PS2 widescreen mode: doesn't fill HDTV screen completely - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-22-2004, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Metagroboliser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a PS2+component+Mits 52725 HDTV setup with the PS2 set in widscreen mode. For some reason, the image doesn't fill the HDTV screen completely: I am getting narrow vertical space left over on each side. Has anyone seen/fixed this?

cheers.
Metagroboliser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-22-2004, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It's game dependent. The developers tend to make the viewable picture smaller to compensate for most TV's overscan, so the picture doesn't always fill the screen. I wouldn't bother trying to fix your TV as the position and size of the picture changes with every game. The best you can do is go into the Options menu of the game and try to adjust the X or Y position of the screen and center it.
tokerblue is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-22-2004, 08:55 AM
Member
 
hdmonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed that as well, Metagroboliser. I have a PS2+component+Pioneer 4340HD Plasma and I do notice thin vertical bars at both ends of the display. All 20 games I've tried give similar results. I don't notice this on xbox games though. I guess it's the PS2.
hdmonger is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-23-2004, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Metagroboliser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanx for the replies folks. It appears it is the PS2 afterall. Oh well.

cheers.
Metagroboliser is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-23-2004, 04:51 PM
 
Dean Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Video Games University
Posts: 4,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, but for the record I have seen it on some XBox games too.
Dean Martin is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-23-2004, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
moggy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the PS2 output makes allowance for major overscan. 10% in all directions! I only found out when I upgraded my system to one with no overscan. Fortunately, I can zoom the image to fill the screen.
moggy123 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-24-2004, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,881
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I have seen it for Xbox games, the vertical bars are not always even either.....it really does suck.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-28-2004, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
skipfreely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen this on both my PS2 and gamecube.
skipfreely is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-28-2004, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I've seen it on every system that I own, from the NES all the way up to the Xbox.
tokerblue is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off