Lets Talk MX-980 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 182 Old 01-15-2008, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chad1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, for all of you Universal Remote lovers out there, how is everyone enjoying the MX-980 so far???

I have had success with this remote and while it does appear to have a few flaws/bugs, I do feel that it retains a lot of the functionality and ease of use of the MX-900 while incorporating a colorful LCD display closer to that of an MX-3000.

Some things that I have discovered to keep in mind/look out for:

1. Download the MX-980 expansion pack and favorite channel icons before you start. Lots of useful templates and icons here!

2. Follow the steps in the PROGRAM tab in order! If you do not add pages to devices, the IR codes do not all download from the IR database (No pages, no soft buttons, hence nowhere to put the codes).

3. You will be the most successful with this remote if you have had success with both the MX-900 and MX3000 remotes in the past as it is a blend of both remotes. If you are solid in a MX-900 only I suggest practice at the office before you hit a job site.

Questions/concerns that I have posted on universals forum and am yet to get answers on:

Question 1:
I have a fully functional remote and I want to add a new device to the first page of watch. Three buttons are Wide and combined while I have a left and right oriented button at the top for a total of 5 devices on page. I want to make one existing button left(currently wide and combined) without changing any macros, ect and put in a new right button and device.
Is this possible without deleting and re-creating the existing device as this is the only solution I have come up with so far?

Question #2
Importing and Exporting existing files/data into the MX-980.

I have tried the solution posted previously in the forum (On Universal Remote Forum) of opening a new file and clicking file and inport before beginning the remote programming. The problem that I have is with the Favorites section of the device. The device that I want to import is a DirecTV code set. In this code set, I have already built the favorite channels macros for directv as a test at the office. While the IR data and page layout are imported, the changes that I make to the favorites macros are not.

Please Help

Hopefully I have been of some help to some of you and any help that you can send my way is much appreciated!
Thanks,
Chad
chad1212 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 182 Old 01-15-2008, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chad1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys,
Got some help from people on Universal Remote on my first question.

Basically, you choose the wide button that you want to change and right click on it. Where the editor says combine button, you uncheck it. You then go to the image gallery, select the appropriate button (left or right) and drag it into the editor. Once you do that, you can head to create and name devices, add a new device, and go on from there. If anyone has any info on my second question, let me know.
Thanks
chad1212 is offline  
post #3 of 182 Old 01-15-2008, 05:02 PM
sda
Member
 
sda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad1212 View Post


1. Download the MX-980 expansion pack and favorite channel icons before you start. Lots of useful templates and icons here!

Chad

How did you get access to the expansion pack. As a DIYer (non-professional) that purchased a MX-980 I do not have access to URC's site to download this file. I read on another forum that it is 297MB (ouch!) so sending it via email is impossible. Should I work with my original supplier (in this case Magnolia--who provided access to the MX-980 Editor) to get a copy?
sda is offline  
post #4 of 182 Old 01-15-2008, 08:26 PM
Member
 
UltraDagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the MX-980 for a week now. I love it.

For importing old data, I've used the universal browser. I like the drag and drop aspect to that, choose what you want to import.


I'm still in the state where I still have to use my MX-800 because the MX-980 isn't complete yet (Too Busy).

I frown when I have to pick up the MX-800 when this is staring at me.



Eddie
UltraDagger is offline  
post #5 of 182 Old 01-16-2008, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chad1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the expansion pack is almost 300MB zipped and does take some time to download even at a high connection speed. I would definitely go to your dealer. They should be able to rip it to a usb drive for you to take home and unzip!
chad1212 is offline  
post #6 of 182 Old 01-17-2008, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
tlllava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody please tell us how to get the expansion pack.

-----------------------------------------
The Lava Lounge Construction Photos
tlllava is offline  
post #7 of 182 Old 01-17-2008, 04:38 PM
Member
 
buckswope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlllava View Post

Somebody please tell us how to get the expansion pack.

From your dealer.
buckswope is offline  
post #8 of 182 Old 01-21-2008, 09:33 PM
Member
 
dimes007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is so little talk about the 980 here and remote central I'm frankly surprised, and a little nervous. does the lack of buzz indicate it's got some flaw keeping people away? it seems like a great device on paper. i'm waiting for my dealer to get them in stock.

how are you guys enjoying yours?

i know i can do toggle codes (bit variables) and branching logic. can you create macro functions such as the one below which would turn off all source components if no zones are powered on? (pardon the pseudocode)

zone2off() {
zone2status = 0;

if( zone1status = 0 AND zone3status = 0 AND ... ) {

}

(ed. i think i can as "macro nesting" is allowed)

what other data structures are available? what other variables types are available?
can I do something like "cableBoxStatus = cableBoxStatus + 1"? (ed. i think no)
dimes007 is offline  
post #9 of 182 Old 03-07-2008, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
tiger_qc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are the blu-ray & hd-dvd logos available?
tiger_qc is offline  
post #10 of 182 Old 03-08-2008, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
eddielives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Clinton Ma
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger_qc View Post

are the blu-ray & hd-dvd logos available?

The HD-DVD logos are discontinued.

"People are very open-minded about new things -- as long as they're exactly like the old ones"
Kettering
eddielives is offline  
post #11 of 182 Old 03-08-2008, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
tiger_qc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddielives View Post

The HD-DVD logos are discontinued.

people still own hd-dvd players even if toshiba stop the production of them. anyways there's no big deal.
I just bought a logitech harmony 890 and I hate it (shape, keys location and limitations) I still can return it.
I'm am now looking toward the MX-980 and the MRF-260. I'm just not sure if is a good choice.
I would have some macros involving X-10 lighting and appliance eg: watch a hd-dvd > turn the tv on switch imputs > turn the receiver on switch imputs > turn the hd-dvd on open the drawer > turns all lights off.
is the 980 a good pick for me?

thanks
Gui.
tiger_qc is offline  
post #12 of 182 Old 03-09-2008, 09:05 AM
Member
 
McRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimes007 View Post

There is so little talk about the 980 here and remote central I'm frankly surprised, and a little nervous. does the lack of buzz indicate it's got some flaw keeping people away? it seems like a great device on paper. i'm waiting for my dealer to get them in stock.

how are you guys enjoying yours?

i know i can do toggle codes (bit variables) and branching logic. can you create macro functions such as the one below which would turn off all source components if no zones are powered on? (pardon the pseudocode)

zone2off() {
zone2status = 0;

if( zone1status = 0 AND zone3status = 0 AND ... ) {

}

(ed. i think i can as "macro nesting" is allowed)

what other data structures are available? what other variables types are available?
can I do something like "cableBoxStatus = cableBoxStatus + 1"? (ed. i think no)

One reason you may not be seeing a lot of information in this forum is that URC has decided that the MX980 cannot be sold thru their Authorized Online Dealers, and that they are not providing software to the general public via their website. Another reason may be that dealers still have availability to the MX950 for a few more months, and many dealers haven't switched over as they have MX950 programs in place and haven't begun building new MX980 programs. What you'll hear about the MX980 is, other than the $100 MSRP decrease, the graphics are awesome, the programming is similar to the MX950, and the variable programming is more intuitive.
McRed is offline  
post #13 of 182 Old 03-10-2008, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aham23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this sub forum in general is dominated by Harmony users. us URC fans get no love around here .

later.
aham23 is offline  
post #14 of 182 Old 03-10-2008, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ThomasV555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a Harmony forum unofficially. People here hate dealers.

The MX980 is a nice remote.

This bloody Redcoat said I was a terrorist.

Somewhere along the way I become an Elitist who looks down on the
cheap bastards who call themselves my AV Hobbyist peers.
I am not prepared.
ThomasV555 is offline  
post #15 of 182 Old 03-13-2008, 09:02 AM
Member
 
clear33765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasV555 View Post

This is a Harmony forum unofficially. People here hate dealers.

The MX980 is a nice remote.

Does the MX-980 come with a cradle or does it just plug in like the MX-810?
clear33765 is offline  
post #16 of 182 Old 03-13-2008, 09:56 AM
Member
 
UltraDagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has a pretty nice cradle.

I do have to charge mine every two or three days though.

Is that the norm?
UltraDagger is offline  
post #17 of 182 Old 03-13-2008, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Three days off the cradle with normal use is probably about right. Mine goes back in the cradle every night, so it's not an issue, even if I forget one night.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #18 of 182 Old 03-13-2008, 12:44 PM
Member
 
UltraDagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSRC View Post

Three days off the cradle with normal use is probably about right. Mine goes back in the cradle every night, so it's not an issue, even if I forget one night.

Yeah, I've come to accept it.

I'm just used to my MX-800 who's battery could last a month. Plus I'd always have freshly recharged spares, so downtime was about a minute.

Does the Screen eat up that much juice or is the battery underpowered.
UltraDagger is offline  
post #19 of 182 Old 03-15-2008, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
So does anyone know how to import codes (not learn them) into the 980? I've just added a C-1024 to an old LS 25 and the C-1024 instructions say download the Pronto codes, which I have. I'm not sure how to get them in the 980 though!

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #20 of 182 Old 03-17-2008, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
Greenlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A word of warning if you are planning to use the mx980 with AT&T Uverse. After many wasted hours of programming it would not work properly with my AT&T Uverse box (Motorola 1216 I believe). It wasn't reliable in that you would have to push the buttons on the remote repeatedly to get a response. I am now using a mx950 and it controls the Uverse box with no problems whatsoever.
Greenlee is offline  
post #21 of 182 Old 03-17-2008, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinadog View Post

So does anyone know how to import codes (not learn them) into the 980? I've just added a C-1024 to an old LS 25 and the C-1024 instructions say download the Pronto codes, which I have. I'm not sure how to get them in the 980 though!

Bud

If you have the commands in a Pronto CCF file or in Pronto hex (begins with 0000), you can use the Universal Browser to get the commands into the MX-980, by dragging them in individually.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #22 of 182 Old 03-17-2008, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Mike, great. I do have them, I'll give it a try. Thanks.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #23 of 182 Old 04-28-2008, 04:59 PM
Member
 
TheRealSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the MX-980 Favorite Channel download from the URC Control Room? I have been impatiently waiting for my Authorized Dealer to send me this download on a CD from PA. They tell me that the file is too large to send via e-mail. I can understand the expansion pack but, not the favorite channel download.

Thanks for the help.
TheRealSpinner is offline  
post #24 of 182 Old 04-29-2008, 04:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
sshearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealSpinner View Post

Does anyone have the MX-980 Favorite Channel download from the URC Control Room? I have been impatiently waiting for my Authorized Dealer to send me this download on a CD from PA. They tell me that the file is too large to send via e-mail. I can understand the expansion pack but, not the favorite channel download.

Thanks for the help.

The size of that file is 25.77MB which would be too large to send via e-mail. FYI, the expansion pack is 297.15MB.

Scott

Scott Shearer
sshearer is offline  
post #25 of 182 Old 05-01-2008, 10:25 AM
Member
 
TheRealSpinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info Scott.

I was not aware the Favorite Channel file was that large.

I apologize for my bad assumptions.

Chris
TheRealSpinner is offline  
post #26 of 182 Old 05-01-2008, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sshearer View Post

The size of that file is 25.77MB which would be too large to send via e-mail. FYI, the expansion pack is 297.15MB.

Scott

Anyone know where to download them? Only from URC, I guess?

I want Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!
redsandvb is offline  
post #27 of 182 Old 05-02-2008, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
captaincondor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just sold my first mx980 and did all the programming. Great product and i am excited to continue working with them. I use to sell mx900's but these are significantly nicer in my opinion simply based on the GUI. I am anxious to connect one up with an msc400 and see how powerful of a tool it can be.
captaincondor is offline  
post #28 of 182 Old 05-02-2008, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasV555 View Post

This is a Harmony forum unofficially.

Yep. And I wish someone could tell me why. Given the enthusiasm for the harmony, I tried an 880. Man are these thing cheaply made and crap! Makes me think that Harmony users only control very simple "family room" systems, and don't even understand the things that can be done with a good remote.
Person99 is offline  
post #29 of 182 Old 05-05-2008, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sailn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East Coast US
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincondor View Post

Just sold my first mx980 and did all the programming. Great product and i am excited to continue working with them. I use to sell mx900's but these are significantly nicer in my opinion simply based on the GUI. I am anxious to connect one up with an msc400 and see how powerful of a tool it can be.

What do you really expect to get out of it? I love the msc-400 and use them with mx-900 and tx-1000 remotes. I think the bang for the buck far outways having a remote with viables in it. The only thing that I miss is changing lables on button from with-in the remote's program. Of course there are inellegant work arounds to this. My view all started becuase the cost of a tx-1000 and a msc-400 is so close to that of a mx-3000 and it is so much more usable. Also the logic programing on the msc-400 is MUCH better than that in the remote. Infact I would say in the last 1.5 years, every job I have done has had an msc-400, and only one had a remote with variables (mx-950 and mx-3000)

Sailn...
Sailn is offline  
post #30 of 182 Old 05-29-2008, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
AudioSysTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have probed through about every MX-980 Post and could not find an answer for my questions.

Starting with the basics....I was a long time Harmony 880 user and just got fed up with it after having constant problems with them (On 7th one and its dieing), So I did some research and bought myself a MX-980. I have the updateable software, the expansion pack and the favorites add-on pack.

Here are my two questions:

1 - I programmed a macro to turn on my TV, Receiver and FiOs Cable box...I press the test button and all goes well! I then download it to the remote, hit the button and only the tv turns on. I see the IR activity light flash but only the tv comes on, so I rearrange the turn on sequence add some delay between on cues and still only the tv comes on! Keep in mind that no matter what it always works from the test button on the software.

2 - So lets say that I have pressed Watch, then FiOs Cable, the macros fire and I watch FiOs Cable for awhile, the wife then asks to Watch a DVD. Can or How do I program in the macro to turn off the cable box but keep the TV and Receiver on and switch inputs on the receiver. But lets say I now want to go back to FiOs Cable, so it fires DVD off, FiOs Cable box on, leaves the TV and Receiver on, and switchs receiver inputs. So on and So on....I'm looking for something similar to the way the activities work on the 880.

Do I need a MSC-400?

3 - How do I extend the amount of time a code is fired? (Simulate a press instead of a tap) I have increased the amount of repeats but still no luck

Please remember I am a nube to the URC stuff so take it easy on me! :-)
AudioSysTech is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

Tags
Mx 890

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off