or Connect

Posts by seekr613

After a decade of solid performance, my Marantz SR5200 seems to have blown its Left channel. I'm not an engineer and I don't know the exact issue - perhaps its a loose connection or dirty potentiometer. But my guess is that it's not worth repairing. So - what to replace it with? I have Energy Connoisseur 7 tower speakers, with matching centre and surrounds. I enjoy music from this setup, though not as loud as I used to now that we have a little one. So, mostly TV and...
Thanks mcnarus, I'm glad you chipped into the discussion. In your 'solid-state amps' comment, are you including pre-amp sections, e.g., an AVR will sound the same as an integrated, and an integrated the same as separates? This is the question that bugs me the most as most commentary seems to focus on power amps only, not the different varietys of receivers, integrateds etc. that many people use to perform, more or less, the same functions in their audio systems.
yup, I would have bought 2-channel if the AVR wasn't already available for free. your comments make it seem as if, in your mind, there ARE discernable differences in amp sound - can you explain a littel bit further? Your last comment is particularly intriguing - what is the threshold these days, and do you have some products you've personally tested that you would put forward as sounding 'better' than other amps? Thanks for the input!
Thanks for all the replies so far... my setups are nowhere near the elite level I'm sure many of the members here have built for themselves, but I'm happy to share nonetheless: Home theatre (70% TV & movies, 30% music...but definitely the 'main' system in the house) - Energy Connoisseur 7 floorstanders, with matching centre channel and dipole surrounds - Marantz SR5200 - Marantz 5-disc carousel (I think CC4300 by memory) - HTPC running windows 7 and xbmc with an LG...