Official Logitech Harmony One thread - Page 404 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 103Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12091 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I haven't updated my One in several years, but I just added a Sony Bluray/SACD player.

Is there a way to map a color button icon to the Activity? I know that the One will do it for specific devices like a DirecTV box, Playstation 3, etc. But I don't know if there is a way to do it for other devices. I typed in "Blue", "Red", "Yellow", "Green" for custom buttons, but only the text appears.
tokerblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12092 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post
I haven't updated my One in several years, but I just added a Sony Bluray/SACD player.

Is there a way to map a color button icon to the Activity? I know that the One will do it for specific devices like a DirecTV box, Playstation 3, etc. But I don't know if there is a way to do it for other devices. I typed in "Blue", "Red", "Yellow", "Green" for custom buttons, but only the text appears.
You should be able to 'learn' any IR signal if you have an original remote to learn it from.

Using the Harmony 7.7.0 software:

-Devices tab
-'Learn IR' for desired device
-Scroll to bottom of page to 'Learn a New Command'
-You can name that new command anything you want
-Go back to activities, under desired activity 'Customize Buttons'
-Your New Command should be there if the device you chose is part of that Activity

.

Living Room: Denon X4000, XPA-5, Polk RTiA9, CSiA6, RTiA3-wides, FXiA4, OWM3, SVS PC12+, 4 Shakers, Epson 5030, VApex 92”, Sony XBR9 52”, PS3, Xbox 360, Darbee, Harmony 1.
Bedroom: Denon X2000, Polk: RTiA3, CSiA4, RTiA1, SVS SB12-NSD, Sony XBR-55X850B, Sony BPD-S590, Xbox 360, RPi2-RasPlex, Darbee, Harmony 510.
Home Office: Onkyo 707, Polk: LSiM 703, LSiM 704, Monitor 70, Yamaha SW315 x 2, Turntable, Triple Monitors, Harmony 610.
garnuts is offline  
post #12093 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by garnuts View Post
You should be able to 'learn' any IR signal if you have an original remote to learn it from.
Sorry, I should have been more clear. I meant picture icons like this. The actual Blue/Yellow/Red/Green text sends the correct command.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170122_164117337.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	198.0 KB
ID:	1912657  
tokerblue is offline  
 
post #12094 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post
Sorry, I should have been more clear. I meant picture icons like this. The actual Blue/Yellow/Red/Green text sends the correct command.
Gotcha,

If you ever figure out a way to do this please post it, I would like these for a couple of my activities.

Living Room: Denon X4000, XPA-5, Polk RTiA9, CSiA6, RTiA3-wides, FXiA4, OWM3, SVS PC12+, 4 Shakers, Epson 5030, VApex 92”, Sony XBR9 52”, PS3, Xbox 360, Darbee, Harmony 1.
Bedroom: Denon X2000, Polk: RTiA3, CSiA4, RTiA1, SVS SB12-NSD, Sony XBR-55X850B, Sony BPD-S590, Xbox 360, RPi2-RasPlex, Darbee, Harmony 510.
Home Office: Onkyo 707, Polk: LSiM 703, LSiM 704, Monitor 70, Yamaha SW315 x 2, Turntable, Triple Monitors, Harmony 610.
garnuts is offline  
post #12095 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,449
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2125 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post
Sorry, I should have been more clear. I meant picture icons like this. The actual Blue/Yellow/Red/Green text sends the correct command.
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...hread.cgi?6618
mdavej is online now  
post #12096 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Unfortunately, it seems to be device based. The icons will appear automatically for certain Activities, possibly only certain devices. I'm going to try adding a device that has the icons and see if I can somehow get it to work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HA_DTV.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	1913233   Click image for larger version

Name:	HA_BR.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	1913241  
tokerblue is offline  
post #12097 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
It looks like the functionality is Activity based. I added the DirecTV DVR to the Bluray Activity and the color icons did not appear. I created a new TV Activity and added the Bluray player. When I typed in "Red", it automatically added the icon.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HA_TV.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	93.5 KB
ID:	1913273  
garnuts likes this.
tokerblue is offline  
post #12098 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I got it to work. I basically created a dummy DirecTV device. I then changed the power setting to "No Power Button". That will keep the Harmony from turning on the dummy device when going to the Activity.

Next step was to create a "Watch TV" Activity. I then added the Blu-ray player to the Activity manually and programmed it as normal.

When I named the buttons Red, Yellow, Green, Blue the Harmony automatically mapped the icons to the soft button screen for the Blu-Ray Activity.

Last edited by tokerblue; 01-22-2017 at 08:42 PM.
tokerblue is offline  
post #12099 of 12107 Old 01-22-2017, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post
I got it to work. I basically created a dummy DirecTV device. I then changed the power setting to "No Power Button". That will keep the Harmony from turning on the dummy device when going to the Activity.

Next step was to create a "Watch TV" Activity. I then added the Blu-ray player to the Activity manually and programmed it as normal.

When I named the buttons Red, Yellow, Green, Blue the Harmony automatically mapped the icons to the soft button screen for the Blu-Ray Activity.
Thanks for posting your work around. I'll have to give it a try.

Living Room: Denon X4000, XPA-5, Polk RTiA9, CSiA6, RTiA3-wides, FXiA4, OWM3, SVS PC12+, 4 Shakers, Epson 5030, VApex 92”, Sony XBR9 52”, PS3, Xbox 360, Darbee, Harmony 1.
Bedroom: Denon X2000, Polk: RTiA3, CSiA4, RTiA1, SVS SB12-NSD, Sony XBR-55X850B, Sony BPD-S590, Xbox 360, RPi2-RasPlex, Darbee, Harmony 510.
Home Office: Onkyo 707, Polk: LSiM 703, LSiM 704, Monitor 70, Yamaha SW315 x 2, Turntable, Triple Monitors, Harmony 610.
garnuts is offline  
post #12100 of 12107 Old 01-27-2017, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,549
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2370 Post(s)
Liked: 1906
Just got my replacement for the refurb H1 with the cracked screen.
Its appearance is not like new but I would consider it very good and it seems to function like new.
They gave me a partial refund too. Very happy for $70.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #12101 of 12107 Old 01-30-2017, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Ultimate One Does Not Perform As Well From A Short Distance

Just moved our AV stand with all components to a new, closer to us position in our living room. Now with the AV closer my Ultimate One does not always connect with each component. It's performance with the AV further away was flawless. This seems odd. Any suggestions?

LG OLED 55EG9100 HDTV, DirecTV HD DVR Genie HR44, DirecTV AM21 OTA Receiver, Sony BDPS6500 Blu-Ray, Bose Soundtouch 130 HTC (Sound Bar), Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Ultimate One Remote, Monoprice AV Cables

LG OLED 55EG9100 Calibrated by Best Buy Geek Squad
49Merc is offline  
post #12102 of 12107 Old 01-31-2017, 05:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sgooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
Just moved our AV stand with all components to a new, closer to us position in our living room. Now with the AV closer my Ultimate One does not always connect with each component. It's performance with the AV further away was flawless. This seems odd. Any suggestions?
Is there something between where you're sitting and the new location of the AV stand, such as a coffee table? If so, consider buying a small convex mirror (a common/cheap auto accessories item), and place it where it can reflect/spread the remote's IR beam toward your AV stand. I did this several years ago for the in-laws by mounting the sticky-back mirror on the bottom of a ceiling fan in their family room; works perfectly.

Please enter password to view this signature.
Sgooter is offline  
post #12103 of 12107 Old 01-31-2017, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
Just moved our AV stand with all components to a new, closer to us position in our living room. Now with the AV closer my Ultimate One does not always connect with each component. It's performance with the AV further away was flawless. This seems odd. Any suggestions?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post
Is there something between where you're sitting and the new location of the AV stand, such as a coffee table? If so, consider buying a small convex mirror (a common/cheap auto accessories item), and place it where it can reflect/spread the remote's IR beam toward your AV stand. I did this several years ago for the in-laws by mounting the sticky-back mirror on the bottom of a ceiling fan in their family room; works perfectly.
Besides something blocking the IR as Sgooter noted, it could also be the angle your hitting the components at, which may be more severe with components now placed closer to you. The IR sensor for my last receiver was recessed a good bit back behind the front glass panel that had a small hole in it's black backcoating for the IR sensor. With the IR sensor set a bit back from that hole/window, you had to hit the IR window almost straight on for it to be able to see the remote. May not be your problem, but thought I should at least mention it as a possibility.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 8.0.0_21
jcalabria is offline  
post #12104 of 12107 Old 01-31-2017, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post
Is there something between where you're sitting and the new location of the AV stand, such as a coffee table? If so, consider buying a small convex mirror (a common/cheap auto accessories item), and place it where it can reflect/spread the remote's IR beam toward your AV stand. I did this several years ago for the in-laws by mounting the sticky-back mirror on the bottom of a ceiling fan in their family room; works perfectly.
No, nothing in between.

LG OLED 55EG9100 HDTV, DirecTV HD DVR Genie HR44, DirecTV AM21 OTA Receiver, Sony BDPS6500 Blu-Ray, Bose Soundtouch 130 HTC (Sound Bar), Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Ultimate One Remote, Monoprice AV Cables

LG OLED 55EG9100 Calibrated by Best Buy Geek Squad
49Merc is offline  
post #12105 of 12107 Old 01-31-2017, 06:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
Besides something blocking the IR as Sgooter noted, it could also be the angle your hitting the components at, which may be more severe with components now placed closer to you. The IR sensor for my last receiver was recessed a good bit back behind the front glass panel that had a small hole in it's black backcoating for the IR sensor. With the IR sensor set a bit back from that hole/window, you had to hit the IR window almost straight on for it to be able to see the remote. May not be your problem, but thought I should at least mention it as a possibility.
You may have confirmed my first thought. Would blasters help?

LG OLED 55EG9100 HDTV, DirecTV HD DVR Genie HR44, DirecTV AM21 OTA Receiver, Sony BDPS6500 Blu-Ray, Bose Soundtouch 130 HTC (Sound Bar), Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Ultimate One Remote, Monoprice AV Cables

LG OLED 55EG9100 Calibrated by Best Buy Geek Squad
49Merc is offline  
post #12106 of 12107 Old 01-31-2017, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49Merc View Post
You may have confirmed my first thought. Would blasters help?
When I had the problem, I picked up a relatively cheap IR repeater system from Amazon, and used the IR emitters for some other devices that were located in the back of the wall unit, but ended up hard wiring one of the repeater outputs to the IR IN connection on the back of the receiver.

THIS is the unit I purchased back in '09... still works fine (there are some similar units on Amazon now for $10-15 less, but I have no experience with them). As I said, mine was hard wired to the receiver I had at the time and all of the other devices were inside or behind the wall unit, so I had none of the emitter bugs visible.
49Merc likes this.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 8.0.0_21
jcalabria is offline  
post #12107 of 12107 Old 02-04-2017, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Just got a harmony elite. I have Directv and on my harmony one I could hold the page up or down button to keep scrolling on the TV guide. Is there a setting somewhere on the elite to have this same functionality?

Never mind. Had to change what long press does on the page down button in settings.

Last edited by guitarguy316; 02-04-2017 at 04:18 PM.
guitarguy316 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Harmony 880 Advanced Universal Remote , Logitech

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off