750gb - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just installed a Seagate 750GB HD in my Philips 3575H. It's working fine but only shows 268 hrs. of rec. space @ SPP when it should hold ~400 hrs. I'm hoping that's just a minimum. I didn't check to be sure it really is a 750GB HD. Any ideas?
Raunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 01:30 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
The 268 is pretty close to what you'd expect with aN empty 500GB drive @SPP.

Would be really good if you could confirm it's a 750GB drive!? This is first LARGE HDD installed so we need to know if the FW limits drive size or not.

What's the model number?
7558037 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, the HDD I pulled was a Western Digital. I don't know what's up with that. I got the machine as a refurbished in Dec. I filled the thing in just over a month and never had any probs. I record a lot, obviously, so I'll give the 750 a good workout.
Raunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sticker on the HDD says 750GB, ST3750840ACE. I can keep a log of how much it really holds if you think I should.
Raunch is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Per the Seagate website, that model number (ST3750840A vice ST3750840ACE) is a 750GB PATA drive.

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 05:43 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raunch View Post

The sticker on the HDD says 750GB, ST3750840ACE. I can keep a log of how much it really holds if you think I should.

Well, if it showed ~268 hours at SPP before you recorded anything on it, that would indicate the FW limited accessible drive space to ~500GB or so.

That's the kind of thing we need to "pin down" so people either do or don't buy 750GB drives for the Philips 3575/3576 or Mag 2080/2160, depending on whether the FW allows the full drive space to be available.

If you could post how many hours you've got recorded, and what the INFO screen shows for SP rec mode, for example, we could just add them up and decide if there is a limit for a replacement drive and, if so, is it 500GB, etc.

With the INFO screen up, you can just press the Rec Mode button and see all the Remaining space available for each rec mode.
7558037 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 06:11 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Raunch, when you installed the 750GB drive, did you Initialize it with the SKIP 079 procedure?
7558037 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already checked. It's consistent: w/ 2 hrs. recorded in SPP it shows: HQ: 106 hrs., SP: 212 hrs., SPP: 264 hrs., LP: 317 hrs., EP: 423 hrs., SLP: 635 hrs. 500GB across the board. BOOOOO!!! Oh well. I only paid $110 w/ shipping for a "new, open box" so no big deal. These are discontinued and if you can find a new one it'll be up to $250. I found a 500GB on ebay new for $140 w/shipping and another online for $175 w/out shipping.
Raunch is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Raunch, when you installed the 750GB drive, did you Initialize it with the SKIP 079 procedure?

Yes. Thanks for that. Worked like a charm.
Raunch is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 06:25 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Raunch, Thanks for the great info!
7558037 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-11-2009, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would make sure one paid attention to the power requirements of the replacement HDD as well as the thermal specifications of the replacement HDD.

And also check the power supply specs of the recorder.

If you stress the power supply (of the DVD recorder) and at the same time increase the thermal characteristics within the case things might work great for a month or two but the result may end up as toast.

Edit - just a bit of caution. I was able to install a 750GB HDD on a Polaroid 2001G years ago but this was an external HDD install. The 750GB drive was powered independently of the DVD recorder and there were no thermal issues because the drive resided outside on the DVD recorder.
nextoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off