or Connect

Posts by taskman

I'll do a shotgun reply to the last three posts. 1. I haven't seen or heard of that HDMI issue. While you are out of warranty, you can call Epson and they can let you know if its a known issue. 2. Search AVS for the input lag thread but I have never heard of input lag for the 8500UB. I have tested PC, PS3, Xbox, and PS2, no issue. 3. I sympathize, I really do. I would go 8350 personally, it actually ups the lumens slightly and I don't see the point of investing in a...
I agree with you, the AV contractor talked me out of running HDMI which I partially regret. I had also done plenty of HDMI runs up to 50FT without issue and there are a couple of locations that could have been one offs but will now require the receiver. However if you want to distribute video like you said, I haven't found a better cost effective option. You can go HDMI Matrix switches but those are massive headaches.
Welcome to the world of pro AV distribution. I'm just getting into it myself, I have an identical setup in the new construction house I just moved into. You could go cheap with simple HDMI over Ethernet adapter but management would be a mess. Your AV guy talks like my AV guy. He is suggesting HDBaseT hardware which is great but not exactly cheap. Looking at the Gefen, notice the HDMI outputs which are really redundant if you only want to push video over HDBaseT Ethernet....
I think it will depend on what your output on your HTPC to your HVR is currently. If your doing HDMI pass through, it may sound better letting the Yamaha decode and then output to the headphones. Personally, I would test both just to see what differences you can detect. I plan on looking into this myself in a month or so as my home theater room is moving closer to our bedroom and I need an alternate when my wife is sleeping. So far, Turtle Beach seems to be the gold...