or Connect

Posts by bbq_bob

I suspect that this is only true in the sense that the extender is not aware of where the original signal came from, and that it is just extending the HTPC's operation. I would be surprised if the Echo worked directly with the HD Homerun or HD Homerun Prime to watch live tv with the HTPC off.
I am new to using a HTPC. The reason that I would like to use Windows 8 is mostly around cost. Right now, Windows 8 can be obtained for $40, since I have plenty of XP licenses not in use. Media Center is currently being offered for free. In contrast, Windows 7 is over $100. I also think Windows 8 might be slightly easier to navigate from 10 feet away. I have been using the Preview Edition with an HDHomeRun Prime for about a month. It is not without issues...
Has anyone tried the Echo with Windows 8?
Panasonic charges tax. $1219.99 is likely your price after tax. This will vary depending on where you live.
If you log into Shop Panasonic, the TC-L55ET5 can be had for $1,314.99. Panasonic offers their EPP pricing to many companies, so if you register with your work email, the price drops to $1124.99. This is the best price I've seen on this model. It is a great price for a 55" 3D capable LCD with an IPS Panel.
I won't tell you whether to cancel your order or not. I think there have been some posts here (or maybe another forum) where people have bought this model from Frys as recent as 1.5 weeks ago and ended up with a model built in April with the old firmware. On the flip side, Amazon has a great return policy. I don't like to abuse it though. Personally, I have avoided pulling the trigger on this model partly for this reason.