Anybody playing WOW? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 36 Old 12-13-2004, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Komoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both games support widescreen quite well.

I really wanted to like the superior tech of EQ2, but several game mechanics, specifically the locked encounter system, really turned me off. I'm a vet of the genre going back to the Ultima Online beta test, I've played most of them and WoW is one of the best I've ever played. A nice mix of EQ monster bashing and item collection and UO player-vs-player war.

WoW beats EQ2 in style, hands-down.

I'm also using the logitech mx duo (non-BT). I have a pillow+harcover book that supports the mousepad next to me and the keyboard just lies in my lap, works great for me.

There is some overscan issues with the default UI (on my sammy hln617w), but not enough to be a game-breaker at all, and there are user-made UI mods that can remedy the situation by letting you move UI windows. Pet peeve when games push all the UI elements against the screen edge and don't allow you to move them in a millimeter :)
Komoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 36 Old 12-13-2004, 04:41 PM
Member
 
passtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was a Beta tester for about 11 months for WoW. I loved it. It kept my interest the whole time. I played many guys beyond lvl 10 and one to lvl 42. I vowed to myself not to buy it when it went live because I'd invested enough time already. It is a great game though.

Since I bought my 50PHD7UY, I've given PC gaming a rest... I will probably bring the computer downstairs to play a little Doom 3 on it though.

"Smokey, this is not Nam, this is bowling. There are rules."
passtime is offline  
post #33 of 36 Old 12-13-2004, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
fisheggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: indy(guess which one):)
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you run it with dial-up or do you NEED broadband? Also are there any single player scenarios included or is it only online play? Thanks.

As God is my witness, I thought turkeys could fly.

My Momma didn't raise no fools! We raised ourselves!
fisheggs is offline  
post #34 of 36 Old 12-14-2004, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dallas_Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well I'm in perenolde if you guys ever go there. lvl 11 paladin. I can refill life so if you need to complete a quest or something call me up.
Dallas_Jose is offline  
post #35 of 36 Old 12-14-2004, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Komoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fisheggs, WoW is reportedly dial-up friendly (barring patches, a reality of computing these days), and online-only.
Komoto is offline  
post #36 of 36 Old 12-22-2004, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
unpronounceable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, thanks for th input everybody. My girlfriend informs me that Santa has put the issue to rest. I'll be going to Azeroth soon!
unpronounceable is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off