DTS hd pass through wirelessly - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By thehun
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-07-2020, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
DTS hd pass through wirelessly

Hi all

I am using Sony iv 300 home theatre. I have some movie content on my mobile with DTS hd ma audio format. Is there a way to transfer and watch the movie wirelessly from my mobile?? My concern is I should get dts hd ma audio while watching. Cast won't work here.

I have airtel xstream box which support dts hd ma format
suniljgbt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-08-2020, 02:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,697
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
You haven't mentioned the make and model of phone you have. They all offer different capabilities!

Personally, I think it would probably be easier to connect your phone to a computer (using a USB lead) and transfer the file in question!

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 05-08-2020 at 07:47 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-08-2020, 03:08 AM
Member
 
Kadajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
It's not possible.

Wysłane z mojego POCOPHONE F1 przy użyciu Tapatalka
Kadajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-08-2020, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,697
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadajo View Post
It's not possible.
Why?

Have you tried directly connecting your mobile phone to your Airtel Xstream using a USB cable/lead. And searching for the media file?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 05-08-2020 at 06:18 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-08-2020, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: KALIZUELA
Posts: 10,199
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1358 Post(s)
Liked: 1477
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Why?

Have you tried directly connecting your mobile phone to your Airtel Xstream using a USB cable/lead. And searching for the media file?
I think this different poster meant that it's not possible to wirelessly transmit DTS HD MA from the phone to a playback device...
Kadajo likes this.

De sagittis Hungarorum libera nos, Domine!

You want true diversity? Champion the diversity of thoughts!

The Hun
thehun is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-08-2020, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Evenif you play it through it via usb i doubt airtel xstream box will be able to play DTS-HD MA. It only supports DTS-HD format which is a lossy format.
vin5088 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-09-2020, 03:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,697
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin5088 View Post
Evenif you play it through it via usb i doubt airtel xstream box will be able to play DTS-HD MA. It only supports DTS-HD format which is a lossy format.
Eh...

(And where do these newbies spring from?)

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 05-09-2020 at 03:29 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-09-2020, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What do you mean sir?
vin5088 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-09-2020, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
antisuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Eh...

(And where do these newbies spring from?)
DTS-HD without the Master Audio may well refer to DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, which is indeed a lossy format with bandwidth of up to 6 Mbps CBR compared to up to 24.5 Mbps VBR for DTS-HD Master Audio.

Probably best to hold off on the name-calling.

Last edited by antisuck; 05-09-2020 at 10:12 AM.
antisuck is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-09-2020, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,697
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
DTS-HD without the Master Audio may well refer to DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, which is indeed a lossy format with bandwidth of up to 6 Mbps CBR compared to up to 24.5 Mbps VBR for DTS-HD Master Audio.
Indeed.... But DTS-HD High Resolution Audio should be correctly referred to as DTS-HD HR or even DTS-HD HRA. Not just DTS-HD!

And it's not like DTS-HD High Resolution Audio became widely available anyway...

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 1No Audiolab 6000A, 3No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 2No KEF 103.2, 6No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: Synology DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-09-2020, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry if I confused you. But I thought DTS- HD without specifically noting MA was considered to be lossy codec.
vin5088 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Surround Music Formats

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off