Airport Express as wireless game adapter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-06-2004, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
JnC
Senior Member
 
JnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Originally I thought these devices could only use their ethernet port as only a network connection (as a base station) but apparently they can be used with clients too (enabling an Xbox to get on a WiFi network).

The secret is to use the setup wizard or the airport admin utility to enable your base station as a WDS (wireless distribution system) main base station and add the Airport Express to the client list. Then use the admin utility to set up the Airport Express as a WDS client and scan the base station to grab its Airport Mac address.

With this configuration, the Xbox has a wireless internet connection and I can simultaneously stream music to the receiver in the den. All from one device with no perceivable lag in music or gameplay. I'm impressed.

Regards,
JnC
JnC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-07-2004, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Rthomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JnC
Originally I thought these devices could only use their ethernet port as only a network connection (as a base station) but apparently they can be used with clients too (enabling an Xbox to get on a WiFi network).

The secret is to use the setup wizard or the airport admin utility to enable your base station as a WDS (wireless distribution system) main base station and add the Airport Express to the client list. Then use the admin utility to set up the Airport Express as a WDS client and scan the base station to grab its Airport Mac address.

With this configuration, the Xbox has a wireless internet connection and I can simultaneously stream music to the receiver in the den. All from one device with no perceivable lag in music or gameplay. I'm impressed.

Regards,
JnC
JnC,

This is great news! Can you clarify why I need to scan the base station for its Mac address?

Thanks,
-Randy.
Rthomas is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-07-2004, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
JnC
Senior Member
 
JnC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Rthomas
Can you clarify why I need to scan the base station for its Mac address?
The "scanning" is done from within the admin utility. Basically, you're having the Express search for WDS enabled base stations and establishing a link.

Regards,
Jared
JnC is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off