Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1018Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

That was going to be my next question. How can the USB port be used?Doesn't the Philips do the same thing?

Anyone know where a 2160 can be had?

Make me an offer I can't refuse (w/500gb or standard drive or both)
auskck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,389
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 330
You have a PM.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4323 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by lschrag View Post

I have a H2080 that intermittently goes back into initial setup losing its memory and any programing that I have entered after I turn it off. If I unplug it, removing power for more than 30 sec. it is normal still maintaining its memory but I have to reset the current time. Is there anything I can do for this problem?

Thanks
LS

Turn off Auto Time Set. If you have recurring timers set, such as Mon-Fri or every Tues etc it will lose its memory when it sets the time (at noon and midnight).
So either set the time manually or only set timers for one time recording.
Chuck44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4324 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,389
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 330
The older 2080MW8 is still listed on Manavox's website, but the newer Magnavox 2160MW9 version that was supposedly introduced a year later is not.
I also looked at Funai's website and only Sylvaina is mentioned, not Magnavox or Philips. Were any of these available directly through Funai?

Anyones take on any of this?

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4325 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 07:49 AM
Member
 
albert_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Never heard of losing an entire title on a DVD just by editing a diff. title. Did you eject and reload the DVD to see if that would display it again?


I did initially and it did not reappear. I was too annoyed to try it again that day and have been busy with other projects, but will load it one more time and look. I still have the programs on the HD so I can always reburn it, but it is frustrating.

Quote:


If both of your units are the same, Philips or Mag, you should be able to interchange discs w/o any special effort. If they're diff. brands or if you have trouble interchanging, you should then be able to interchange discs if you turn Recording > Make Recording Compatible on, as described in Option 1 here.

I have two 3576's.
albert_m is offline  
post #4326 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by albert_m View Post

I did initially and it did not reappear. I was too annoyed to try it again that day and have been busy with other projects, but will load it one more time and look. I still have the programs on the HD so I can always reburn it, but it is frustrating.

On the "disappearing" title, when you reload the disc, see what the Empty Title shows for time remaining plus the time and rec mode of the single title that does show. Then arrow left and check disc info and status.
7558037 is offline  
post #4327 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

The older 2080MW8 is still listed on Manavox's website, but the newer Magnavox 2160MW9 version that was supposedly introduced a year later is not.
I also looked at Funai's website and only Sylvaina is mentioned, not Magnavox or Philips. Were any of these available directly through Funai?

Anyones take on any of this?

I've never found the 2160 at the Magnavox website even when it was first introduced. Perhaps that's because it was exclusive to Walmart whereas the 2080 probably had a wider initial distribution.

If you go to the Funai support website (under Owner's Manuals) and type in 2080 or 2160 you will find the Magnavox and Sylvania versions of the owner's manuals. This owner manual feature even works with a portion of a model number, showing the various products. See, for instance, the product variations with 10D in the model name. Here is the Funai "brands" Owner's Manual location:

http://www.funai-corp.com/support/manuals.aspx

The Philips 3575 and 3576 Owner's Manuals are not found at the Funai website but are still found at the Philips website.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #4328 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,389
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 330
I did see the listings for the three 2160 versions. Any idea what the difference is/was?
Around 17 years ago, when I was working in a regional electronics/appliance store, they brought in Funai VCR's that no one ever heard of. It was the on going joke to use the name as a reference to a bottom of the line product. Actually, another local electronics store even used it in their ad for brand recognition , or lack of.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4329 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Kansas_Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

I did see the listings for the three 2160 versions. Any idea what the difference is/was?

The H2160SL9 is the elusive Sylvania branded unit that nobody can find for sale.

The H2160MW9 is the Maggie that we currently have.

The H2160MW9A I was (and still am) hoping is an updated version of the current Maggie that hasn't hit the shelves yet. Time will tell.
Kansas_Tom is offline  
post #4330 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 02:29 PM
Member
 
netstroller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Around 17 years ago, when I was working in a regional electronics/appliance store, they brought in Funai VCR's that no one ever heard of. It was the on going joke to use the name as a reference to a bottom of the line product. Actually, another local electronics store even used it in their ad for brand recognition , or lack of.

I think that was when Funai decided to market some electronics under their own name, instead of only being OEM for some known brands like Emerson. They did start with the low end though and hence the reputation.
netstroller is offline  
post #4331 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 02:33 PM
Member
 
netstroller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Quote:
don't like that the Maggie live records everything you watch.
Doesn't the Philips do the same thing?

Philips doesn't, which is why I bought a 2160.
netstroller is offline  
post #4332 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:Memorex 16x DVD+R Media - 32025619-KIT 100 $19.95 free ship
http://www.buy.com/prod/memorex-dvd-...202956194.html
auskck is offline  
post #4333 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

FYI:Memorex 16x DVD+R Media - 32025619-KIT 100 $19.95 free ship
http://www.buy.com/prod/memorex-dvd-r-16x-4-7-gb-2-x-50-pack-spindle-memorex-16x-dvd-r-media-4/q/loc/101/202956194.html

That's no bargain, since Memorex media is crap.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #4334 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

That's no bargain, since Memorex media is crap.

Everybody is entitled to their opinion. A rating of 4.5 out of 5 from 137 reviewers isn't bad.
http://www.buy.com/prod/memorex-dvd-...4.html#cRevSec
auskck is offline  
post #4335 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Dizzie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I scanned parts of the impressive instructions on page one of this thread but did not find an answer.

Can the 3576 be programmed to time-record a program without turning itself all the way on when it records? My Panasonic does not turn on when it records. The Philips unit does and several times I have been startled by voices coming from my stereo if I have the input for the Philips selected. I am not going to be happy if it wakes me up in the middle of the night because of what I consider a design flaw. It is not necessary for a recorder to be fully on to record. Panasonic proved that.

I also don't like the fact that scheduling is lost if the power is disconnected for over 30 seconds. Not state of the art at all.
Dizzie2 is offline  
post #4336 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzie2 View Post

I scanned parts of the impressive instructions on page one of this thread but did not find an answer.

Can the 3576 be programmed to time-record a program without turning itself all the way on when it records? My Panasonic does not turn on when it records. The Philips unit does and several times I have been startled by voices coming from my stereo if I have the input for the Philips selected. I am not going to be happy if it wakes me up in the middle of the night because of what I consider a design flaw. It is not necessary for a recorder to be fully on to record. Panasonic proved that.

I also don't like the fact that scheduling is lost if the power is disconnected for over 30 seconds. Not state of the art at all.

Did you ever think of turning your stereo off prior to retiring for the evening? That would help. It's not the DVRs fault your stereo is on.
auskck is offline  
post #4337 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
stump69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzie2 View Post

I scanned parts of the impressive instructions on page one of this thread but did not find an answer.

Can the 3576 be programmed to time-record a program without turning itself all the way on when it records? My Panasonic does not turn on when it records. The Philips unit does and several times I have been startled by voices coming from my stereo if I have the input for the Philips selected. I am not going to be happy if it wakes me up in the middle of the night because of what I consider a design flaw. It is not necessary for a recorder to be fully on to record. Panasonic proved that.

I also don't like the fact that scheduling is lost if the power is disconnected for over 30 seconds. Not state of the art at all.

Hmm... Neither my 3575 nor my 2160 have the capability of turning on the home theater when they power up to record programs. That would be very cool though.
stump69 is offline  
post #4338 of 27986 Old 03-30-2009, 11:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:


Quote:


Quote:
to me the 3576's USB port and ability to play DivX made the decision for me.

That was going to be my next question. How can the USB port be used?

Quote:


Quote:
Quote:


don't like that the Maggie live records everything you watch.

Doesn't the Philips do the same thing?

The USB port is strictly for music playback (mp3, wma, etc.)... Speaking of which, if for some odd reason you use wma format, the Maggie can't play it.

The Philips doesn't live record. In it's place it has Pause Live TV https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...count=16#Surf6
While I like that as a feature better (think 'live record on demand'), the down side is that it doesn't allow you to permanent save what you are recording.

Which when you come down to it, the Record button is just the better answer
DoctorM is offline  
post #4339 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 12:43 AM
Senior Member
 
sydyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any 2160 owners encountered the odd behavior of the Titles menu only displaying in wide?

The Time Record and Setting menus are fine at 4:3

- HDMI setting is 480
- Sony LCD display setting is Normal(4:3)

When Titles is pressed the menu flashes in 4:3 for an instant and then sets the TV display at 16:9

When the setting is Composite or Component the Titles menu displays are correct at 4:3
sydyen is offline  
post #4340 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,389
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

Everybody is entitled to their opinion. A rating of 4.5 out of 5 from 137 reviewers isn't bad.
http://www.buy.com/prod/memorex-dvd-...4.html#cRevSec

Apparently, 137 reviewers don't know any better. Here I thought it was common knowedge that Memorex was the Walmart of blank media.
Quote:


The Philips doesn't live record. In it's place it has Pause Live TV

Is the HDD running 24/7 as the Maggy does? Is there a difference when changing channels as in 'surfing'? Any less switching delay?
Quote:


The USB port is strictly for music playback

Is that the only use? Seems a waste if that is the only thing you can do with it.
Firmware upgrade possibly?

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4341 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Is the HDD running 24/7 as the Maggy does?

The Philips 3575/3576 doesn't autorecord continuously like the 2160.

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Is there a difference when changing channels as in 'surfing'? Any less switching delay?

No, about the same on digital channels... slightly faster switching within a major channel group vs. new group on 1st runthru, then a little faster again on subsequent surfs thru same channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Is that the only use? Seems a waste if that is the only thing you can do with it.

The 3575/3576 can play both MP3/WMA/JPEG Files on Audio CD or CD-RW/-R AND MP3/WMA/JPEG Files via USB.

With no USB, the 2160 can only play MP3/JPEG Files on CDs, no WMA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Firmware upgrade possibly?

Unknown, but doubtful since the only FW released (3575) was thru Philips, which is now out of the DVDR market.
7558037 is offline  
post #4342 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,389
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:


The Philips 3575/3576 doesn't autorecord continuously like the 2160.

Understood, but is the HDD (hard drive) running all the time??

Then the USB can only be used for music or pictures, correct, no file transfers?

There are separate memories for OTA and CATV, correct?

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4343 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Dizzie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

Did you ever think of turning your stereo off prior to retiring for the evening? That would help. It's not the DVRs fault your stereo is on.

Auskck,

Your answer was not the least bit helpful and assumes I am not smart enough to think of turning off my stereo. FYI, my preamplifier is digital and the amplifiers are Class-D. They are very efficient and the manufacturers recommend leaving them on 24/7.

I repeat my previous point that my Panasonic does not turn on completely when it records, the Philips does. I was asking if there was some setting I could change.
Dizzie2 is offline  
post #4344 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydyen View Post

Have any 2160 owners encountered the odd behavior of the Titles menu only displaying in wide?

The Time Record and Setting menus are fine at 4:3

- HDMI setting is 480
- Sony LCD display setting is Normal(4:3)

When Titles is pressed the menu flashes in 4:3 for an instant and then sets the TV display at 16:9

When the setting is Composite or Component the Titles menu displays are correct at 4:3

My TV setting determines the aspect of menus when using HDMI but not Composite. My LCD HDTV does not "sense" program aspect and set itself, as some apparently do... maybe yours?... see if/how changing the 2160 Video > TV Aspect affects what you're seeing?

There is some communication between a DVDR and an HDTV thru the HDMI connection, which is one reason why first use takes longer to get a pic... TV has to "adjust" to source signal and DVDR has to read display (EDID) data... SKIP 789 is utility that shows EDID data for HDMI.

In testing, I have seen the Video > TV Aspect setting "hang" on rare occasion in my 3575's where I had to set 2 and 3 times before the setting would "take" normally (show an aspect change immediately after pressing the SETUP button to exit the TV Aspect menu).

Checking this in my system helped in another way: I found that using the menus is an excellent way to see the PQ/sharpness differences of the various HDMI format settings (480, 720, etc.)... it's a static image so easy to see slight differences in edge sharpness of lettering... confirmed my previous notation that HDMI 480p looked best in my system with analog cable TV... gotta add that to the Sticky!
7558037 is offline  
post #4345 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzie2 View Post

I repeat my previous point that my Panasonic does not turn on completely when it records, the Philips does. I was asking if there was some setting I could change.

Sorry, no.
7558037 is offline  
post #4346 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Understood, but is the HDD (hard drive) running all the time??

AFAIK, all HDDs are in standby/idle when not "working" so they're "running." I think some have manual or auto settings to keep spinning when not busy rather than "stopping"... HDD longevity is rated in "start/stop cycles" as described here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Then the USB can only be used for music or pictures, correct, no file transfers?

No recent North American DVDR does anything but play thru USB, even tho EU, Japanese, Australian and other users can do some neat stuff with their USB, like transfer files, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

There are separate memories for OTA and CATV, correct?

No, an Antenna channel scan wipes out a previous cable TV scan and vice versa. You CAN scan for OTA channels in different directions with a rotating antenna using an Auto Channel Preset followed by one or more Manual Channel Presets in diff. antenna positions.

To get both Antenna and Cable channels, with Cable on the coax, you'd need an external CECB or other OTA tuner feeding a line input on the DVDR for the OTA signal.
7558037 is offline  
post #4347 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,389
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
No, an Antenna channel scan wipes out a previous cable TV scan and vice versa. You CAN scan for OTA channels in different directions with a rotating antenna using an Auto Channel Preset followed by one or more Manual Channel Presets in diff. antenna positions.

No separate memories, correct? I thought I read somewhere that you could fool the system by first doing a scan, then manually entering in known channel numbers in the other mode (CATV vs OTA)?
I don't mean just adding OTA channels from different directions via a 'add channel' function which just about all devices now do.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #4348 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 09:44 AM
Member
 
alins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Philips DVDR3576 has been showing in stock (online) in the Torrance Wal-Mart (California) for some time now. Those in LA may want to check it out ...
alins is offline  
post #4349 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
Txstarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have AT&T Uverse
1. I can record a movie if I'm watching it, however, there is no sound
2. When i do a timed recording, the Uverse stb comes on an records, the
3576H comes on and says its recording, however, when I check after
wards, all that the 3576 shows is the Uverse screen that says "click
ok to veiw uverse", the movie did not record.

The setup:
1. The signal comes in from the wall to the uverse stb
2. S video In (3576) to S video In (the video filter)
3. S video Out (3576) to Svideo TV
3. S video Out from STB to S video In (the video filter)
4. Red/White audio AV out from 3576 to video 1 of Reciver
5. Optical out from 3576 to Toslink 3 which goes into DVD Player
optical.
I have a Sony STR K-750P

"the video filter "has switch #1 down all other switches up(you only have
up or down options)

Help, and thanks
Txstarman is offline  
post #4350 of 27986 Old 03-31-2009, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Txstarman View Post

I have AT&T Uverse
1. I can record a movie if I'm watching it, however, there is no sound
2. When i do a timed recording, the Uverse stb comes on an records, the
3576H comes on and says its recording, however, when I check after
wards, all that the 3576 shows is the Uverse screen that says "click
ok to veiw uverse", the movie did not record.

The setup:
1. The signal comes in from the wall to the uverse stb
2. S video In (3576) to S video In (the video filter)
3. S video Out (3576) to Svideo TV
3. S video Out from STB to S video In (the video filter)
4. Red/White audio AV out from 3576 to video 1 of Reciver
5. Optical out from 3576 to Toslink 3 which goes into DVD Player
optical.
I have a Sony STR K-750P

"the video filter "has switch #1 down all other switches up(you only have
up or down options)

See if sketch #1b here help gets you started in the right direction... 3576 1st on coax, etc.

If you're using S-Video for the connection between STB and 3576, you have to set the 3576 Video Input to "S-Video In" as described in this help file.

Might have to address the Receiver and "Video Filter" separately... don't understand exactly how you want them to fit in to your total system?
7558037 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off