or Connect

Posts by BrianJohns

Here's my review of an experience I had with a ZVOX 580: http://www.avsforum.com/products/zvox-580-low-profile-single-cabinet-surround-sound-system-with-optical-and-coaxial-digital-inputs/reviews/4614
Hmmmm....thanks!
LOL -- thanks for replying. I got the idea from my Hunter-Douglas drapes. Initially we had hand-held RF remotes for both upstairs and downstairs. Then, Hunter-Douglas came up with a box that hooks to the home network, and provided little "RF blasters" that plug into locations both upstairs and downstairs that send the RF signal to the drapes - iPhone > wifi network > "RF blasters" > drapes. The little "RF Blasters" are nifty little USB dongles that plug into what...
I'm brand new to all of this home automation stuff, so bear with me. You know those 3-packs of power outlet switches with RF remotes that you can buy at Lowes or Home Depot at Christmas time to remotely turn on/off Christmas lights, etc? Is there a home network "hub" that I can add to my network can be taught to control these RF outlet switches devices? And an iPhone app to control the individual outlets? Most of the home automation stuff I've been reading about costs...
I'm looking for a sound bar that provides an on-screen display on my TV of the volume level. Seems like such a simple thing -- but I feel like I'm searching for the Holy Grail! I have a Samsung un55b7100 TV and no current audio system at all...just the TV's internal speakers -- which are horrible and one of them buzzes which is hugely annoying. The audio out jack is a fixed volume level not controlled by the TV, so the TV's built-in volume level indicator doesn't appear...