Need advice for Screen set up - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 39 Old 12-04-2018, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Need advice for Screen set up

Hello folks,

I am new to this, and I would like some advice with setting up by pj screen: size, throw distance, aspect ratio, etc. I just ordered the BenQ HT1070A which is a very basic projector with only zoom adjustment. I plan to build a large AT spandex (white on black) screen; I would like to go as large as the room size, viewing considerations/content, and other variables permit. I would like to place the screen about 2 ft forward from the front wall to hide my subs, and place my center channel optimally. Viewing is going to be 70% Netflix TV shows and 30% bluray movies.

The following is my plan: mount the projector at the back of the room ~17 ft from the screen. Build a 145” (2.38:1; 134” X 56”) screen to take advantage of the full width of the screen for movies and readjust the zoom for 16:9 content.
Since I do not have the projector yet, I don’t know if the zoom in/out capabilities will allow that when mounted 17ft away. Another consideration is that if the soffit that runs across the width of my room would interfere with the path of the projection beam. I have attached drawing with my room dimensions. I am going to have a chance to play around once I get the projector, but I want to get this conversation started so I can experiment better.

Besides other things, I would like some input on:
• Optimal size for my screen.
• Whether to build a frame to mount the screen or just hang the screen (from the ceiling) 2 feet away from the front wall.

Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard02.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	2491442  

Speakers: Boston Acoustics VS260, VS325C
Subwoofers (sealed): Dayton UM18, 2x Infinity 1260 dual opposed + iNuke6000DSP