• 1 Post By MississippiMan
  • 1 Post By MississippiMan

post #1 of 29 Old 11-19-2019, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Newbie from the UK

Hi, I've seen in the UK we don't really have a dedicated ALR projector screen DIY community as strong as here.

I'm looking to try and on a budget get a screen which can form a cheap ALR screen but most importantly give me a beautiful pic in the evening/night.

I am a totally blank slate. I have little DIY knowledge.

I'm going to buy a HW40ES to start off my projectering most likely. I haven't bought a screen yet so open to suggestions. If someone could please help me, it would be MUCH appreciated with any advice on what to buy and what mix would be best.

PJ for now HW40ES and throw distance 2.5-2.7m.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 11-19-2019, 07:25 PM
DIY Granddad (w/help)

Mentioned: 298 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3891 Post(s)
Liked: 1811
Send a message via Skype™ to MississippiMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoaaron View Post
Hi, I've seen in the UK we don't really have a dedicated ALR projector screen DIY community as strong as here.

I'm looking to try and on a budget get a screen which can form a cheap ALR screen but most importantly give me a beautiful pic in the evening/night.

I am a totally blank slate. I have little DIY knowledge.

I'm going to buy a HW40ES to start off my projectering most likely. I haven't bought a screen yet so open to suggestions. If someone could please help me, it would be MUCH appreciated with any advice on what to buy and what mix would be best.

PJ for now HW40ES and throw distance 2.5-2.7m.

Normally if ALR is what your looking for, I'd say chose a different projector with more Lumen. Normally. But a 2.7m throw only allows for a range of Diagonal Screen Size between 1.5m to 2.2m (59" to 89" ) so there is brightness (lumen) to spare. That old Sony could see some life anew.