or Connect

Posts by timevacuum

So not knowing how well my plans would work, I decided to keep the investment costs down and purchased a basic Elite manual screen. I wanted to post this for anyone else who is looking to minimize the case height of their projector screen becasue they are in a similar situation: installing a projection screen into a curtain valence. I ordered an Elite 120" 4:3 M120UWV2 which for me works well as it gives ~96" width, good for my viewing room and it was dirt cheap on...
Well in the spirit of adventure and without dwelling too much on the risk to the new investment, I started playing with the custom resolution settings. I found that changing the "Timing Standard" from "Auto" to "CVT reduced blank" did the trick and the projector is now producing the proper image for 1920 x 1080. No individual parameter changes were required. Hope this might someone else.
The Dell graphics card has the ability to create custom resolutions with the settings in the attached graphic. Would playing with these help? I'm not familiar with adjusting these video settings.
As you suggest, Fn-F8 on my laptop cycles through dual screen modes. I have tried both the "external dispay only" setting and multiple screen mode with cloned screens and with extended desktop settings. Unfortunately these do not solve or have any effect on the problem. One other note is that 1920 x 1080 results in a 16:9 image but it is clear there is some scaling going on and the image is not great.
Help: Wrong aspect ratio when using a 1920x 1080 analogue signal I received my 8000 this weekend and eagerly connected it to my laptop (Dell Precision M90) with an analogue monitor/vga cable. When set to 1920 ×1080 / 60 hz , I get a what seems almost like a 4:3 image on the screen and the image is shifted all the way to the right. All icons, images, etc are squeezed in the horizonal. Anyone know how I can fix or troubleshoot this? I have searched and played with...