AVS › AVS Forum › Display Devices › Plasma Flat Panel Displays › Anyone Heard of These Guys?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Anyone Heard of These Guys?

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 
My apologies in advance if this goes against the rules. I came across a website through one of the sponsored links on Amazon.com while looking at the tcp42st30. They had some pretty amzing prices on TV's...too good to be true type prices. The site is electrolondon.com.

Thanks
Tom
post #2 of 8
I doubt they're legit.

Many sites exist solely for you to enter credit card information. Why not place an order with a bogus credit card number and see what happens. If it goes through and they never contact you, they're a scam. Otherwise, it's an honest mistake.
post #3 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasingfiction View Post

My apologies in advance if this goes against the rules. I came across a website through one of the sponsored links on Amazon.com while looking at the tcp42st30. They had some pretty amzing prices on TV's...too good to be true type prices. The site is electrolondon.com.

Yeah it's definitely a scam site. There's no way any online seller can sell a 60" GT30 for only $880, with free shipping to boot, and they also (in their Panny ignorance) have older Panasonic model numbers from 2007 and 2006 mixed in with 2010 and 2011 models. And no online seller ships to other countries or sells TVs outside of their own country so that's a big red flag right there.

Sites like this lure victims in with unbelievably low prices, then they require you to create an account before you can place your order, and they now have all your personal information and and your credit card number, and maybe you'll even use the same password that you already use for your online banking or paypal etc too so they can hack into your accounts and clean you out.
post #4 of 8
Not to mention the address listed on the site is a residential building and not a business.
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF767 View Post

Not to mention the address listed on the site is a residential building and not a business.

In Harlem!
post #6 of 8
stay away from places like this. i cant belive nobody has shut them down yet. you should email and say i live an hour away can i come and pick up the tv and see what they say
post #7 of 8
Thread Starter 
This was my thinking as well when I tried to google them and came up with nothing. Too good to be true continues to be...

Thanks Guys
post #8 of 8
Too good to be true always is and will typically fit into one of the following categories: outright scam (most likely), fake products/knockoffs, broken/defective products misadvertised, or stolen products. None of those are something you want to mess with and since TV's can easily be broken if shipped wrong your best bet is to look for a deal from a major retailer so you can easily return if there's anything wrong with it.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Plasma Flat Panel Displays
AVS › AVS Forum › Display Devices › Plasma Flat Panel Displays › Anyone Heard of These Guys?