2016, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
ZzBloopzZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Just delete all your devices and activities.
Yes.
No.

Thanks, it would not let me sync after deleting all activities, so then I just added 1 random TV and then synced.

Basement | Horrorfest 2015
Samsung 51" PN51D7000 | Mede8er 600X3D | Roku 3 | Pana. BDT110 | 30TB+ ZFS
Denon AVR-2113CI | Ascend Sierra-1 LCR | Ascend CBM-170 SE | PSA XV15
Living Room
Sony 65" KDL65W850A | Mede8er 600X3D | Wii
Denon AVR-X1000 | JBL Studio 530 | JBL Studio 520C | Outlaw LFM-1 EX
ZzBloopzZ is offline  
post #11839 of 11879 Old 02-21-2016, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
Sorry, I assumed with a One you were using the legacy software. The newer MyHarmony software (there is an OS X version) also supports the One, and you can add up to six different remotes to the same account (again, based on my experience with PC version). I already have six remotes on this MyHarmony account but, if I didn't, the "+" at the bottom of the remote list would open the prompts to add another remote:



All of the available software (legacy 7.7 and MyHarmony) for all operating systems can be found HERE.
I'm still on the legacy software (Harmony One) and wasn't aware of 7.7. If they sent a notice to users it didn't reach me. Anyway the legacy versions still works. Besides the ability to store multiple remotes, what else is improved?
jbug is offline  
post #11840 of 11879 Old 02-21-2016, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post
I'm still on the legacy software (Harmony One) and wasn't aware of 7.7. If they sent a notice to users it didn't reach me. Anyway the legacy versions still works. Besides the ability to store multiple remotes, what else is improved?
How does the One compare to the Ultimate One in your opinion. I'm currently debating having my one repaired (couple of buttons need to be pressed really hard) or replacing it. I'd also be interested in your thoughts on the 650 and 700.

Yamaha 2010
Oppo 103D,ATV3,PS3, Samsung UN60ES7100F, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's
Zone2-Paradigm SE-1's, Zone3-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
pappaduke is offline  
post #11841 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post
I'm still on the legacy software (Harmony One) and wasn't aware of 7.7. If they sent a notice to users it didn't reach me. Anyway the legacy versions still works. Besides the ability to store multiple remotes, what else is improved?
7.7 IS the legacy software. MyHarmony is the newest. The One happens to be supported in both (as are the 650 and 700, but you can no longer create a new account based on a 650 or 700 in the 7.7 software). I have Ones/650s/700s configured in both versions. Simply based on familiarity, overall I still prefer the 7.7 software... for me it's just quicker to navigate and configure, but either works fine for the One. MyHarmony's advantage to One users is that it makes rearranging large sets of custom button pages a bit easier and it allows longer sequences (macros). MyHarmony has a distinct advantage for 650/700 remotes in that the device limit is higher for those remotes in MyHarmony. However, no such difference exists for the One.

The one thing that annoys me the most about MyHarmony is the inability to give unique names to the six remotes within an account, so if you have multiples of the same model remote, they are called 650 (1) , 650 (2), etc. You can see this in the screen shot I posted. If I haven't configured something in a particular account in some time, I have to look at the devices to figure out which room/system it belongs to. Minor, but a bit of a pain if you have a bunch of Harmony remotes like I do.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6

Last edited by jcalabria; 02-22-2016 at 07:09 AM.
jcalabria is offline  
post #11842 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Huh. I didn't know I could use the *new* software with my H1. I only use that for the Ultimate.

Should check into that sometime
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #11843 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
Huh. I didn't know I could use the *new* software with my H1. I only use that for the Ultimate.

Should check into that sometime
They come up as a One+ when you add it to an account, but all three of my Ones have been accepted by MyHarmony, even though none are officially One+. The account shown in the screen above shows one of my Ones I had added to MyHarmony just to see if it could be added (it worked) and if the settings transferred correctly (mixed bag). The biggest issue for me was that I have a huge custom database of Onkyo commands in the corresponding 7.7 account that did NOT transfer over. MyHarmony uses its own database of commands and any commands you've added do not carry over. Any commands that exist in both databases transfer just fine.
NickTheGreat likes this.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #11844 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
How does the One compare to the Ultimate One in your opinion. I'm currently debating having my one repaired (couple of buttons need to be pressed really hard) or replacing it. I'd also be interested in your thoughts on the 650 and 700.
I think you may have been referring to my screenshot... In my family room (main system), I have a One, an Ultimate One and an Xsight all programmed for the room. Despite many attempts to force myself to use the Ultimate One and the Xsight, I always fall back to the One after a few days. If there's a choice, I'll go for the One (or even a 650/700) before I'll pick up one of the others. When we picked up a beach condo last year, I couldn't even bring myself to use the Ultimate One or Xsight there... I picked up a refurbed 650 instead.

IMHO, the One/900/650/600 have the most user friendly ergonomics of any remotes I've ever used. Anything else has ended up a serious disappointment. It also helps that that the 650/700 have similar layouts to the One/900 and cost much less, which makes them very suitable for simpler systems without changing how it basically works. My very non-techie wife has no trouble moving from room to room with a mix of Ones, 650s and 700s. All of them have been quite reliable for me, although recently one of the 650s has developed a reluctant "3" key. So far, just an anomaly, not a trend.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #11845 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
How does the One compare to the Ultimate One in your opinion. I'm currently debating having my one repaired (couple of buttons need to be pressed really hard) or replacing it. I'd also be interested in your thoughts on the 650 and 700.
I think you may have been referring to my screenshot... In my family room (main system), I have a One, an Ultimate One and an Xsight all programmed for the room. Despite many attempts to force myself to use the Ultimate One and the Xsight, I always fall back to the One after a few days. If there's a choice, I'll go for the One (or even a 650/700) before I'll pick up one of the others. When we picked up a beach condo last year, I couldn't even bring myself to use the Ultimate One or Xsight there... I picked up a refurbed 650 instead.

IMHO, the One/900/650/600 have the most user friendly ergonomics of any remotes I've ever used. Anything else has ended up a serious disappointment. It also helps that that the 650/700 have similar layouts to the One/900 and cost much less, which makes them very suitable for simpler systems without changing how it basically works. My very non-techie wife has no trouble moving from room to room with a mix of Ones, 650s and 700s. All of them have been quite reliable for me, although recently one of the 650s has developed a reluctant "3" key. So far, just an anomaly, not a trend.
You answered my question. Every time I look at the ultimate I can't imagine not having a keypad. I'll settle for a repair and purchase a 650 or 700 in the near future. My only concern is that I'm at the device limit for those. No room for growth:rage:
pappaduke is offline  
post #11846 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 09:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,028
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1928 Post(s)
Liked: 875
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
You answered my question. Every time I look at the ultimate I can't imagine not having a keypad.
You mean like this?


I don't see why a num pad is such a big deal these days. I rarely use numbers. Favorites are so much easier.

In any case, if you must have a hard button num pad at all times, I find the Nevo C2 to be an excellent replacement for a One/650/700. At $16, it's an amazing value, and has an 18 device capacity, and a better screen and more LCD buttons than the 650/700.
mdavej is offline  
post #11847 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
fpileggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Burlington, Vt
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
....I don't see why a num pad is such a big deal these days. I rarely use numbers. Favorites are so much easier.
When you say Favorites are you referring to those saved on the remote or those on a device ie; DISH Hopper/S? If its the remote and you have say 50 Favorites between the channel you are watching and the channel you want to watch do you have to scroll through the list? For myself just punching in the channel number from the get go seems a lot faster to me. Just my opinion.
fpileggi is online now  
post #11848 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,028
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1928 Post(s)
Liked: 875
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpileggi View Post
When you say Favorites are you referring to those saved on the remote or those on a device ie; DISH Hopper/S? If its the remote and you have say 50 Favorites between the channel you are watching and the channel you want to watch do you have to scroll through the list? For myself just punching in the channel number from the get go seems a lot faster to me. Just my opinion.
I'm just playing devil's advocate. I almost never watch live TV, and if I did, would have no more than 10 favorites. So I don't actually use any of the above. Numbers would be the quickest, but I have no desire to memorize 50 numbers. If I did, I'd just use the soft num pad. I guess my main point is, the num pad isn't really gone.
mdavej is offline  
post #11849 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpileggi View Post
When you say Favorites are you referring to those saved on the remote or those on a device ie; DISH Hopper/S? If its the remote and you have say 50 Favorites between the channel you are watching and the channel you want to watch do you have to scroll through the list? For myself just punching in the channel number from the get go seems a lot faster to me. Just my opinion.
You must have much better TV package than me if you have more than 50 channels worth watching . . .
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #11850 of 11879 Old 02-22-2016, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I'm just playing devil's advocate. I almost never watch live TV, and if I did, would have no more than 10 favorites. So I don't actually use any of the above. Numbers would be the quickest, but I have no desire to memorize 50 numbers. If I did, I'd just use the soft num pad. I guess my main point is, the num pad isn't really gone.
Hard numeric keys are preferable to me. Like you, I have no more than 10 favorites, but using the remote's favorites is a PITA and the cable guide has those favorites spread out too far to be convenient. So I direct enter between my favorites, and I can do it by feel with the remote still sitting on the armrest, which I can't do with a soft keypad (nor can I do that with favorites in the remote, which require extra key presses just to access). There's also the matter of near/far visual accommodation for those of us beyond a certain age. It's a PITA to be flipping glasses up and down to switch between looking at the TV and remote screens.

Also, numeric keypad is not the only issue with the Ultimate One... transport keys placed above the touchscreen are absolutely ridiculous (yes, the Elite fixes this). The size and shape just is not conducive to one-handed operation like it is in the One.

I've really tried to like the Ultimate One and Xsight... bought 'em, programmed 'em, used 'em... for me they are not remotely (no pun intended) close to being as ergonomically "right" as the One/650/700, and they sit idle collecting dust.

Of course, this is all just my personal opinion, but that is what was asked for. Everyone can make up their own mind.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6

Last edited by jcalabria; 02-22-2016 at 12:11 PM.
jcalabria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Harmony 880 Advanced Universal Remote , Logitech

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off