AVS › AVS Forum › AVS Forum Information › Forum Operations Center › Bogus flash player download offerred?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Bogus flash player download offerred?

post #1 of 4
Thread Starter 
One of the banner ads on the right is putting up a display saying a problem was detected in my flash player version and offering a link in a big yellow box to "Update Now!"

NOTE: There is no problem with my flash player version.

The link starts out with ad.z5x.net/ followed by a LONG string of gobbledygook.

This is HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS! There are any number of bogus flash player installers being offered up out there on various compromised sites which actually install malware.

This needs to be checked out, ASAP.
--Bob
post #2 of 4
I'll submit it for a look. Which ad was it?

Thanks
post #3 of 4
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang View Post

I'll submit it for a look. Which ad was it?

Thanks

Unfortunately I couldn't find anything in the ad itself that identified it, or a company, or any product. It was mostly white space with a message to the effect "the video could not load". The only URL available was the download link starting as quoted in my post above.

This one really looked bogus to me.
--Bob
post #4 of 4
Thread Starter 
I've not seen this bogus ad in the rotation on AVS today. Hopefully whoever was serving it up in the first place has squelched it.
--Bob
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Forum Operations Center
AVS › AVS Forum › AVS Forum Information › Forum Operations Center › Bogus flash player download offerred?