or Connect
AVS › AVS Forum › Gaming & Content Streaming › Home Theater Gaming › PlayStation Area › PS3 data transfer question
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

PS3 data transfer question

post #1 of 4
Thread Starter 
Forgive me if I seem like a dummy, but I can't quite decipher the use of the Data Transfer utility on the PS3. I've checked the forums and the Playstation site itself, and the info seems to assume I am replacing one PS3 for another. In fact, I simply want to transfer the data belonging to one user to his new PS3, leaving the other users on the original console as is. Also, they seem to want me to deactivate the user I'm transferring because of detected downloaded content, although I am not sure this user purchased any content. Can someone who has performed this single user transfer advise on the best way to go about it.
Thanks in advance,
atek99
post #2 of 4
1. It will transfer all users from one PS3 to the other. No big deal though.

2. Yes, you have to deactivate. Once you are done with the transfer, you can reactivate the system. I've done this several times and never had an issue.
post #3 of 4
Thread Starter 
Thanks TornadoTJ. That makes sense. I assume you can then delete the users you don't want at each system.
post #4 of 4
You are supposed to be able to, but I have one on my 2nd system that came from nowhere that I don't seem to be able to get rid of. It's called User1, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to delete it.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: PlayStation Area
AVS › AVS Forum › Gaming & Content Streaming › Home Theater Gaming › PlayStation Area › PS3 data transfer question