Magnavox 515, 513 Does it work in PAL???? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-28-2011, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
yrefai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I live overseas and was wondering if the Magnavox 515 or 513 will work with a PAL system?
yrefai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-10-2011, 11:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by yrefai View Post

Hi,

I live overseas and was wondering if the Magnavox 515 or 513 will work with a PAL system?

These machines are meant for use in the States (and, I assume, Canada) and record in the American TV format. Their tuners are NTSC/ATSC/QAM, which means they wouldn't be able to tune TV channels broadcasting in the PAL format. (Of course, if your digital format is the same as American, which I doubt, that could be a different story.)

The recorders also wouldn't be able to make use of an electrical source that differs from the N. American norm.

Whether they can PLAY discs in the PAL format, I don't think anyone's ever discussed that.

Hmmm....
gastrof is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-12-2011, 01:37 AM
Member
 
Nocturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post

Whether they can PLAY discs in the PAL format, I don't think anyone's ever discussed that.

Hmmm....

I just tried it. It results in a DISC ERROR upon loading. All you can do with it at that point is eject it. This occurred on both the 515 and the 2160A.
Nocturnal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 03-12-2011, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal View Post

I just tried it. It results in a DISC ERROR upon loading. All you can do with it at that point is eject it. This occurred on both the 515 and the 2160A.

That could be due to the region coding, not the PAL format.

It's possible to have a PAL disc that's coded "all regions".

I had a DVD player that'd been hacked to be region-free, and it played PAL discs and would produce a normal, viewable picture on my American TV.

Did your PAL disc have region 2 or 4 coding?
gastrof is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-12-2011, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Nocturnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post

That could be due to the region coding, not the PAL format.

It's possible to have a PAL disc that's coded "all regions".

I had a DVD player that'd been hacked to be region-free, and it played PAL discs and would produce a normal, viewable picture on my American TV.

Did your PAL disc have region 2 or 4 coding?

The disc shows region 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. It's not a region problem.

My Pioneer DVR-520H-S will play it, but the Magnavox units won't.
Nocturnal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off