Official Power Sound Audio Subwoofer Thread - Page 983 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 63409Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29461 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidacat View Post
I know you wanted to bypass it, but I just recently purchased a 25' Mediabridge for my XV15SE and it works perfectly. For the money, it's hard to beat Mediabridge.
Ive used them (and monoprice) before for short runs and never had any issues. What I'm wondering, on a run of 25', is if the lower capacitance of the svs (39 pF/m) vs the mediabridge (56.5 pF/m) is going to be any concern. Price difference is $30 between the two, not a ton compared to a $2k speaker, but I also don't want to spend extra on marketing hype that will not help at all.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29462 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
MrJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Does the BASH to ICE amp upgrade require the SE upgrade? Thinking about upgrading my XS30. The page doesn't really mention the benefits of the upgrade besides the warranty restart. More power?
MrJames is offline  
post #29463 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJames View Post
Does the BASH to ICE amp upgrade require the SE upgrade? Thinking about upgrading my XS30. The page doesn't really mention the benefits of the upgrade besides the warranty restart. More power?
You can upgrade the BASH amp on the XS30 to an ICE amp. It's $375, which includes the round-trip shipping.
It resets the 5-year warranty and offers audible benefits with deeper, more powerful extension, increased headroom over the entire operating bandwidth, and improved overall sound quality. You also get a true Time Delay control as well as the Room Size control.

*While this info isn't directly on the PSA website, I did copy/paste it directly from their Facebook page. So these aren't my opinions, this is what PSA stated.
MrJames likes this.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29464 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parkview, IA
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1179 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
Ive used them (and monoprice) before for short runs and never had any issues. What I'm wondering, on a run of 25', is if the lower capacitance of the svs (39 pF/m) vs the mediabridge (56.5 pF/m) is going to be any concern. Price difference is $30 between the two, not a ton compared to a $2k speaker, but I also don't want to spend extra on marketing hype that will not help at all.
Bill Kentucky ,
I have a 30 FT Mediabridge sub cable that I have been using on my V3600 for over a year.
No drop outs, and always comes on out of auto when an LFE source is determined. I have them on my XV15SEs as well.
lizrussspike is offline  
post #29465 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,192
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 9176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
You can upgrade the BASH amp on the XS30 to an ICE amp. It's $375, which includes the round-trip shipping.
It resets the 5-year warranty and offers audible benefits with deeper, more powerful extension, increased headroom over the entire operating bandwidth, and improved overall sound quality. You also get a true Time Delay control as well as the Room Size control.

*While this info isn't directly on the PSA website, I did copy/paste it directly from their Facebook page. So these aren't my opinions, this is what PSA stated.
Unless I am mistaken, I am Pretty sure you have to have the LAB15 driver. The FI driver used in the original Power X sub's is not suited for the extra power handling.

I would think the SE upgrade will be revised to include the ICE amp instead of recalibrated bash.

Edit* it does state on the Facebook page the XS30 is included so maybe Tom can clarify.
oneeyeblind likes this.

Last edited by basshead81; 10-27-2016 at 11:59 AM.
basshead81 is offline  
post #29466 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 11:55 AM
Member
 
maseline_98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
As Hop pointed out, you need to experiment with placement to try and get a flatter response...those dips are killing your bass.
>>>
I bet my wife and the neighbors would argue otherwise...lol
<<<

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Can we see a measurement with sub+CC (HDMI CH3 in REW, up to 300hz)?
>>>
Is this what you mean:
https://www.minidsp.com/applications...dmi-on-windows
and use the center channel(Kilpsch RC-7)? I'm guessing that I should run my UMC-200 in "flat"(without EQ)

Sorry for my n00bness. I should have mentioned this before, but I received my mic from Cross Specrum Labs and did the calibration with 'narrow_band_response_90_degree'. I'm not even sure that is correct.
<<<

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
The most likely source of the ground loop is your cable TV. Try disconnecting the cable where it enters your home to see if the hum goes away. At almost 70dB, I would think you could hear the hum fairly easily. If it is your cable TV, get one of these and it should take care of it:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
>>>
I will certainly give it a shot.
<<<

I would also like to Thank you guys for helping! Information is a premium and you guys rock for spreading the knowledge!!!

Last edited by maseline_98; 10-27-2016 at 12:05 PM.
maseline_98 is offline  
post #29467 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,480
Mentioned: 237 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5447 Post(s)
Liked: 4948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
I've hit my limit, I've taken all I can of my v3600i sounding poor due to placement (lets be honest, this beast can only go so many places). I only had a 12' cable on hand so it's in one of the worst locations in my room currently. I'm going to be ordering a 25' cable so I can experiment with better locations (already went through this with the v1500 so I'm pretty sure there's a 100% better spot for it). The cables recommended throughout the past have been typically monoprice for cheap, mediabridge for a step up but still being cheap, and BJC or SVS for high end. I think I'm going to skip the two cheap options on a 25' cable just to be safe, but has anyone used the SVS cable for long runs? Spec-wise, it looks as good if not better than the BJC and it's pretty much the same price per foot. With a 25' run, I want to make sure I'm getting the best option to avoid any issues.
I have a 12m SVS cable that I used to sub-crawl which I no longer need. PM me if you are interested.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #29468 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Europe, Croatia
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Are there any big notable differences that would make my life easier in choosing between V3600 and S3600?

Revel Ultima Salon 2, Revel M106, Revel C208, Yamaha P5000S, Denon X5200, Panasonic 65" VT50, Dual VBSS w Faital 18FH510
Kef LS50, Parasound New Classic, Focusrite 2i4 2nd Gen
donktard is offline  
post #29469 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
I have a 12m SVS cable that I used to sub-crawl which I no longer need. PM me if you are interested.
PM Sent.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
post #29470 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sekosche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 3632
Quote:
Originally Posted by donktard View Post
Are there any big notable differences that would make my life easier in choosing between V3600 and S3600?
Room size, placement options, and listening preferences (volume level) would be a few key factors if debating between these two subs. What size room (estimated cubic feet), are you able to choose more than one location, and how loud do you normally listen?
oneeyeblind and Hopinater like this.
Sekosche is offline  
post #29471 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parkview, IA
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1179 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Quote:
Originally Posted by donktard View Post
Are there any big notable differences that would make my life easier in choosing between V3600 and S3600?
Is your room sealed? You do plan on integrating with the SVS PC13-Ultra?
lizrussspike is offline  
post #29472 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Europe, Croatia
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sekosche View Post
Room size, placement options, and listening preferences (volume level) would be a few key factors if debating between these two subs. What size room (estimated cubic feet), are you able to choose more than one location, and how loud do you normally listen?
Total volume (living room + kitchen) is about 4500 cu feet, but living room itself is about 3700. Kitchen is open tho so you can count all that as one area. I'd place it exactly in corner where I have my SVS currently, because even with one sub response is flattest there. I usually listen at around -10 MV, but i have sub boosted to about +10 (roughly).
Seating area is about 11-12 feet from sub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lizrussspike View Post
Is your room sealed? You do plan on integrating with the SVS PC13-Ultra?
Define sealed? Its about 4500 cu feet room+kitchen combined, but it has 3 doors. If all 3 are open we are talking over 6000 cubic feet of space.
No, I want to replace SVS with one of these bad boys.

Revel Ultima Salon 2, Revel M106, Revel C208, Yamaha P5000S, Denon X5200, Panasonic 65" VT50, Dual VBSS w Faital 18FH510
Kef LS50, Parasound New Classic, Focusrite 2i4 2nd Gen
donktard is offline  
post #29473 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sekosche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 3632
Quote:
Originally Posted by donktard View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sekosche View Post
Room size, placement options, and listening preferences (volume level) would be a few key factors if debating between these two subs. What size room (estimated cubic feet), are you able to choose more than one location, and how loud do you normally listen?
Total volume (living room + kitchen) is about 4500 cu feet, but living room itself is about 3700. Kitchen is open tho so you can count all that as one area. I'd place it exactly in corner where I have my SVS currently, because even with one sub response is flattest there. I usually listen at around -10 MV, but i have sub boosted to about +10 (roughly).
Seating area is about 11-12 feet from sub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lizrussspike View Post
Is your room sealed? You do plan on integrating with the SVS PC13-Ultra?
Define sealed? Its about 4500 cu feet room+kitchen combined, but it has 3 doors. If all 3 are open we are talking over 6000 cubic feet of space.
No, I want to replace SVS with one of these bad boys.
I'd definitely go for the V3600 in that space then, and because of your listening habits and currently needing to add so much bass boost. Since you're coming from a ported ultra, you'd likely lose a lot of low end response below 30Hz switching to a sealed S3600 in a room that large. For that reason, being between 4-6k^3ft, I'd definitely stick with the V3600 for its much higher output around port tune unless you can place several more powerful sealed subs around the room.
Hopinater and hlnoiku like this.
Sekosche is offline  
post #29474 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 02:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Europe, Croatia
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sekosche View Post
I'd definitely go for the V3600 in that space then, and because of your listening habits and currently needing to add so much bass boost. Since you're coming from a ported ultra, you'd likely lose a lot of low end response below 30Hz switching to a sealed S3600 in a room that large. For that reason, being between 4-6k^3ft, I'd definitely stick with the V3600 for its much higher output around port tune unless you can place several more powerful sealed subs around the room.
Oh really? I was under impression that S3600 outperforms my PC13 across the whole frequency range, even the low end.

Just to clarify, usually when I watch movies all doors are closed, so that way room volume is minimal.

Revel Ultima Salon 2, Revel M106, Revel C208, Yamaha P5000S, Denon X5200, Panasonic 65" VT50, Dual VBSS w Faital 18FH510
Kef LS50, Parasound New Classic, Focusrite 2i4 2nd Gen
donktard is offline  
post #29475 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2712 Post(s)
Liked: 2522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
I've hit my limit, I've taken all I can of my v3600i sounding poor due to placement (lets be honest, this beast can only go so many places). I only had a 12' cable on hand so it's in one of the worst locations in my room currently. I'm going to be ordering a 25' cable so I can experiment with better locations (already went through this with the v1500 so I'm pretty sure there's a 100% better spot for it). The cables recommended throughout the past have been typically monoprice for cheap, mediabridge for a step up but still being cheap, and BJC or SVS for high end. I think I'm going to skip the two cheap options on a 25' cable just to be safe, but has anyone used the SVS cable for long runs? Spec-wise, it looks as good if not better than the BJC and it's pretty much the same price per foot. With a 25' run, I want to make sure I'm getting the best option to avoid any issues.
Been using a $10, 25' Belkin for the last 4 years. It runs under my house (post and pier). No issues.
lizrussspike likes this.

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Onkyo RZ820
Roku Ultra, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Quattron
Kini62 is online now  
post #29476 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: California
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Has anyone installed the new ICE upgrade PSA's got going out?

Just curious if it'll be a noticeable improvement on my XV15.
hlnoiku is offline  
post #29477 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlnoiku View Post
Has anyone installed the new ICE upgrade PSA's got going out?

Just curious if it'll be a noticeable improvement on my XV15.
Basshead did. His review is on the PSA facebook page if he's not on tonight.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
post #29478 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
From the Facebook page:


"Here is one review (thanks basshead!) from a recent ICE upgrade on his XV15se subs.

Just want to pop in and add that the ICE amp is a SUBSTANTIAL upgrade from the Bash! I watched Superman vs Batman last night @ reference and the house was shuddering. definitely noticed the deeper extension on some of those scenes. I have logged about 3 hrs of music listening since installing the ICE amps and WOW! Just when I thought what I had could get no better...Much improved transients and the bass feels even tighter! Tom really downplayed this one . Seriously, now I know why all the 15v/V15/18/3600 owners are so happy with their subs!"
basshead81 and hlnoiku like this.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
post #29479 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 06:41 PM
Member
 
plarmigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just wanted to give a quick shout out to Tom and PSA for their great customer service. This past friday night I noticed I wasn't getting an sound from my XV15b. After finding the power LED wouldn't illuminate anymore I started freaking out thinking my sub was dead and since my purchase date was 3yrs + 2mo ago, the warranty (especially on a B stock unit) was prob expired. I quickly jumped on the PSA website and was relieved to find out the warranty was in fact FIVE years, woohoo!

I emailed customer service that night and received an email from Tom on Saturday morning. After having me perform a basic test, he determined that the amp needed to be replaced and he had a new one sent out via Fed-Ex on Monday along with a return label for the old one. I switched out the amps tonight and now I am back up and running!

Great customer service like this is why I buy from places like PSA. Happy customer here!
plarmigan is offline  
post #29480 of 51888 Old 10-27-2016, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,192
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 9176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
PM Sent.
Just get a rocketfish wireless unit and you can move it all over to hell and back.
oneeyeblind and ahblaza like this.
basshead81 is offline  
post #29481 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 03:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parkview, IA
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1179 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sekosche View Post
I'd definitely go for the V3600 in that space then, and because of your listening habits and currently needing to add so much bass boost. Since you're coming from a ported ultra, you'd likely lose a lot of low end response below 30Hz switching to a sealed S3600 in a room that large. For that reason, being between 4-6k^3ft, I'd definitely stick with the V3600 for its much higher output around port tune unless you can place several more powerful sealed subs around the room.
Agree with Sekosche,
that is a lot of area. I do not think you will be let down by the V3600, you will just be wiped out
lizrussspike is offline  
post #29482 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,192
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 9176
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlnoiku View Post
Has anyone installed the new ICE upgrade PSA's got going out?

Just curious if it'll be a noticeable improvement on my XV15.
I have on all three of my XV15's. They started life as original XV15 with base plates, then I did the SE upgrade back in 2014 which was a noticeable improvement in SQ and 20hz output(+5db). However it traded extension for those gains....still a win in my book.

Fast forward to a few more the back, Tom contacted me a about being a guinea pig for the ICE amp upgrade, so I oblidged. With the ICE amp, I kept my 20hz output, maybe a slight drop of 1db tops, extension increased back to 14hz in my room, and the decay and transients improved even further.

The ICE amp does make a lot of switching and clicking noises(not a big issue just have to get use to it). you will most likely have to change your calibration if you keep the sub trim much below -3 or else the amps go in and out of standby at low volumes. Solution, buy a y adapter and use both inputs or keep the sub trim in the 0-+3db range post calibration.

Moral of they Story, yes its a solid upgrade and relatively cheap upgrade to renew your warranty and have that warm and fuzzy new sub feels.
Hopinater and hlnoiku like this.
basshead81 is offline  
post #29483 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by basshead81 View Post
Solution, buy a y adapter and use both inputs
So you have one cable going from your receiver to the sub, with the y-adapter at the sub going in to both inputs?
Bill Kentucky is online now  
post #29484 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,192
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 9176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
So you have one cable going from your receiver to the sub, with the y-adapter at the sub going in to both inputs?
No I don't currently, but yes that is how you would do it. It double the input voltage to the amp making it more sensitive.
basshead81 is offline  
post #29485 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by basshead81 View Post
No I don't currently, but yes that is how you would do it. It double the input voltage to the amp making it more sensitive.
I get a pretty loud hum when I do that, which is why I was wondering. I still have to try and isolate what is causing the hum. I haven't had time to run a new, dedicated circuit for the subs to see if getting them off the same circuit as everything else helps.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
post #29486 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 13,192
Mentioned: 186 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 9176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
I get a pretty loud hum when I do that, which is why I was wondering. I still have to try and isolate what is causing the hum. I haven't had time to run a new, dedicated circuit for the subs to see if getting them off the same circuit as everything else helps.


Could be something with the amp...if I touch one of the screws by the gain pot, I get a hum...Tom said it's no big deal as they have seen that before. My other 2 amps do not replicate the same issue tho. Figured I would just roll with it...not like I sit there with my finger on the amp screw.
basshead81 is offline  
post #29487 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kentucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by basshead81 View Post
Could be something with the amp...if I touch one of the screws by the gain pot, I get a hum...Tom said it's no big deal as they have seen that before. My other 2 amps do not replicate the same issue tho. Figured I would just roll with it...not like I sit there with my finger on the amp screw.
I also get a hum if I run a y-adapter on my v1500 too, although it's much quieter. The hum on the v3600i is loud enough to hear over the audio. It's something on the Right channel, as I don't get it plugged in to only the left channel. I want to eliminate any issues with my setup causing it before I start looking at the amp (as I get it on both subs).

Last edited by Bill Kentucky; 10-28-2016 at 08:29 AM.
Bill Kentucky is online now  
post #29488 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kentucky View Post
So you have one cable going from your receiver to the sub, with the y-adapter at the sub going in to both inputs?
Not basshead, but that is what I do. I have a Mediabridge 25-ft cable from the AVR coupled to a Mediabridge 15-ft Y-cable which plugs into both inputs of my V-1800. Works perfectly for me.
Tom Ames is offline  
post #29489 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,617
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6284 Post(s)
Liked: 5615
Quote:
Originally Posted by maseline_98 View Post
Is this what you mean:
https://www.minidsp.com/applications...dmi-on-windows
and use the center channel(Kilpsch RC-7)? I'm guessing that I should run my UMC-200 in "flat"(without EQ)
Yes, that link is the basic "How-to" for REW+HDMI, but AustinJerry's guide is much more in-depth (linked in my sig).

Yes, you want to measure the CC+sub (with bass management engaged) to see how they interact over the crossover region.

Generally, unless you are trying to diagnose a particular issue, you want to measure the system set up as you would listen. In this case, you want the EQ engaged and set to how you use it when you are listening.

Quote:
Sorry for my n00bness. I should have mentioned this before, but I received my mic from Cross Specrum Labs and did the calibration with 'narrow_band_response_90_degree'. I'm not even sure that is correct.
Correct, as long as you have the mic pointed at the ceiling.

Please review AustinJerry's REW guide, a lot of these basic questions are answered within.
oneeyeblind likes this.
Alan P is online now  
post #29490 of 51888 Old 10-28-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
maseline_98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Yes, that link is the basic "How-to" for REW+HDMI, but AustinJerry's guide is much more in-depth (linked in my sig).

Yes, you want to measure the CC+sub (with bass management engaged) to see how they interact over the crossover region.

Generally, unless you are trying to diagnose a particular issue, you want to measure the system set up as you would listen. In this case, you want the EQ engaged and set to how you use it when you are listening.



Correct, as long as you have the mic pointed at the ceiling.

Please review AustinJerry's REW guide, a lot of these basic questions are answered within.
Thanks I will give it a try later after the family goes to bed tonight.

I actually thought you wanted me to check the CC to see if it gave off better bass results from that location(truth be told). I have considered of moving the sub to the front stage and placing the center channel on it(I saw a picture that somebody had it that way, but had duals ). That would take some wiring and a WAF, but it could be do-able.
maseline_98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
chuffitychuffchuff , chuffmaster , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver , Denon Avr X4000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , hr chuff'n'stuff , Power Sound Audio , Power Sound Audio Triax , psa , Room Equilizer Wizard Rew , s3000i , s7201 , tv36 , v1500 , V1800 , v1801 , V3600i , Velodyne Sms 1 In Room Bass Correction Kit With Included Microphone , Xs30 , Xv15

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off