• 1 Post By MississippiMan

post #1 of 30 Old 08-25-2019, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Black Flame DIY screen

I recently bought an Epson 5050ub, and decided on a painted screen. After doing my research, it was clear @MississippiMan was the guy to deal with. He asked me about my setup, and he decided I should go with the Black Flame mixture, and it was best to paint the entire wall with the Black Flame, to avoid having black bars.

I primed the walls with 2 coats the other day, and sprayed the Black Flame today. I am an auto painter, so I used an Astro HVLP gun, with a 1.3mm tip. Here are some pics of the coats and final product as I was going along:

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
pkinneb and Luminated67 like this.

Last edited by biglen; 08-25-2019 at 10:05 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 08-26-2019, 05:25 AM
DIY Granddad (w/help)

Mentioned: 300 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3902 Post(s)
Liked: 1816
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Nice Fan.

Same one I use.

That last macro shot shows a surface done to perfection. Very much looking forward to seeing the images to come.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions...Audio Transducers & Projection Screen Coatings
post #3 of 30 Old 08-26-2019, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiMan View Post
Nice Fan.

Same one I use.

That last macro shot shows a surface done to perfection. Very much looking forward to seeing the images to come.
Thanks MississippiMan ! I couldn't have got such a great finish without all your tips !

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 30 Old 08-26-2019, 07:58 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0