Motionblur when moving the camera just a little - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-08-2014, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Motionblur when moving the camera just a little

I noticed that while gaming:
When i move the camera continuously i notice no blur.
However when moving the camera and concentrating on an object it blurs for a sec. (maybe even less).
After this initial "sec" the blur disappears while continuing panning the camera.

I dont know how to describe it else but can someone explain it to me?
Is that normal?
tempa5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-08-2014, 09:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:

So here is a video of what i am talking about. Concenetrate on the round thing infront of me.

----> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_ZU...ature=youtu.be

I know it is 30fps but it should give you the idea of what i mean.
tempa5 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
64 views, 0 replys.

Must....endure!
tempa5 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by tempa5 View Post
64 views, 0 replys.

Must....endure!
I think this is more a gaming question. How the game/game engine/graphics card is rendering it - maybe because of some option - also the more still, the more time it has to use the more detailed textures? I think this might be better answered in a forum/forum section more dedicated to gaming rather than HDTV Tech - since it's about how the game is being rendered, not how a TV/monitor is showing it.
Joe Bloggs is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bloggs View Post
I think this is more a gaming question. How the game/game engine/graphics card is rendering it - maybe because of some option - also the more still, the more time it has to use the more detailed textures? I think this might be better answered in a forum/forum section more dedicated to gaming rather than HDTV Tech - since it's about how the game is being rendered, not how a TV/monitor is showing it.
Really?
So you understood my question? Cool

So should i just post the same in the gaming forum or can a moderator replace it there?
tempa5 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I'd PM a moderator and ask if it can be moved to this section or one of it's subforums:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/94-home-theater-gaming/
Joe Bloggs is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Well...if you're referring to an actual camera, my guess would be autofocus.
bac522 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
Well...if you're referring to an actual camera, my guess would be autofocus.
What do you mean with autofocus?
tempa5 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
Well...if you're referring to an actual camera, my guess would be autofocus.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tempa5 View Post
What do you mean with autofocus?
I think he means, if it had been a real video camera, and auto focus was on, moving the camera around could make it try to re-focus, so different things would go in/out of focus (so things would look blurry if the autofocus wasn't focussing on them, like an out-of-focus shot can look blurry).

But since it's not a real camera, it's not that.

Also, I just tried doing the same thing on Call of Duty MW3 and I couldn't get it to happen. Though it's a totally different game . But maybe it's something to do with the video settings (try checking the video settings and seeing what they are set to), or the graphics card you have. Try other games if possible and to see if it does it on others. If so, maybe it's the video card/video settings?
Joe Bloggs is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bloggs View Post
I think he means, if it had been a real video camera, and auto focus was on, moving the camera around could make it try to re-focus, so different things would go in/out of focus (so things would look blurry if the autofocus wasn't focussing on them, like an out-of-focus shot can look blurry).
Exactly, wasn't quite sure what the OP meant and I was thinking maybe something like Microsoft's Kinect system. In any case probably better off posting this question in the Home Theater Gaming forum.
bac522 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 02:57 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Moved to see if we can get more of a response.

PM again if there's a better forum for this.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bloggs View Post

Also, I just tried doing the same thing on Call of Duty MW3 and I couldn't get it to happen. Though it's a totally different game . But maybe it's something to do with the video settings (try checking the video settings and seeing what they are set to), or the graphics card you have. Try other games if possible and to see if it does it on others. If so, maybe it's the video card/video settings?
The game was played on a PS3. It runs at 60 fps per second.
However this happens with each and every game that is 60fps.

Let me try to explain it again.

If i move the camera continuously there is next to no blur.
For example this test pattern here:
------>http://www.testufo.com/#test=photo&p...uit=0&height=0
I see no blur there.

However, if i do this quick camera swings (left and right ) like in the video, objects get blurred/move allover the place. It does not stay in place until i continiue moving the camera.

I hope now you understand what i mean
tempa5 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-09-2014, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i uploaded a Test video on Mega to show better what i mean.

It is 85mb big and 15 sec. long.
https://mega.co.nz/#!Bw91BLTL!6axyld...GI4dJEgh8KlSQY
It was recorded in 720p60 with a bitrate of 60.
The Game is Castlevania Harmony of despair. Runs at 60.

First i will scrool the screen judder like. 0:00--->0:06
Then do 3times smooth screen scrolling. 0:07--->0:15

Please concentrate on the Red/green wall with its symboles on.
While doing the juddery movement the symbols should blur/move allover the place.
When i Scrool the screen smoothly, it should be blur free.

Though even when i attempt to start the screen scroll smoothly, you should notice right at the start of the scrolling, the symbole should get blured/move allover the place.Then it should stabilize and get normal again.
tempa5 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-12-2014, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by tempa5 View Post
So i uploaded a Test video on Mega to show better what i mean.

It is 85mb big and 15 sec. long.
https://mega.co.nz/#!Bw91BLTL!6axyld...GI4dJEgh8KlSQY
It was recorded in 720p60 with a bitrate of 60.
The Game is Castlevania Harmony of despair. Runs at 60.

First i will scrool the screen judder like. 0:00--->0:06
Then do 3times smooth screen scrolling. 0:07--->0:15

Please concentrate on the Red/green wall with its symboles on.
While doing the juddery movement the symbols should blur/move allover the place.
When i Scrool the screen smoothly, it should be blur free.

Though even when i attempt to start the screen scroll smoothly, you should notice right at the start of the scrolling, the symbole should get blured/move allover the place.Then it should stabilize and get normal again.
I had a look at the video of the 2D scrolling game, and I looked at the "red/green wall with symbols on", but while you are doing the juddery movement, (0 to 6 seconds), I don't see the symbols "move allover the place". To me it looks as though they stay in about the right place (moving in step with the rest of the scrolling wall thing.

Are you only viewing this video on a PS3 attached to a HDTV or have you viewed it on a PC with a PC monitor too? Have you viewed the video frame by frame and if so, do you still see the symbols move all over the place? Is your HDTV set to "game mode" or is it set to some other mode? Is it using some sort of frame/motion interpolation (eg. Motion Plus) and if so, have you tried turning that off and viewing it?

The link below is from the 2d scrolling game video section, but changed so that the frames are offset so that the square block thing of the brick wall (to the left of the red/green one) always stays in the same place (so it's cancelling out the camera movement), this should let you see more easily whatever happens to the "red/green wall with symbols on" bit (since the camera move is cancelled out).
http://www.filedropper.com/game-foot...a-move-removed

Last edited by Joe Bloggs; 07-12-2014 at 05:35 AM. Reason: typo
Joe Bloggs is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-12-2014, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tempa5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bloggs View Post
I had a look at the video of the 2D scrolling game, and I looked at the "red/green wall with symbols on", but while you are doing the juddery movement, (0 to 6 seconds), I don't see the symbols "move allover the place". To me it looks as though they stay in about the right place (moving in step with the rest of the scrolling wall thing.

Are you only viewing this video on a PS3 attached to a HDTV or have you viewed it on a PC with a PC monitor too? Have you viewed the video frame by frame and if so, do you still see the symbols move all over the place? Is your HDTV set to "game mode" or is it set to some other mode? Is it using some sort of frame/motion interpolation (eg. Motion Plus) and if so, have you tried turning that off and viewing it?

The link below is from the 2d scrolling game video section, but changed so that the frames are offset so that the square block thing of the brick wall (to the left of the red/green one) always stays in the same place (so it's cancelling out the camera movement), this should let you see more easily whatever happens to the "red/green wall with symbols on" bit (since the camera move is cancelled out).
http://www.filedropper.com/game-foot...a-move-removed
Maybe allover the place was kinda exaggerating. But yes it moves with the the scrolling.

I am viewing it on Tv ( Hx755). It has an Impulse mode (BFI) so it is almost like a plasma in terms of motion resolution. There is no interpolation going on. If i move it frame by frame it looks ok.

With your video nothing blurs or moves.

I wrote in another forum aswell and i think that my eyes are just slow or there is nothing at all ( it is normal ).

http://forums.hdtvtest.co.uk/index.php?topic=9216.0
tempa5 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off