• 1 Post By UnfoldingSquid
  • 1 Post By Nillaz

post #1 of 25 Old 04-07-2017, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Is 4K ready for gamers yet?

I've been sitting on upgrading my TV for several years now waiting for 4K to finally mature, and I know that alot has changed, but one thing I'm curious about it whether or not 4K is truly ready for gamers. What I'm meaning here, is can HDR 4K gaming be had with an acceptable amount of display lag.

If there are any fighting game players around I'm sure you'll understand, but pretty much anything over 20ms as far as fighting games go makes a TV unusable. So as a fighting gamer, that's personally my cut off.

So that's my question. Are there 65" 4K UHD HDR TVs out there clocking in around 20ms or less for display lag? My current Sharp sits at 16ms, but I'm not expecting HDR sets to be THAT fast at this point (especially not at 65", as my current set is only 46"). But at this point I'm pretty much willing to accept having to put up with another 4 or 5ms of lag to go ahead and upgrade my set. I'm not in dire straights yet, but mathematically speaking my current TV should be on it's last year of life before it's no longer acceptable as my primary set; and frankly I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't make it outside of 2017 without developing backlight issues.

I don't need ultra-specific answers, but a little guidance would be nice. Even just as far as what manufacturers I need to be paying attention to If anyone already has some well-studied info on this, what I'm personally looking for is...

Full Array Local Dimming or OLED
~20ms or less lag w/ HDR Gaming Mode
4K 60hz 4:4:4 CS
HDR10 (be nice if Dolby Vision was also supported but... eh)

Cost is a factor somewhat but, if it's $6,000 or less, I'm interested.

Sharp LC-46E77UN
Xbox One Elite Edition
Denon AVR-X4100W
Rythmik FV15HPse
Harman Infinity Primus P363 FL/FR | Harman Infinity Primus PC351 C