Soul Calibur II (X-Box) will support 720p!! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 74 Old 03-30-2003, 06:59 AM
 
dschroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't played the console versions yet, but from what I read on gaming sites that have played it, they all said the GC controller worked quite well.
dschroll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 74 Old 03-30-2003, 07:13 AM
 
WanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lat: 34.0725288 Lon: -83.9337082
Posts: 9,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, what is it with the nipply trend in fighting games these days?
WanMan is offline  
post #63 of 74 Old 03-30-2003, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Dark-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can play in 16:9 in 480p, but mats are placed on the screen for 720p.

Obviously the resolution is too high for the Xbox's frame buffer and processor to handle.

Glad I imported the Cube version. 16:9 and 480p is great on my TV.

720p without widescreen is likeing Mono Dolby Digital. Bleh.

Emotiva + Energy = Love
Dark-007 is offline  
post #64 of 74 Old 03-30-2003, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBlacklow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A state of uncertainty
Posts: 4,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I'd rather have 720p and Dolby Digital than 480p and DPLII, but that's just a personal preference.

"When I get sad I just stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story."
--Barney Stinson, How I Met Your Mother

Best. Surge Protector. Ever.
JBlacklow is online now  
post #65 of 74 Old 03-30-2003, 08:22 PM
ECM
Senior Member
 
ECM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Dark-007


720p without widescreen is likeing Mono Dolby Digital. Bleh.
My sentiments exactly, which is why I won't bother picking up Xbox SC2 now.
ECM is offline  
post #66 of 74 Old 03-31-2003, 05:40 AM
 
WanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lat: 34.0725288 Lon: -83.9337082
Posts: 9,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stop the speculation madness! Why not just wait for the USA release and someone to report on it, vs. reporting on a non-USA version?
WanMan is offline  
post #67 of 74 Old 03-31-2003, 09:26 AM
Member
 
tango03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by WanMan
Well, then it certainly cannot be advertised in the USA marketplace as being 720P HDTV as it would be a lie, and subject to a misleading business practice (i.e. false advertisement).
Yes, they can. :rolleyes: It's called marketing.
Well..true/native 720p, and 1080i HD are not even possible on XBOX anyway. But XBOX is often advertized as HDTV video game console capable of 720p, and 1080i High Definitions.
Brief explaination here about the XBOX limitation.
tango03 is offline  
post #68 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
b3b0p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is kinda long and confusing with all the different versions. I just have one simple quick question:

Does the gamecube version do widescreen during gameplay? From my understanding (from reading this thread), the XBox version does not, but I did not see any one say the Gamecube was or was not.

Thanks,
Chris
b3b0p is offline  
post #69 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JBlacklow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A state of uncertainty
Posts: 4,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
b3b0p: Yes it does. Go to http://www.felixmcli.org/sc2-main.html and check out his screenshots.

"When I get sad I just stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story."
--Barney Stinson, How I Met Your Mother

Best. Surge Protector. Ever.
JBlacklow is online now  
post #70 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 09:23 AM
 
dschroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To my understanding, the GC version is widescreen during Gameplay. I believe all the versions(PS2, XBOX, GC) play in widescreen. However, the previous argument was that if the XBOX is displaying the image in 720p then it's not in widescreen. But, the game can be played in widescreen in 480p on all versions.
dschroll is offline  
post #71 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
maskrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have to register again as AVS seemed to have removed my A/C after prolonged inactivity (my old ID is Felix M.C. Li).

I am the one who have created the web site at http://www.felixmcli.org

The 720p issue page is at

http://www.felixmcli.org/sc2-xb720p.html

I am not alone with this 720p problem.

For 480p or lower, all consoles have no problem playing in widescreen 16:9 mode.

Only the X-BOX is that weird at 720p.

edit: corrected a typo
maskrider is offline  
post #72 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JBlacklow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A state of uncertainty
Posts: 4,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
maskrider: Your site is a wealth of information! Good work on all of the screen shots, movies, etc. I'm wondering if 720p widescreen would be too much for even the XBox, and so they left it out. Is there anyone from Japan who can tell us if they have HD programs that are 4:3? If that's the case, then that would explain how Namco can call a 4:3 game HD.

"When I get sad I just stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story."
--Barney Stinson, How I Met Your Mother

Best. Surge Protector. Ever.
JBlacklow is online now  
post #73 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
maskrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you.

From what I've heard. HQ Japanese HDTV broadcast is exclusively at 1080i, no 720p. I may be wrong as the info is only second handed.
maskrider is offline  
post #74 of 74 Old 04-15-2003, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
b3b0p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! That clears up the confusion I was having. Now I am off to order this bad boy! Unfortunately I have to wait for my HS10 to back for repairs before I can truly enjoy it.

Thanks
Chris
b3b0p is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off