or Connect
AVS › AVS Forum › HDTV › HDTV Programming › 2012 MLB Playoffs in HDTV
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

2012 MLB Playoffs in HDTV

post #1 of 92
Thread Starter 
Well the title of the thread says it all. Be sure to name the series, game number and the teams involved. Also be sure to mention the call letters of the station one is watching on an OTA station and the pay tv provider.This thread will cover the entire playoffs from the Wild Card round to the division series. In the US, for the division series, the majority of the games can be found on TBS with up to 2 games on MLB Network. For the League Championship Series, the ALCS will be on TBS and the NLCS will be on Fox. As usual for the World Series will be on Fox. As usual check your local listings for the channel and start time. Anyways enjoy the 2012 MLB Playoffs!
post #2 of 92
Thread Starter 
Listings for Saturday, October 6th

ALDS-Game 1

Oakland Athletics at Detroit Tigers
TV: TBS
Startime: 6:07pm ET/3:07pm PT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jaime Maggio


NLDS-Game 1

Cincinnati Reds @ San Francisco Giants
TV:TBS
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Joe Simpson, Ron Darling, & Tom Verducci
post #3 of 92
Thread Starter 
Listings for Sunday, October 7th

ALDS-Game 2

Oakland Athletics at Detroit Tigers
TV: MLB Network
Startime: 12pm ET/9am PT
Announcers: Matt Vasgersian, Jim Kaat, & Sam Ryan

NLDS-Game 1

Washington Nationals at St. Louis Cardinals
TV: TBS
Startime:3:07pm ET/2:07pm CT
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenley, & David Aldridge


ALDS-Game 1

New York Yankees at Baltimore Orioles
TV: TBS
Startime: 6:15pm ET
Announcers: Ernie Johnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz, & Craig Sager

NLDS-Game 2

Cincinnati Reds at San Francisco Giants
TV: TBS
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm ET
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci
post #4 of 92
Hate the ticker on TBS.
post #5 of 92
Thread Starter 
Listings for Monday, October 8th

NLDS-Game 2

Washington Nationals at St. Louis Cardinals
Startime: 4:37pm ET/3:37pm CT
TV:TBS
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenly, & David Aldridge


ALDS-Game 2

New York Yankees at Baltimore Orioles
Startime: 8:07pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: Ernie Johnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz, & Craig Sager
post #6 of 92
man what a crappy transmission. the signal i got has the giants getting hammered by the reds

that has to be messed up from what i remember in the regular season.
post #7 of 92
I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.
post #8 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

Suit yourself, but I love that graphic, and I heard some local radio commentators who agreed this morning, they are urging the local regional sports channel to incorporate it for next season. It's not all that big, but gives you a great bit of information on the pitch and also shows the current pitcher's pitch count! I find myself constantly checking it out and it really adds to the broadcast.
post #9 of 92
Please TBS pull back the camera shots . We need to see the runners and fielders moving,and the ball in flight.Sometimes all that is sceen is the last 6'. There is no sense of the entire action. It needs to look like we are at the stadium,not a small zone of action.
post #10 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

the announcers are horrible as well. really hard to watch
post #11 of 92
Thread Starter 
NLDS-Game 3

San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
Startime:5:37pm ET/2:37pm PT
Announcers: Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

ALDS-Game 3

Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics
Startime: 9:07pm ET/6:07pm PT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jamie Maggio
post #12 of 92
TBS HD SF @ CIN FiOS NYC

I really don't like how they raise up the audio during every pitch it's really not needed.
The announcers sound lower then crowd and ball park sound

DET @ OAK the mic near the back stop is not being turned up during every pitch and it's much nicer then the early game.
Edited by icemannyr - 10/9/12 at 7:43pm
post #13 of 92
Thread Starter 
Listings for Wednesday, October 10th

NLDS-Game 3

St. Louis Cardinals at Washington Natinals
Startime: 1:07pm ET/12:07pm CT
TV: MLB Network
Announcers: Bob Costas, Jim Kaat & Sam Ryan

NLDS-Game 4
San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
Startime: 4:07pm ET/1:07pm PT
TV:TBS
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

ALDS-Game 3
Baltimore Orioles at New York Yankees
Startime: 7:37pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: ErnieJohnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz & Craig Sager

ALDS-Game 4
Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT
TV: TNT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jaime Maggio
post #14 of 92
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

I dunno why, but I don't mind it. It's out of the way of the action and immediately goes away when it's any other shot than the main centerfield shot.
post #15 of 92
I'm ok with the pitch tracker to. The high pitched sound effect when the lower third graphic appears or the series tied text appears below the score box is very annoying.
post #16 of 92
Thread Starter 
Well you know Alex Rodriguez is washed up when Raul Ibanez has to pinch hit for him and he comes up clutch not once, but twice in the game last night. Also, what an epic comeback by the Oakland Athletics!
post #17 of 92
Thread Starter 
Listings for Thursday, October 11th

NLDS-Game 5

San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
Startime: 1:07pm ET/10:07am PT
TV:TBS
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

NLDS-Game 4

St. Louis Cardinals at Washington Natinals
Startime: 4:07pm ET/3:07pm CT
TV: TBS
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenly, & David Aldridge

ALDS-Game 4

Baltimore Orioles at New York Yankees
Startime: 7:37pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: ErnieJohnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz & Craig Sager

ALDS-Game 4

Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT
TV: TNT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jaime Maggio
post #18 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

Well you know Alex Rodriguez is washed up when Raul Ibanez has to pinch hit for him and he comes up clutch not once, but twice in the game last night.

I can't wait until A-Rod's contract is up; we have to deal with his dead weight for much too long. He should get benched for the rest of the series, and the cameramen should constantly show the sourpuss look on his face as he still fails to understand his uselessness.
post #19 of 92
transmission and reception much improved now. giants come back from to 0-2 to win series!
post #20 of 92
TBS has to stop using that annoying sound effect on every graphic that appears on screen.
Not only is the sound annoying, it distracts from the audio of the game.
post #21 of 92
The only sound effect I don't like is the horrible high pitched whiny sound Yankee Stadium plays when an opposing batter strikes out. That is horrible. If I was a player there and they played that when I struck out, I'd be on my way to the stadium sound booth to destroy whatever source they are using...
post #22 of 92
Thread Starter 
Sorry for the deleay in posting today's listings

Friday, October 12th

ALDS-Game 5

Baltimore Orioles at New York Yankees
Startime: 5:30pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: ErnieJohnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz & Craig Sager

NLDS-Game 4

St. Louis Cardinals at Washington Natinals
Startime: 8:37pm ET/7:37pm CT
TV: TBS
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenly, & David Aldridge
post #23 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by iontyre View Post

The only sound effect I don't like is the horrible high pitched whiny sound Yankee Stadium plays when an opposing batter strikes out. That is horrible. If I was a player there and they played that when I struck out, I'd be on my way to the stadium sound booth to destroy whatever source they are using...

They are using that whistle sound because a team advertiser is paying them to use their theme song.
Yes it is annoying and very voud on the TBS broadcasts.
post #24 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.
You're missing a lot of action in that patch of grass to the right of the pitchers mound.

I like it, when I watched a game on MLB Network I found myself wondering where it had gone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

Also, what an epic comeback by the Oakland Athletics!
The Cardinals fart in the Oakland A's epic comeback's general direction.
post #25 of 92
Thread Starter 
What can I say, I'm a live for the moment kind of guy. I'll admit, what the Cardinals did was beyond mind bogglingly epic. I don't even have words to describe it.
post #26 of 92
Thread Starter 
Listings for the 2012 League Championship Series.


All ALCS games will be exclusively on TBS & all NLCS games will be exclusively on Fox.

TBS announcers for the entire ALCS are: Ernie Johnson, John Smoltz, Ron Darling, & Craig Sager.

Fox announcers for the entire NLCS are: Joe Buck, Tim McCarver, Erin Andrews, & Ken Rosenthal


Saturday, October 13th

ALCS-Game 1
Detroit Tigers at New York Yankees
TV: TBS
Startime: 8pm ET

Sunday, October 14th 9

ALCS-Game 2
Detroit Tigers at New York Yankees
TV: TBS
Startime:4pm ET/1pm PT

NLCS-Game 1
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV: Fox
Startime:8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


Monday, October 15th

NLCS-Game 2
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV: Fox
Startime: 8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


Tuesday, October 16th

ALCS-Game 3
New York Yankees at Detroit Tigers
TV:TBS
Startime:8pm ET/5pm PT


Wednesday, October 17th

NLCS-Game 3
San Francisco Giants at St. Louis Cardinals
TV:Fox
Startime: 4pm ET/3pm CT/1pm PT


Thursday, October 18th

ALCS-Game 4
New York Yankees at Detroit Tigers
TV:TBS
Startime: 4pm ET/1pm PT

NLCS-Game 4
San Francisco Giants at St. Louis Cardinals
TV: Fox
Startime: 8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


NLCS-Game 5
San Francisco Giants at St. Louis Cardinals
TV:Fox
Startime: 8pm ET/7pm/5pm PT


Sunday, October 21st

NLCS-Game 6
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV:Fox
Startime:7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT/4:30pm PT


Monday, October 22nd

NLCS-Game 7*
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV:Fox
Startime:8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


*-if necessary
Edited by Tom Wellman - 10/20/12 at 8:41am
post #27 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

Listings for the 2012 League Championship Series.
All ALCS games will be exclusively on TBS & all NLCS games will be exclusively on Fox.
TBS announcers for the entire ALCS are: Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci.

TBS Announcers, Ernie Johnson Jr. Ron Darling and John Smoltz. Craig Sager reportering.
post #28 of 92
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemannyr View Post

TBS Announcers, Ernie Johnson Jr. Ron Darling and John Smoltz. Craig Sager reportering.

My bad in that. TBS threw the proverbial curveball. I thought Anderson & company was TBS #1 announcing crew. Evidently I was wrong. Correction noted.
post #29 of 92
Thread Starter 
That's not good for the Yankees with Jeter fracturing his ankle and all. The weird thing at first glance, it didn't look obvious in my view that it was a serious injury.
post #30 of 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

That's not good for the Yankees with Jeter fracturing his ankle and all. The weird thing at first glance, it didn't look obvious in my view that it was a serious injury.

That was painful for me to watch, because it is a much bigger loss for the Yankees than losing game 1.

The Yankees can forget about winning this series. That is unless hell freezes over and A-Rod and Swisher make themselves useful at the plate, and Cano matches what is expected of him. We can't always count on Raul to deliver a miraculous home run, as exciting as that is to see.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: HDTV Programming
AVS › AVS Forum › HDTV › HDTV Programming › 2012 MLB Playoffs in HDTV