Harmony One RF rumors? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 119 Old 02-15-2008, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RichNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the Harmony One looks like a big improvement on the 880/90 other than the fact that there is no RF.
For me, since I have equipment in a cabinet I want to close, I want RF.
Any rumors on a Harmony One (or whatever the number) with RF?

Knowledge+Truth=Consumer Power
RichNY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 119 Old 02-15-2008, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
ShagnWagn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or possibly an RF add-on for "One" early adopters?
ShagnWagn is offline  
post #3 of 119 Old 02-16-2008, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
An RF add-on is not really possible. The RF transmitter must be built into the remote.

I asked Logitech about an RF model at CES and they said there was nothing in the works at this time. However, it's likely that they will add an RF model if the One proves successful, just like they did with the 880.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #4 of 119 Old 02-23-2008, 11:38 PM
Member
 
tvmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The one looks like the best remote out there currently. When they go RF im in.
tvmack is offline  
post #5 of 119 Old 02-24-2008, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Kevin T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The circuit board in the Harmony One is ready for the Z-Wave components...

Kevin T is offline  
post #6 of 119 Old 02-24-2008, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
ovrrdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSRC View Post

An RF add-on is not really possible. The RF transmitter must be built into the remote.

I asked Logitech about an RF model at CES and they said there was nothing in the works at this time. However, it's likely that they will add an RF model if the One proves successful, just like they did with the 880.

It actually seems to me that an RF addon would be completely possible, just not in the remote. How hard would it really be to have a seperate IR controlled RF transmitter module?

You could set it in the entertainment center and it could retransmit IR commands pretty easily.
ovrrdrive is offline  
post #7 of 119 Old 02-24-2008, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RichNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovrrdrive View Post

It actually seems to me that an RF addon would be completely possible, just not in the remote. How hard would it really be to have a seperate IR controlled RF transmitter module?

You could set it in the entertainment center and it could retransmit IR commands pretty easily.

Not quite sure what you mean here.
I think the whole idea is to have the non-line of sight/sees through walls RF remote and then have an rf to ir transceiver inside an entertainment cabinet to use blasters to the ir components.

Knowledge+Truth=Consumer Power
RichNY is offline  
post #8 of 119 Old 02-24-2008, 08:36 AM
Member
 
tvmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmack View Post

The one looks like the best remote out there currently. When they go RF im in.

Chime in for me gang. The reason why I want to wait for this to be RF is b/c through the years with my remotes I always have had problems with the single touch function; say if you want to watch a dvd three components turn on. (something never seems to turn on/off because IR is limited).

With RF this problem in my mind would be corrected since it would be transmitted through radio frequency. This is even though most if not all use of the remote would be in the same room.

What do you think of this?
tvmack is offline  
post #9 of 119 Old 02-24-2008, 09:21 AM
Member
 
msarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hands down, the best Remote I have ever had.

DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY
DENON
PANASONIC
msarp is offline  
post #10 of 119 Old 03-28-2008, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump... for any updates
Truckondo is offline  
post #11 of 119 Old 03-31-2008, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
DazJWood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to change from my trusty Phillips Pronto and the Harmony remotes seem a good option, although I am tempted to go for another Philips as it's been a great remote.
DazJWood is offline  
post #12 of 119 Old 03-31-2008, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
RadYOacTve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been on the phone with customer support 4 times over the past weekend getting some light commands on my accounts and every time there is a break in the conversation I asked the tech about an RF version and their reply has been "I do not have any info on that at this time" I didn't want to call them out but they didn't say no and their responses were exactly the same as if they were prepped to say that. Take that for what it's worth but give it a try!

Two of the times were with level 2 support which i would assume would have more info than level 1.
RadYOacTve is online now  
post #13 of 119 Old 03-31-2008, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I heard that the Harmony One RF will be announced tomorrow.

bryansj is offline  
post #14 of 119 Old 03-31-2008, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

I heard that the Harmony One RF will be announced tomorrow.

LOL. It's not April 1st yet!
Truckondo is offline  
post #15 of 119 Old 04-01-2008, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Hutchinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Beaverton,OR
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckondo View Post

LOL. It's not April 1st yet!

Yes it is (now.)

Wake me when this thing is RF. I have the 890 and am never going back to pure IR but I do dislike the flat buttons on the 890.
Larry Hutchinson is offline  
post #16 of 119 Old 05-17-2008, 08:30 AM
Newbie
 
Tom Mariner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Put me down for a Harmony One RF. Also have an 890 and the operation is great. The paint has scraped off the much used rocker switches and it looks grotty, but it does work. Having the gear behind closed doors is essential.

So, like others in the forum, zero chance I will buy the current Harmony One or recommend it or the current 890. But once a ZWave or Bluetooth or something comes out, I'll be back for me and all of those who depend upon me for advice.
Tom Mariner is offline  
post #17 of 119 Old 06-26-2008, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edpowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Any news on Harmony One RF? Yes, I know, just wishful thinking.
edpowers is offline  
post #18 of 119 Old 07-01-2008, 08:34 AM
Member
 
EHUPP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still waiting for it. When it comes I will buy it.
EHUPP01 is offline  
post #19 of 119 Old 07-01-2008, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
RadYOacTve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm waiting too!
RadYOacTve is online now  
post #20 of 119 Old 07-02-2008, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
post #21 of 119 Old 08-29-2008, 07:55 AM
Member
 
EHUPP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cedia
EHUPP01 is offline  
post #22 of 119 Old 09-05-2008, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
flatpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cedia, but which year?
flatpanel is offline  
post #23 of 119 Old 09-06-2008, 01:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
ThomasV555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cedia is for installers.
Harmony is a CES/ consumer direct company. I have not heard anything about an RF Harmony One or Harmony Two.

This bloody Redcoat said I was a terrorist.

Somewhere along the way I become an Elitist who looks down on the
cheap bastards who call themselves my AV Hobbyist peers.
I am not prepared.
ThomasV555 is offline  
post #24 of 119 Old 09-06-2008, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Locnard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was using the OEM Remote that came with my Denon receiver. I had touch screen and learning capability but the One is superior in all respects. I would be nice to have RF built in. Even without RF this is an awesome remote. I am sure at some point they we have to produce sister unit with RF.
Locnard is offline  
post #25 of 119 Old 09-06-2008, 03:14 PM
Member
 
Ontario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that both the Harmony 890, and the Harmony 1000 were originally launched at Cedia.

As the Harmony One seems to have replaced the 880, I think that many people (myself included) had been hoping for an announcement at CEDIA 2008 for a new rf remote to replace the 890.

I guess we'll just have to wait.
Ontario is offline  
post #26 of 119 Old 09-07-2008, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Now that I've got five Z-wave switches I'll need a Harmony One RF w/ Z-wave support to replace my 890.

bryansj is offline  
post #27 of 119 Old 09-08-2008, 07:58 AM
Member
 
EHUPP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zip zero nada at cedia Come on!
EHUPP01 is offline  
post #28 of 119 Old 09-09-2008, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Asked them about an RF version of the One at CEDIA. Nothing new to report. All the focus was on the Squeezebox.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #29 of 119 Old 09-09-2008, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
That's not good news. I really would have thought they would have something out by this Christmas. I can't believe they wouldn't say anything about it at Cedia if it is coming out by then.

Thanks for reporting back to us though Mike.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #30 of 119 Old 09-09-2008, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Ontario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mike.

I saw a "Pre Show Product Showcase" at the following address, (sorry, to new to post a link) that lists a "Mystery Product" at the Logitech CEDIA booth. I thought that it might be a new remote.

cedia.customretailer.net/company/Logitech/44/

I know that there was a major problem with a firmware update that Harmony released around mid-August. I suppose if they had planned on releasing a new model, this might have caused them to hold off.

Does anyone know if Harmony has ever released a product outside of CES or CEDIA? Anything launched at CES probably wouldn't be available until at least Feb. 2009, which seems like a long time to wait for something that might not happen.
Ontario is offline  
Reply Remote Control Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off