or Connect

Posts by Carl Hyslop

There are plenty of 8-channel sound cards aimed at the pro market, the M-Audio 1010 being just one example. The problem you may have, however, is volume control. The M-Audio 1010, for example, only provides volume control on the first two channels. So volume control on the other 6 would have to be done in software, or outside the PC (eg in your power amp). Maybe there are 8-channel sound cards out there with volume control on every channel. If so and you find one, can...
You're right, and I hope so, too, but actually I think it shows the problem even more clearly, since from what we've heard, they've implemented volume for all 6 channels in hardware on the TheaterMaster. This is a hardware company, and the only solutions they seem to see are to change the hardware. Maybe I'm oversimplifying here, since I am no hardware or sound driver expert. However, I am a Windows programmer, and my experience there, plus common sense, tells me they...
I don't understand this. M-Audio have posted themselves previously (and common sense says it must be) that they CAN control the volume on all 8 channels, simply by scaling the waveform. In other words, by implementing a digital colume control in software. This will add slightly to CPU overhead, and will detriment sound quality ever so slightly (if it's done with 24-bit precision), but it definitely can be done. I think the problem is that M-Audio are looking at the...
>but I wasn't taking into account the effect the electrical interference >from the HTPC was having on the Hi-fi. Hmmm. This is an interesting point. I was using the HTPC as the source in both instances, but it was in a seperate room, and I have voltage regulators on the hi-fi equipment. Still, it would be interesting to hear a "regular" CD player. I will see if I can borrow a Mark Levinson CD transport from my dealer, and do another comparison. The problem is,...
Soren, have you tried the latest WDM drivers? Anything new?