Connecting PC to Home Theatre - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-04-2004, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Honeycomb Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to connect my PC to my HT Amp using a SPDIF coaxial connection.

I have an nforce 2 soundcard with an optional coaxial SPDIF bracket that came with my mobo. I am using 2.1 Creative desktop speakers connected to my amp with a 3.5mm ->RCA adapter.

when I connect my PC to my Amp the dolby digital logo lights up for both ends, left one is for the amp right one is for the PC showing me that there is a proper digital connection.

I have tried using the latest nforce 2 drivers and the ones that came with my mobo as well as Realtek's AC97 3.66 drivers and have enabled digital output in the speaker congiguration with SPDIF output un-muted and set to high volume.

The volume level of my amp is high as with the speakers.

When using the realtek AC97 drivers SPDIF is greyed out in the sound mixer, however when I use the nforce2 drivers the SPDIF is not greyed but still doesnt work just the same.

I spoke with my amp's manufacturer and all they could suggest was that I ensure that the audio is 96Khz sample rate and in PCM mode.

Is there anyway to get 96Khz sample rate out of nforce2 chipset?
Is it likely that my amp can handle lower sample rates and 96Khz is just the maximum in can do?

AMP: Pioneer VSXD814-S
MOBO: K7NCR18D-Pro with optional SPDIF Bracket
Drivers: nforce 2 5.04,4.09,3.13 AC97 3.44,3.66


I'll post more info as they come to mind.

Pioneer VSX D814-S, Yamaha NSP620 5.1 Speaker Package
Honeycomb Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-05-2004, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Statix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this may help you in looking for help:
i think that an amp with any sort of decoding digital or otherwise
would be considered a receiver. Amps are usually dumb, as in, all they
do is - AMPlify the incoming signal from line level to speaker level.

i wish i knew what was wrong in your situation as i'm going to be getting
an nforce board soon
Statix is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-27-2004, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
joewagner501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to setup the nForce board to "encode" dolby digital. Once you have done that it will output a DD signal to your receiver which will then decode it and send it to the speakers. I have the nForce2 and use the DD encoding for everything coming from my PC. Works like a charm.
joewagner501 is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off