or Connect

Posts by Frank Maiello

I have the XP21, BTW. Yes, as soon as the base of the lamp balloons, the output drops to nothing. I'm no expert in lamp technology, but I've been wondering if the problem can be avoided to some degree. Maybe that's just what happens to the material over time, no matter how cool an environment it operates in. -Frank
Two years ago when I was shopping around, posts of screen shots were helpful... but *ONLY* the side by side comparisons. The photos make the relative differences pretty obvious, "Wow--that one is way brighter... and better contrast... and the COLORS!" I remember somebody running one of an NEC LT155 versus a Sanyo XP21... and it pretty much made up my mind for me. I later got to mess around with both of them, and the pictures did indeed tell the story (except for...
Only two other Sanyo users who've read this have replaced the lamp? While we're at it, if you've replaced the lamp on *any* projector, it would be excellent to hear from you folks as well. Looking at PJ's in general, it appears that maximizing lamp life is not a design priorty. (Suppose they looked into the issue and came up with better lamp cooling solutions--what's in it for them? Nothing.) The AVS forum serves a knowledge base of sorts and I was more than...
Quote: Originally posted by McLardAss I'm curious to see how your DIY cooling box goes. If it works out, I'll build another one out of something a bit more stylish than a cardboard box. If anything it'll be worthwhile just to have a "silent" picture. Hey, imagine that! (I only implied it, but the PJ's fan would be disabled or removed.) -Frank