Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 142 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1018Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Clevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody else notice the Magnavox 2160 was in stock at Walmart online last night, or all you guys sandbagging?
Clevor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

For status on the 3575IDE500WD see original post #4217
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=4217

Time for a HSD of a 2-hr-SP rec would be nice, incl. disc brand, speed, title length, rec mode, elapsed HSD time... to compare to elapsed-time chart here?
7558037 is offline  
post #4233 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 03:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 3,174
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 1202
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigaDo View Post

Remotes, from the left, Philips 3575/3576, Magnavox 2080 and Magnavox 2160. The Philips remote does not interfere with operation of a Magnovox or vice versa.

The 2160 remote is a must-have upgrade for the 2080, $12.99 (including shipping) through Funai at 1-800-242-7158.


Are the remotes available yet? I've called 3 times with no success, although the price went up $6 since the first time I called.
ti-triodes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4234 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ti-triodes View Post

Are the remotes available yet? I've called 3 times with no success, although the price went up $6 since the first time I called.

I just called 1-800-242-7158, Option 3, to verify current price and avail. of the 2160 remote:

In stock
PN NB820UD
$6.99
$6.00 shipping
$12.99 total
7558037 is offline  
post #4235 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

Time for a HSD of a 2-hr-SP rec would be nice, incl. disc brand, speed, title length, rec mode, elapsed HSD time... to compare to elapsed-time chart here?

Next time
auskck is offline  
post #4236 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicLogic View Post

I wish you the best of luck in getting one. I ordered one back on January 22nd and I'm still waiting.... I've called them repeatedly and they keep telling me my order is on the way.

As I recall, another member has been less than happy with Funai customer service. I see why.

So you mean Funai customer no service? They don't even know what products they make, service or warrant.
auskck is offline  
post #4237 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

So you mean Funai customer no service? They don't even know what products they make, service or warrant.

The 2160 remote for my 2080 was ordered, by phone, from the Parts Center, Funai Service Corporation, Columbus OH 43217 on 1/22/09. I was given an order confirmation number. The 2160 remote was posted by first class mail on 1/27/09. It was received by me in Portland OR 97217 with the 1/31/09 mail delivery.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #4238 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevor View Post

Anybody else notice the Magnavox 2160 was in stock at Walmart online last night, or all you guys sandbagging?

I checked last night and saw the usual out of stock online. I hope you ordered one.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
post #4239 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
rec630's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicLogic View Post

I wish you the best of luck in getting one. I ordered one back on January 22nd and I'm still waiting.... I've called them repeatedly and they keep telling me my order is on the way.

As I recall, another member has been less than happy with Funai customer service. I see why.

I got one last month with no problem. Took less than a week.
rec630 is offline  
post #4240 of 27986 Old 03-26-2009, 09:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevor View Post

Anybody else notice the Magnavox 2160 was in stock at Walmart online last night..?

No, but I checked for the heck of it this afternoon, and it was out of stock.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #4241 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
mreedelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

You should ask TWC if they're using SDV (Switched Digital Video), which could be one explanation for channels disappearing regularly.

They are using SDV. They have a converter box to help, but it is only for use with TiVos.

They got me again last night. I checked signals before 5PM to make sure they were working and everything was fine. Then, by the time I was recording Earl on NBC, the signal changed from 100.3 to 100.2, so I recorded nothing. Looks like I will be switching to OTA on a least one unit to get the stations that keep disappearing. Unfortunately, that doesn't help with the cable-only stations that I like to record. May have to start getting those off the web.

To top it off, TWC is increasing the rental fee for their DVRs by $3 a month. Pretty sure this indicates their plans for limiting unscrambled signals on all but local channels and making everyone use their equipment.
mreedelp is offline  
post #4242 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:Real cheap price on HDMI 6' cables free shippng
http://www.meritline.com/3-pcs-of-6-...--p-26865.aspx
auskck is offline  
post #4243 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
**** HOT * HOT * HOT *****
We have given Birth to the 3575SATA500HT on 27 March 2009 @ 1235hrs
Weight 3.125 x Normal - 100+ 2hr Movies SP Mode
**** HOTTER Than HOT ****
A Twin was born but not identical
We have given Birth to the 3575SATA1000HT on 27 March 2009 @ 1345hrs
Problem with twin looks like FW addressing is limited to 500gb needs further investigation
More details to follow (still in shock)
auskck is offline  
post #4244 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:05 AM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

**** HOT * HOT * HOT *****
We have given Birth to the 3675SATA500HT on 27 March 2009 @ 1235hrs
Weight 3.125 x Normal - 100+ 2hr Movies SP Mode
**** HOTTER Than HOT ****
A Twin was born but not identical
We have given Birth to the 3675SATA1000HT on 27 March 2009 @ 1345hrs
Problem with twin looks like FW addressing is limited to 500gb needs further investigation
More details to follow (still in shock)

auskck,

Congrats, on new twins,

So no issues with milk (power) supplies.

Mother is Mrs. 2080 or Mrs. 2160

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #4245 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post

auskck,

Congrats, on new twins,

So no issues with milk (power) supplies.

Mother is Mrs. 2080 or Mrs. 2160

None, Mom is 3575
auskck is offline  
post #4246 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:Nice little touch to the adapter to 2 led lamps green and red
Green power on Red flashes upon data transfer takes some of the guess work out of the installation.
auskck is offline  
post #4247 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:Anybody want to buy 2 IDE 160gb drives?
auskck is offline  
post #4248 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
sydyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is spreading to other channels, 44.1 disappeared in the last day.

That makes 7.x, 9.x and now 44.x that are tunable by double CH+/CH- selection but not directly. That far apart, it can't be a frequency issue.

Gotta be a Comcast problem. We are now seeing analog reception breaking up with pixelation on OTA channels so they must be receiving in HD, downscaling to SD and then transmitting analog.
sydyen is offline  
post #4249 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:41 AM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI:Nice little touch to the adapter to 2 led lamps green and red
Green power on Red flashes upon data transfer takes some of the guess work out of the installation.


I would use a fibre optic strand and let is reflect out of case with flashing red and green

naah, may be too distracting

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #4250 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:43 AM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI:Anybody want to buy 2 IDE 160gb drives?


Bad timing

You should have tried it before posting your SATA suceess !

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #4251 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

**** HOT * HOT * HOT *****
We have given Birth to the 3675SATA500HT on 27 March 2009 @ 1235hrs
Weight 3.125 x Normal - 100+ 2hr Movies SP Mode
**** HOTTER Than HOT ****
A Twin was born but not identical
We have given Birth to the 3675SATA1000HT on 27 March 2009 @ 1345hrs
Problem with twin looks like FW addressing is limited to 500gb needs further investigation
More details to follow (still in shock)


What's this? An alternate hard drive that'll work in the thing?
gastrof is offline  
post #4252 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydyen View Post

The problem is spreading to other channels, 44.1 disappeared in the last day.

That makes 7.x, 9.x and now 44.x that are tunable by double CH+/CH- selection but not directly. That far apart, it can't be a frequency issue.

Gotta be a Comcast problem. We are now seeing analog reception breaking up with pixelation on OTA channels so they must be receiving in HD, downscaling to SD and then transmitting analog.

Did you see this post? It's quite possible the same might apply to your situation since Comcast is aggressively installing SDV?

Info on SDV in case you missed it.
7558037 is offline  
post #4253 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas_Tom View Post

I checked last night and saw the usual out of stock online. I hope you ordered one.

If I were a betting man, which I am, I'd say Clevor probably saw the infamous cycling inventory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI:Anybody want to buy 2 IDE 160gb drives?

Heh...yeah...I'd probably only keep mine as emergency backup, but then again -- if my 500GB drive ever failed, I'd probably just buy another. Who would want to go back to 60 hrs at SP when you get used to 212hrs at SP?

I guess Cooldrives.com is OK for cheap stuff like these adapters. Shipping seems a little steep, but they may be the only source. Plus, adding this is a nice little way to future proof your DVDR. Again, nice work, Auskck!
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #4254 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelTownGuy View Post

If I were a betting man, which I am, I'd say Clevor probably saw the infamous cycling inventory.



Heh...yeah...I'd probably only keep mine as emergency backup, but then again -- if my 500GB drive ever failed, I'd probably just buy another. Who would want to go back to 60 hrs at SP when you get used to 212hrs at SP?

I guess Cooldrives.com is OK for cheap stuff like these adapters. Shipping seems a little steep, but they may be the only source. Plus, adding this is a nice little way to future proof your DVDR. Again, nice work, Auskck!

First $75 gets both drives, I'll pay the shipping.
auskck is offline  
post #4255 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelTownGuy View Post

If I were a betting man, which I am, I'd say Clevor probably saw the infamous cycling inventory.



Heh...yeah...I'd probably only keep mine as emergency backup, but then again -- if my 500GB drive ever failed, I'd probably just buy another. Who would want to go back to 60 hrs at SP when you get used to 212hrs at SP?

I guess Cooldrives.com is OK for cheap stuff like these adapters. Shipping seems a little steep, but they may be the only source. Plus, adding this is a nice little way to future proof your DVDR. Again, nice work, Auskck!

Yea, their WEB site is a mess, they should hire me as their Webmaster.
I'm on this box all day anyway.
I don't know what the minimum charges are for UPS.
auskck is offline  
post #4256 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 12:44 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
auskck,

You are a hero ! thanks on behalf of all who plan to upgrade to 500gb+,

Great effort ...

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #4257 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteelTownGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

Yea, their WEB site is a mess, they should hire me as their Webmaster.
I'm on this box all day anyway.
I don't know what the minimum charges are for UPS.

I know my 100 pack of TY 8X Premium was shipped UPS and it was somewhere in the $7 range for ground service (going from CA to PA). And I think that was a 4 lb. package.

By the way, what are the drive model numbers on the new SATA twins? I'm guessing one is a 500GB and the other is 1TB (FW limited).
SteelTownGuy is offline  
post #4258 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelTownGuy View Post

I know my 100 pack of TY 8X Premium was shipped UPS and it was somewhere in the $7 range for ground service (going from CA to PA). And I think that was a 4 lb. package.

By the way, what are the drive model numbers on the new SATA twins? I'm guessing one is a 500GB and the other is 1TB (FW limited).

HITACHI Deskstar P7K500 HDP725050GLA360 (0A35415) 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145215
auskck is offline  
post #4259 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:Recorded a 2hr movie to the 1tb drive all functions worked, but DVR only shows the capacity of a 500gb drive. In the process of replacing the 500gb stata drive. This will be my main testing bed.
auskck is offline  
post #4260 of 27986 Old 03-27-2009, 01:47 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI:Recorded a 2hr movie to the 1tb drive all functions worked, but DVR only shows the capacity of a 500gb drive. In the process of replacing the 500gb stata drive. This will be my main testing bed.

Auskck,

Did you happen to take pictures of HD with adapter during your surgery.

Did you have any issues about space constraints. Is 3575 complimentary to 2080 model?

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off