"D" day thursday - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 12-27-2004, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have finally pulled the trigger and will be getting my samsung hlp-5685 and I would like to hook up my computer through dvi. I am a total noob when it comes to htpc and I wanted to know if I would need any extra software or hardware in order to run my computer through the sammy. I have a p4 2.8 gig with a gig of ram and ati radeon 9800 pro. I will use this computer pretty much to watch dvd's ,high def,and pc gaming as well as xbox. I will be getting another pc with better specs and a better video card in about a month and I am open to any suggestions you guys may have to putting together a htpc.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 12-28-2004, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally posted by dmk1027
I am a total noob when it comes to htpc and I wanted to know if I would need any extra software or hardware in order to run my computer through the sammy.
Adding a PC to your home theater is an amazing and worthwhile endeavor. The games are super-cool, and having the ability to watch movies, listen to your MP3 collection, and browse the Web on the big screen is addictive. I absolutely love it, and I suspect you will, too... though you may experience big headaches getting it all set up.

I don't know about connecting to a Samsung per se, but I suspect it'll handle the Radeon's DVI output just fine. It's mandatory that you make sure you can switch to custom resolutions, and (in my case anyway) it's critical to write a custom monitor driver so your card can deliver the image to your screen. That's where PowerStrip (a FREE utility) comes in.

The nuances of PowerStrip are too many for me to go into detail, but luckily, there are enthusiasts out there who've done all the dirty work for us. I found the following sites invaluable in getting my video working the way I wanted it: