Time for the fun part! (AT Screen Build / Suggestions) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes

post #1 of 42 Old 10-01-2019, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Time for the fun part! (AT Screen Build / Suggestions)

Hey guys, I'm not new to AVS - but I am new to the DIY screens. In my previous house I made my screen from stacking sheetrock and 'Black Widow' paint mix. This time I am going for an AT screen.

Thought I would drop by with some photos of my new area and welcome any suggestions! Trying to decide on a few things:

-Screen Size (135"? 150"?) Room is long...projector will be 16-18' back from wall
-What material to use. Appears that most are using Millskin white over black?
-Anything bigger than 120" horizontal will need this fabric....but it only comes in white. https://spandexworld.com/c3/catalog/product/15949
-Spandex World appears to be the place to order? Need to decide on how many yards...
-Will build the frame with kreg jig this week.

Info on theater:

Haven't purchase most equipment yet
5.2.4 wired (planning on Klipsch)
Philips Hue bulbs in sconces
Philips Hue lights behind the screen
Philips Hue HDMI sync box
Movie posters on the walls, one concealing a hidden mini fridge

I have done all the framing, electrical, plumbing etc - so now it's the fun part!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191001_110547.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	757.7 KB
ID:	2622208   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191001_110535.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	724.3 KB
ID:	2622210   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191001_110559.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	731.7 KB
ID:	2622212  

Last edited by scottphillips88; 10-01-2019 at 12:17 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 Old 10-01-2019, 12:53 PM
DIY Granddad (w/help)

Mentioned: 320 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4028 Post(s)
Liked: 1893
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote: