or Connect

Posts by mlang46

yes the 1100es unfortunately is a much better projector. As a former lens designer I cannot believe Sony managed to put a lens like that onto a consumer product. it interesting to see the different responses to 4k with some people thinking it is barely better than 1k and others like myself thinking it is a major improvement. One assumption which is wrong is that if you cannot detect the pixels than the resolution is high enough and increasing the number of pixels...
It is a 4k format but the chip size I believe is 1.4 mm so the resolution requirements on the lens are the same. the focal length of the lens is much larger but it should be good enough even using plastic elements to get the resolution at the center of the screen. I think the difference in the price between the 1100es and the 600es is the lens. The 1100es uses an all glass lens and it has a huge exit pupil and is well corrected for image distortion. Sony spared no...
My visceral experience on first viewing the Sony uhd displays was just WOW. It was a quantum leap in image quality from my perspective The reaction of other people in the store was the same. Not scientific but that was the reaction
Going from 480p to 720p was revolutionary because the image was so much crisper and realistic. 720p to 1080p was an improvement but not as much as 480 to 720. Going from 1080p with an 8 bit color depth to 2160p with a 12 bit is a major leap in image quality comparable or even greater than 480 to 720p . I do not know what will happen if you increase it to 8k. but the the images on off the Sony 65 inch and 85 inch and VPL 1100 es are so much better than anything I have...