Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 144 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1019Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 01:16 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I would rather look for a IDE --> SATA converter and then have a SATA cable come out of the DVR to connect a external SATA drive enclosure.

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydyen View Post

I wanted a M/M adapter a while back and came up with nothing.

Although it seems like a trivial thing, it requires a circuit board to run the conductors correctly.

When you put the connectors face-to-face the pin numbering is reversed so pin 1 is facing 39 i.e.

01 03 05 07 09 11 13 15 17 19 21 23 25 27 29 31 33 35 37 39
02 04 06 08 10 12 14 16 18 xx 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 36 38 40

39 37 35 33 31 29 27 25 23 21 19 17 15 13 11 09 07 05 03 01
40 38 36 34 32 30 28 26 24 22 xx 18 16 14 12 10 08 06 04 02

If you do a flipped face to face then the rows are reversed and pin 1 is facing pin 2 i.e.

01 03 05 07 09 11 13 15 17 19 21 23 25 27 29 31 33 35 37 39
02 04 06 08 10 12 14 16 18 __ 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 36 38 40

02 04 06 08 10 12 14 16 18 __ 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 36 38 40
01 03 05 07 09 11 13 15 17 19 21 23 25 27 29 31 33 35 37 39

A double transition would achieve the numbering consistency but it will not work because pin 20 is a key, there is no conductor and the hole is usually blocked.

If you do find a M/M adapter I'll be ordering some myself.

See gender change
http://cablesonline.stores.yahoo.net/40pinmaidc2p.html
M/F cables are very very hard to find I only found the 1 12" that I'm using in the Philips
auskck is offline  
post #4293 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post

I would rather look for a IDE --> SATA converter and then have a SATA cable come out of the DVR to connect a external SATA drive enclosure.

The main reason to go external is to have multiple drives that you can do a cold swap.
See
Purposed external case for my prototype $29.88
http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/dubayesouca8.html
auskck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4294 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:The IDE WD 500gb is installed in the Magnavox H2160 at this time.
Same installation procedure as listed here
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post16120730
Available recording time is 206H 54M in SP Mode
All HDD fuctions working normally
Ridata +R 16x size 3674mb length 1:47hrs HSD :27 elapsed
I guess it's now a Magnavox H2500WD
Same PN on Power supply as the 2080/3575
auskck is offline  
post #4295 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 02:03 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

The main reason to go external is to have multiple drives that you can do a cold swap.
See
Purposed external case for my prototype $29.88
http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/dubayesouca8.html

Auskck,

I am with you, and have the axact same idea, having swappable drives. Except using SATA cable connecting the enclosure to the DVR, rather than running a ribbon IDE cable out of the box.

Like this cable http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/sapoanddaca2.html

DVR CASE [ DVR IDE --> IDE to Sata <--Sata to eSATA cable -----]-----------[Sata Drive Box ]

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #4296 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think all this discussion of having swappable external SATA drives is really great, especially for the really heavy users out there. I should think ultimately you would want to fill up a drive, disconnect it, and then back up its contents somewhere. Has anyone tried to get Windows/Linux to recognize these drives? Backing up the contents from the file system level would be a breeze. However going "beneath" the file system level and doing a backup at the sector level is probably unworkable.

Alternatively, just keeping multiple drives and sorting them in some fashion (for example by year recorded, or by the theme of what is recorded) is certainly workable.

(Of course little ol' me won't do anywhere near the amount of recording to justify all this effort!)


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
post #4297 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post

Auskck,

I am with you, and have the axact same idea, having swappable drives. Except using SATA cable connecting the enclosure to the DVR, rather than running a ribbon IDE cable out of the box.

Like this cable http://cooldrives.stores.yahoo.net/sapoanddaca2.html

DVR CASE [ DVR IDE --> IDE to Sata <--Sata to eSATA cable -----]-----------[Sata Drive Box ]

That's a much better way to go but will need different adapter than the one I'm currently using. I think I saw something that would work in the above configuration but can't remember where it was.

********* Update ************
This one show merit
http://www.cooldrives.com/saidecomisat.html
auskck is offline  
post #4298 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazza View Post

I think all this discussion of having swappable external SATA drives is really great, especially for the really heavy users out there. I should think ultimately you would want to fill up a drive, disconnect it, and then back up its contents somewhere. Has anyone tried to get Windows/Linux to recognize these drives? Backing up the contents from the file system level would be a breeze. However going "beneath" the file system level and doing a backup at the sector level is probably unworkable.

Alternatively, just keeping multiple drives and sorting them in some fashion (for example by year recorded, or by the theme of what is recorded) is certainly workable.

(Of course little ol' me won't do anywhere near the amount of recording to justify all this effort!)


_Lazza

I would not backup the drive just pull it and replace with new blank drive. Use the HDD's just the way you use a DVD at present.

You would need to create a Database of some sort to track it all, could use flat file, spreed sheet, or maybe Access etc.
Access DB is pretty simple to construct. In fact I should build one just to track all the DVDs I've created on the H2160 over 150 movies and counting.
The H2160 was a workhorse God rest it's soul.
auskck is offline  
post #4299 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 06:00 PM
Member
 
TBR_999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All I can say is wow!

You guys have done some impressive research on upgrading the HDD. It's something I have longed for when I ran out of recording space.

Now how about this: upgrading the burner to a dual layer unit? Would the FW allow it?
TBR_999 is offline  
post #4300 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBR_999 View Post

All I can say is wow!

You guys have done some impressive research on upgrading the HDD. It's something I have longed for when I ran out of recording space.

Now how about this: upgrading the burner to a dual layer unit? Would the FW allow it?

IMO no, plus the burners are of a non standard type, these are not PC type burners
auskck is offline  
post #4301 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Raunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazza View Post

I think all this discussion of having swappable external SATA drives is really great, especially for the really heavy users out there. I should think ultimately you would want to fill up a drive, disconnect it, and then back up its contents somewhere. Has anyone tried to get Windows/Linux to recognize these drives? Backing up the contents from the file system level would be a breeze. However going "beneath" the file system level and doing a backup at the sector level is probably unworkable.

Alternatively, just keeping multiple drives and sorting them in some fashion (for example by year recorded, or by the theme of what is recorded) is certainly workable.

(Of course little ol' me won't do anywhere near the amount of recording to justify all this effort!)


_Lazza

Hooked my old drive to my Bro's computer and Vista wouldn't recognize it. Device driver installed successfully when hooked externally.
Raunch is offline  
post #4302 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
sydyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> M/F cables are very very hard to find I only found the 1
> 12" that I'm using in the Philips

There is not much of a demand for M/F cables because various lengths are offered in F/F. Connectors introduce loss, so it is better when distance is an issue to use a longer cable rather than an extender. 36" is the longest I've seen with three connectors and there are 48" with five connectors.

> See gender change
> http://cablesonline.stores.yahoo.net/40pinmaidc2p.html

This permits you to join two females but it does not maintain pin number/conductor continuity. You get the reversal described in the previous post because you are effectively creating a F/F connection.

M F-----F M/M F-----F M

A F/F connection requires reversing the rows to achieve conductor continuity. You can see this if you hold the connector ends of an IDE cable one above the other so that the red stripes are along the same side. The cable enters the top of one connector and the bottom of the other. The cable assembly maintains conductor positioning to pin location by reversing the rows between F/F connectors.

A M/M adapter has to do the same thing, that's why it takes a circuit board to reverse the rows.

If you take an IDE cable and put the end connectors face-to-face with the polarizing notch on top you will see that the red-striped conductor is at opposite sides: pin reversal. Flip the connectors to get the red stripe contiguous and you will have the notched/plain sides facing each other which is row reversal.
sydyen is offline  
post #4303 of 27999 Old 03-28-2009, 10:13 PM
Member
 
stevezachtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you to all for the many valuable information provided in this forum. The features are promising... Not only is it able to do many forms of recording, it also has many playback features and can even boost signals of TV channels all at a seemingly affordable price.
stevezachtech is offline  
post #4304 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 05:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydyen View Post

> M/F cables are very very hard to find I only found the 1
> 12" that I'm using in the Philips

There is not much of a demand for M/F cables because various lengths are offered in F/F. Connectors introduce loss, so it is better when distance is an issue to use a longer cable rather than an extender. 36" is the longest I've seen with three connectors and there are 48" with five connectors.

> See gender change
> http://cablesonline.stores.yahoo.net/40pinmaidc2p.html

This permits you to join two females but it does not maintain pin number/conductor continuity. You get the reversal described in the previous post because you are effectively creating a F/F connection.

M F-----F M/M F-----F M

A F/F connection requires reversing the rows to achieve conductor continuity. You can see this if you hold the connector ends of an IDE cable one above the other so that the red stripes are along the same side. The cable enters the top of one connector and the bottom of the other. The cable assembly maintains conductor positioning to pin location by reversing the rows between F/F connectors.

A M/M adapter has to do the same thing, that's why it takes a circuit board to reverse the rows.

If you take an IDE cable and put the end connectors face-to-face with the polarizing notch on top you will see that the red-striped conductor is at opposite sides: pin reversal. Flip the connectors to get the red stripe contiguous and you will have the notched/plain sides facing each other which is row reversal.

In this installation the extender cable is required to avoid the height problem with the adapter/dvr hdd connection.
auskck is offline  
post #4305 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 06:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:Switching drives between different units without lost of data has not been tested. This is a no no with satellite DirecTV DVRs external drives again something to do with CP IMO
auskck is offline  
post #4306 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Total rethink
I will test the external HDD theory but will not deploy it. With the advent of DirecTv HD DVRs using external sata drives of 1tb plus that are switchable(also Raid unit) is the way to go for me. The advantages are too great HD 1080P soon, tivo type programming, record 2 programs at the same time, file management, watching record programs on any of your network PCs, free support and updates are automatic, recorded programs are already named along with description, if the box dies they replace it free, etc. The Philips/Magnavox boxes will be used to burn DVDs. I will continue testing of the Philips 3575 SATA drive for awhile. The Magnavox H2160 will be restored to the 160gb drive. It has been an great experiment that worked.
If interested in DirecTV external system read here:
http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=66201
auskck is offline  
post #4307 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,403
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 333
After reading the essay/term paper at the beginning of this thread, it appears the Magnaxov version is the better choice. But, I see there aren't any to be found on e-bay unlike the Phillips version.

Was the Magnavox vesrion exclusive to Walmart?

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4308 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

After reading the essay/term paper at the beginning of this thread, it appears the Magnaxov version is the better choice. But, I see there aren't any to be found on e-bay unlike the Phillips version.

Was the Magnavox vesrion exclusive to Walmart?

Not really much in it between 2160 & 3576
We believe that to be true (Walmart)
auskck is offline  
post #4309 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,128
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

Not really much in it between 2160 & 3576
We believe that to be true (Walmart)

While the Maggie may be more recent and have some minor improvements, to me the 3576's USB port and ability to play DivX made the decision for me. (Though not DivX via the USB port... that's top of my wish list for a firmware change.)

That and I don't like that the Maggie live records everything you watch. To me that's more wear on the hard drive and shortens the lifespan (which at the time was more of an issue than it is now).

That and I found my 3576 new-in-box under $100.
DoctorM is offline  
post #4310 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post

(...)That and I don't like that the Maggie live records everything you watch. To me that's more wear on the hard drive and shortens the lifespan (which at the time was more of an issue than it is now).(...)

That is becoming very common with DVR's, including the DTVPal HD DVR.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #4311 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 01:37 PM
Member
 
albert_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something odd happened to me last week. I put 2 programs from my 3576 HDD to disc. Both appeared on the dvd disc menu, but I went in to edit one of the programs so that I could select the screenshot for the menu and after it saved that change and I went back to the menu - the other program was no longer there...? Has this happened to anyone?

Also I have 2 of this machine. Should I expect any problems putting something on disc on one machine and adding to it on another?

I would think not, but just wanted feedback before I tried.
albert_m is offline  
post #4312 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
stump69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In case anyone is interested in acquiring one of these, since I ordered the Sylvania HDVR200F (reconditioned) for $159.99, the price dropped by $30. They dropped it while mine was still enroute so I explained to them that I was retired military and then requested and was granted an adjustment. Though it only has an analog tuner, and cannot cohabit the same room as the Maggie machines, it's still a good buy with the 160GB HDD plus dual deck recording for 3-in-1 operations - HDD>DVD VHS>HDD VHS<>DVD.

http://www.totaldropshipper.com/prod...-Recorder.html

Comcast will continue analog service for the next 3 years. I know I'll have gotten my money's worth out of it by then, especially for editing (on HDD) and archiving (to DVD) the hundred or so of VHS tapes that I've recorded over the years from cable.
stump69 is offline  
post #4313 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by albert_m View Post

Something odd happened to me last week. I put 2 programs from my 3576 HDD to disc. Both appeared on the dvd disc menu, but I went in to edit one of the programs so that I could select the screenshot for the menu and after it saved that change and I went back to the menu - the other program was no longer there...? Has this happened to anyone?

Also I have 2 of this machine. Should I expect any problems putting something on disc on one machine and adding to it on another?

I would think not, but just wanted feedback before I tried.

Never heard of losing an entire title on a DVD just by editing a diff. title. Did you eject and reload the DVD to see if that would display it again?

If both of your units are the same, Philips or Mag, you should be able to interchange discs w/o any special effort. If they're diff. brands or if you have trouble interchanging, you should then be able to interchange discs if you turn Recording > Make Recording Compatible on, as described in Option 1 here.

I leave that setting on all the time for my 3575's and 2160.
7558037 is offline  
post #4314 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by stump69 View Post

Comcast will continue analog service for the next 3 years. I know I'll have gotten my money's worth out of it by then, especially for editing (on HDD) and archiving (to DVD) the hundred or so of VHS tapes that I've recorded over the years from cable.

To expand upon my earlier comments regarding cable company "analog and digital service(s)," perhaps I should clarify the distinction between "analog and digital service" and cable providers' continuing conversion of analog and digital signals to the analog format for viewing and recording with analog or tunerless recording devices.

Cable company "converter" boxes will continue to provide "analog outputs" through RF, composite, and S-Video outputs; and will continue to provide "digital outputs" through component and HDMI outputs on those converter boxes so equipped.

I have yet to hear of any cable company that plans to discontinue converter boxes that "convert" signals to the analog format. Your Sylvania HDRV200F will continue to record these analog and/or line in signals from a cable "converter" box as long as your Sylvania continues to remain functional.

My earlier comments are found here:

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post16069443

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #4315 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
rec630's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stump69 View Post

Comcast will continue analog service for the next 3 years.

I'd suggest to not expect it to be in the same programming you are getting today. Local OTA channels may be carried in clear QAM and/or analog, but if you aren't using a set top box today, I expect you'll neeed one to get other programming before the end of that 3 years.
rec630 is offline  
post #4316 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
There's been lots of discussion about the relative merits of 8X vs. 16X DVDs, and I found a Taiyo Yuden spec that might carry more "weight" than anecdotal references: recording power reqd is ~40% less for 8X vs. 16X discs.

I've added the following to the "Disc Speed" discussion in the DVD help file:

Disc Speed

For -R/+R discs, Taiyo Yuden has a disc spec that I think defines, better than anything else, why 8X is better than 16X in ANY DVDR: recording power required is ~40% LESS with 8X discs than 16X discs. This offers several key advantages:
  1. Less heat in the laser diode.
  2. Less stress on the burner power circuit.
  3. Longer burner life due to 1 and 2.
  4. Easier to make good burns as a burner ages and loses power?
Recording Power Reqd at 8X Burner Speed

DVD Speed -R DVD +R DVD
8X 32mW 30mW
16X 50mW 53mW
7558037 is offline  
post #4317 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
stump69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec630 View Post

I'd suggest to not expect it to be in the same programming you are getting today. Local OTA channels may be carried in clear QAM and/or analog, but if you aren't using a set top box today, I expect you'll neeed one to get other programming before the end of that 3 years.

NOT looking forward to needing an STB. We currently have 7 units connected directly to cable without a box.
stump69 is offline  
post #4318 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
lschrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a H2080 that intermittently goes back into initial setup losing its memory and any programing that I have entered after I turn it off. If I unplug it, removing power for more than 30 sec. it is normal still maintaining its memory but I have to reset the current time. Is there anything I can do for this problem?

Thanks
LS
lschrag is offline  
post #4319 of 27999 Old 03-29-2009, 11:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by albert_m View Post

Something odd happened to me last week. I put 2 programs from my 3576 HDD to disc. Both appeared on the dvd disc menu, but I went in to edit one of the programs so that I could select the screenshot for the menu and after it saved that change and I went back to the menu - the other program was no longer there...? Has this happened to anyone?

Also I have 2 of this machine. Should I expect any problems putting something on disc on one machine and adding to it on another?

I would think not, but just wanted feedback before I tried.

I did something similar and I think what happened is I was trying to add the preview picture to the title and accidentally hit the delete title instead.
If you do that it just deletes the references to that title so it wont show up after that even though the title is still technically on the disk. In may case I hadn't deleted the originals yet so I just redid the disk.
Dartman is offline  
post #4320 of 27999 Old 03-30-2009, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,403
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:


to me the 3576's USB port and ability to play DivX made the decision for me.

That was going to be my next question. How can the USB port be used?
Quote:


don't like that the Maggie live records everything you watch.

Doesn't the Philips do the same thing?

Anyone know where a 2160 can be had?

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off