Magnavox 537 and Verizon FIOS, missing many TV channels? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-30-2014, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
flysinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just bought Magnavox 537, and followed the information on the page regarding it on this forum.However, there are only quite limited channels received, I guess only those channels I can receive without cable box are kept. Is there something that I may miss? I don't need a recorder to record those boring channels.

flysinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-30-2014, 11:02 AM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by flysinger View Post
 

I just bought Magnavox 537, and followed the information on the page regarding it on this forum.However, there are only quite limited channels received, I guess only those channels I can receive without cable box are kept. Is there something that I may miss? I don't need a recorder to record those boring channels.

 

Did you read Ken.F's "updated scanning procedure" for FIOS where he suggests you NOT scan in ch. 1-10, which might cause tuning interference?

 

If so, your FIOS may not allow other channels to be in-the-clear for tuning directly with a TV or this DVDR. If that turns out to be true, you'll have to record from the FIOS box using the TIPS from the FIOS users provided in that link.

7558037 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-30-2014, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
flysinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks!

It helped, and many channels popped up . However, I still cannot see the more desirable channels such as Disney and Nickjr. Does this mean these channels are encrypted?

flysinger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-30-2014, 12:58 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by flysinger View Post
 

Thanks!

It helped, and many channels popped up . However, I still cannot see the more desirable channels such as Disney and Nickjr. Does this mean these channels are encrypted?

 

Only way to be sure is to connect the incoming coax to your TV (if that's possible in a FIOS system), scan for TV channels, and see if it tunes those channels.

 

Otherwise, someone here with FIOS might be able to answer that question?

7558037 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off