Harmony One RF rumors? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 119 Old 04-10-2009, 10:47 AM
Member
 
nysteelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess there is still no word on a possible Harmony One/Two with RF support.

Hey Logitech.......you really dropped the ball on this one/two.
nysteelo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 119 Old 06-27-2009, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aw ****,

i thought that the "harmony one advanced" here in oz was RF capable but i think it's just a stoopid 're-branding' name...
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/re...=4708,3898,370

I can't believe they don't have RF as well as IR on one of their top-notch remotes... Heck even the older 890 did....
Unbelievable....
jalyst is offline  
post #93 of 119 Old 07-03-2009, 07:41 PM
Member
 
ChrisMilne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah! Are they on the verge of anything new? I'm in the market but i don't really like their current offerings.
ChrisMilne is offline  
post #94 of 119 Old 07-26-2009, 11:37 PM
Member
 
irmoballen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's coming....September 6 is the tentative launch date.
irmoballen is offline  
post #95 of 119 Old 07-26-2009, 11:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by irmoballen View Post

It's coming....September 6 is the tentative launch date.

Any more detail? Model no. etc?
Is that date for North America only or Worldwide?

Cheers,
J
jalyst is offline  
post #96 of 119 Old 07-27-2009, 08:53 AM
Member
 
irmoballen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have any more details other than the date, and that the Harmony 670 is also receiving a makeover (body shape like the One, but no touchscreen). And the date is at least for the US, no mention of worldwide.
irmoballen is offline  
post #97 of 119 Old 07-27-2009, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fair enough, thanks.
jalyst is offline  
post #98 of 119 Old 07-27-2009, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SaltiDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post

fair enough, thanks.

I'd be suspicious of anyone that spells the state capital of CA with more than one 'e'.
SaltiDawg is offline  
post #99 of 119 Old 07-28-2009, 08:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
remoteshoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Perhaps it's the Harmony H900 which was recently granted FCC approval along with it's base station
remoteshoppe is offline  
post #100 of 119 Old 07-28-2009, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
that would look about right, wouldn't it?

how much do you think those are going to go for jim?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #101 of 119 Old 07-28-2009, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm still quite some time before it's actually in Aussie stores I reckon.
Think I'll just proceed with the current king in approx. 1-mth....
But thanks for the "tid-bit", always nice to know!
jalyst is offline  
post #102 of 119 Old 07-28-2009, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Indian River, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What's interesting is the test report seems to indicate that it's ZigBee, not ZWave.

It looks like Logitech might have switched camps.

Since the RF4CE consortium merged with the ZigBee alliance a few months ago, this might be a very interesting remote.

Jonathan
jrwhite is offline  
post #103 of 119 Old 07-28-2009, 10:34 PM
Member
 
irmoballen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaltiDawg View Post

I'd be suspicious of anyone that spells the state capital of CA with more than one 'e'.

That's funny, I never noticed that before. More details: the remote is the Harmony 900, is coming for between 349-399, and will have dedicated colored buttons for blu-ray players.
irmoballen is offline  
post #104 of 119 Old 07-30-2009, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edpowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by irmoballen View Post

... and will have dedicated colored buttons for blu-ray players.

And Directv DVRs!
edpowers is offline  
post #105 of 119 Old 07-30-2009, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by irmoballen View Post

That's funny, I never noticed that before. More details: the remote is the Harmony 900, is coming for between 349-399, and will have dedicated colored buttons for blu-ray players.

where'd you source this info? "remoteshoppe.com?"

cheers
jalyst is offline  
post #106 of 119 Old 08-01-2009, 10:24 PM
Member
 
irmoballen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nope, a few close friends saw it behind closed doors in the last few weeks
irmoballen is offline  
post #107 of 119 Old 08-02-2009, 01:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fair enough, keep the snippets flowing if you can!
jalyst is offline  
post #108 of 119 Old 08-11-2009, 07:41 AM
Member
 
dstewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CNET has a review up for the Harmony 900. Looks like what I have been waiting for.

http://reviews.cnet.com/remote-contr...CarouselArea.0
dstewart is offline  
post #109 of 119 Old 08-11-2009, 07:43 AM
Member
 
dstewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dstewart is offline  
post #110 of 119 Old 08-11-2009, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Faaark, as I freakin expected, not available to the technological back-water that is Australia... Home sweet home...
jalyst is offline  
post #111 of 119 Old 08-11-2009, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the discussion thread on the new Harmony 900: Official Logitech Harmony 900 thread

Long time member of sister site DBSTalk
Drew2k is offline  
post #112 of 119 Old 08-13-2009, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
crabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hindmarsh Is, South Australia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post

Faaark, as I freakin expected, not available to the technological back-water that is Australia... Home sweet home...

Just get one sent over from the US as I did with the 1100 and RF receiver.
crabra is offline  
post #113 of 119 Old 08-13-2009, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't want one that badly, one's got to be a logistics engineer and prepared to put up with the risk involved to take that route
jalyst is offline  
post #114 of 119 Old 08-14-2009, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
crabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hindmarsh Is, South Australia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Never had a problem.
I've even had full speaker systems come over with out a problem.
Look HERE they will do it for you.
crabra is offline  
post #115 of 119 Old 08-14-2009, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ha interesting,

I've never come across a US-based retailer that would ship to Australia! (Except for Mac retailer OWC)
Then again there's always the issues of; returning if faulty, & costing slightly more than a local purchase.*
Apparently it 'will' be available to Australia, when? God only knows!

*tis not always the case, often cheaper i imagine, even with postage.
jalyst is offline  
post #116 of 119 Old 08-16-2009, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
smokinghot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmmm... odd.

I know there are 900 beta testers in Ozzyland.

I guess testing and marketing are two different things
smokinghot is offline  
post #117 of 119 Old 08-16-2009, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinghot View Post

I guess testing and marketing are two different things

This is true
jalyst is offline  
post #118 of 119 Old 08-17-2009, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post

Faaark, as I freakin expected, not available to the technological back-water that is Australia... Home sweet home...

just an FYI, the reason the 890, 1000 and 1100 were not available in australia was rf frequency/licensing issue. they created the 1000i and 1100i that were IR only for australia.

the 900 uses the ECNet RF protocol and is NOT subject to the same restrictions as far as I know. Given that there were beta testers in Australia, I expect it to be on sale there as well. probably just has a later launch date...
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #119 of 119 Old 08-17-2009, 05:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
jalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah so i read, thanks for pointing it out though.

Oh it will be later, have not doubts about that, we
re always much later....
jalyst is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off