or Connect

Posts by Dragon Reborn

Sorry, I meant to say that Redbox is renting out downconverted copies (I realize Lionsgate etc. are the ones who are providing handicapped rentals to Redbox).My Redbox (Canada) rental of Hunger Games 2 had a movie-only size of ~17-20GB if I remember correctly. I am dead-certain it was under 25GB because I remember thinking a BD-25 disc for such a long movie was odd. My retail version has a movie-only size of ~35 GB with DTS-HD MA, and ~30GB with DTS only. That's my...
If Redbox explicitly stated they are downconverting video and removing audio tracks from the blu-ray rental, I'd be ok with that. I think that's the general consensus of this thread in the first place.In my case, as a Redbox newbie, I rented Hunger Games 2 as my first rental, and got Katniss-shafted.
After taking into account the size of the lossless audio track, Hunger Games 2 definitely has downconverted video on the rental version.
I agree.Let's not forget that for The Hunger Games Catching Fire, not only is DTS-HD MA missing, but the video bitrate was also downconverted to fit on a BD-25.
The Redbox version of Gravity has DTS-HDMA but the movie is only ~17GB. This seems smaller than it should be. I had a similar experience with Hunger Games 2 (rental version had a lower bit rate than retail). If anybody here has a retail copy of Gravity, can you comment on the movie size?
Since nobody answered my original question, I took a chance and rented it. Lossless is present, for those interested.
Can anybody comment on Superman Man of Steel and whether it has lossless audio at Redbox?
I just rented my copy of Hunger Games Catching Fire from a Redbox kiosk. DD 5.1 sound @ 640kbps only. Go figure … it's my first Redbox rental ever … not impressed. EDIT: from a Redbox in Canada