Crown XLS DriveCore 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 04-29-2015, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 245 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1508
Crown XLS DriveCore 2

Don't know if this has been mentioned but there's a new amp on the horizon which I believe to be noteworthy for a number of reason. As many of us here, I've been waiting on an amp that fits my criteria of a good sub amp, Quiet Fan, High Sensitivity, OnBoard Usable DSP, Remote Turn On and Good Looks. While these don't give us the 12V remote, it has a good many features. First is the switchable sensitivity between 1.4v and .775v which will eliminate the gain stage incompatibility issues that mixing home and pro sound gear bring to the table. Of course the improved onboard DSP eliminates yet another component in the signal chain which is always a good thing. So if the new versions fans remain as quiet as series one's fan, we could have a winner here, especially with the new, much improved looks. Cost appears to be the same.



coolrda is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 04-29-2015, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 245 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1508
Looking at the back of the amp it could actually have a remote trigger. The brochure says it does but IT could be some type of prosound trigger I'm unfamiliar with. Heres hoping.
coolrda is online now  
post #3 of 42 Old 04-29-2015, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 245 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1508
coolrda is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 42 Old 04-30-2015, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NWCgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 3,625
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1283 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
The ability to turn off all the LED's is nice! Looks like they know there customer base is expanding and are responding (trigger, ability to turn off the lights, etc.).

Now I have a conundrum, I just bought a XLS 1500 with plans to buy at least three more. Looks like I may be selling it and getting 4 of the newer models. Would be cool if the expanded DSP has PEQ but the info is pretty scanty so far.

______________________________________
Home Theater:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...sement-ht.html
NWCgrad is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 04-30-2015, 09:08 AM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2729
I wonder if the DSP is as powerful as the DSi DSP ?
Mfusick is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 05-01-2015, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 3,045
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1312 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I wonder if the DSP is as powerful as the DSi DSP ?
I doubt there's any PEQ.

Quote from the product page:
Quote:
Higher DSP capabilities: More control; has band pass filter per channel
...that's all ?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 07-09-2015, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
AV Hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greater Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 79
HP filter is removable.
Better x-over range and setings.

Last edited by AV Hack; 07-09-2015 at 04:22 PM.
AV Hack is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 07-09-2015, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,417
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3311 Post(s)
Liked: 3421
The XLS series to date has included a 20 Hz roll-off so this amp might not be suitable for subwoofers.

YMMV - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 07-09-2015, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,357
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
The XLS series to date has included a 20 Hz roll-off so this amp might not be suitable for subwoofers.
No it doesn't. This is an internet urban legend started by some clueless Crown employees.
Stereodude is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 07-09-2015, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,417
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3311 Post(s)
Liked: 3421
Hmmm... The clueless Crown employee I spoke with was Aaron, feel free to call him. He had to check, then followed up because he had the roll-off incorrect (second-order vs. fourth-order depending on whether DSP is used or not).

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 07-11-2015, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,357
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
Hmmm... The clueless Crown employee I spoke with was Aaron, feel free to call him. He had to check, then followed up because he had the roll-off incorrect (second-order vs. fourth-order depending on whether DSP is used or not).
And a different forum member called and spoke to someone else at Crown and was told there wasn't one. I can't find the post right now though.

I trust my measurements more than I trust some random Crown employee who answers the phone. My measurements when testing the amps for a subsonic impedance dip overload issue clearly demonstrate there is no high pass filter at 20Hz. If there were the problem I measured wouldn't exist. I had to implement a HPF on the input to stop the behavior. Further, I did compare the measured in room frequency response to a QSC amp I measured flat to ~2.5Hz and didn't find any noteworthy differences.
Stereodude is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 07-11-2015, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2118
As stereodude points out--the proof is in the testing

I own a 2014 Crown XTi1002 for my garage speakers and have the limiter set to -2.5dB both for speaker, hearing and not going to jail protection. It drives the mid/highs as I have subwoofer plate amps for the subs.

Although I own a Crown, I'm not a fanboy as the proof is in the testing. Not feeling positive about this as Crown tends to be better at marketing and not very forthcoming with the specifications. The "DSP" is a bandpass filter which would be great if it could be used as a 15Hz high pass ASSuming the amplifier can put out full power that low.

I'll be in the market for a 300 to 600 WPC PA amp to push two (or four) subs in the next year or two--eagerly await testing of the "new" Crowns.
18Hurts is online now  
post #13 of 42 Old 07-11-2015, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,417
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3311 Post(s)
Liked: 3421
Interesting, and disappointing since I went back and forth several times over a few days to try to get a right answer. We went back and forth on the differences between the DSP settings and such, and he said he had checked with other engineers. Argh. Oh well, proof's in the measurements. I have never owned a QSC amp, and the only Crown XLS I have used are in our church sound system where a separate amp does sub frequencies. I don't have one around to measure. I was told that, while the XLS series had filters (both subsonic and ultrasonic), the XTi series does not. I do not know since I have not measured them.

I have used Crown amps in pro installs and for sound reinforcement work for decades but only rarely had one in my personal stereo (AV, now) system.

My apologies for doubting, but I had read all the same stuff, and thought I had gotten the right answer. - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 07-24-2015, 09:42 AM
Member
 
mwne2nks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to Musicians Friend, I am the proud owner of 2 XLS 1000. They were on closeout for $ 149.00 each. I plan to power 4 12" subs ohmed down to 4. This should give me about 1100 per side .If I don't like them I'll repurpose them to drive the outside speakers.
mwne2nks is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 08-07-2015, 10:04 AM
Member
 
worldturning75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've had the new Crown XLS 2502 for several days which has replaced an XLS 2000.

Aesthetically, I do like the overall look, but I find the 2 front blue led's and the lcd screen to be too bright and somewhat annoying in my HTS setup so I have them set to sleep after 5 minutes. I wish they kept the small blue light on the power button from the gen 1 xls series. The signal presence indicators cannot be put to sleep.

Last edited by worldturning75; 08-07-2015 at 10:08 AM.
worldturning75 is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 08-07-2015, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,417
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3311 Post(s)
Liked: 3421
Black electrical tape works over the LEDs. You could also cover the display, but in the past my solution for that has been a piece of black construction paper taped across the top like a hinge so I can flip it up if I need to see the display. Otherwise it's hidden behind the cardboard. I make it a little oversize to reduce light bleed from the edges.

You could also use translucent tape or sheets to tone them down without hiding them completely.

HTH - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 08-10-2015, 01:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Speed Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 47
If electrical tape is too extreme, just pick up one of those lighting gel color sample books, cut or punch out some of the appropriately dark colors, and glue or scotch tape them over the LEDs as needed. That's what I do to tone down those obnoxious baby blue lights that every hipster loves and I hate.

You get what you pay for.  For professional advice, pay the professional rate.
Speed Daemon is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 08-10-2015, 12:20 PM
Member
 
worldturning75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Don and Speed Daemon.

I do usually go the electrical or masking tape route with the obnoxious blinking lights on my routers/access points.

If you look at the DriveCore 2 pictures from the original post, the lights are much brighter in actuality, imo. The actual signal lights aren't bad, but the two blue solid lights on the front and lcd screen are. I just have the lcd screen set to sleep right now.
worldturning75 is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 08-22-2015, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Any reason to. It use this series for LCR duty or is there a better series for LCR?
DotJun is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 08-22-2015, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Borneo Island
Posts: 3,045
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1312 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Any reason to. It use this series for LCR duty or is there a better series for LCR?
If you need RCA consumer level (0.775v) input , I think this is the best so far. All the other models require a pro level (1.4v) input, except the XLi models
Skylinestar is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 09-03-2015, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
crimsonblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Maryland/DC/VA
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I am going to be adding in some 18" subs in the near future and I was wondering how people think these new Crown amps compare to the iNuke DSP series? I have the [now]-old version of the Crown XLS series and they are great, but I do want to make sure that there is some DSP on my sub amps.

Does anyone have any thoughts on how they might compare?

________________________________________________
Home theater build 1 | Black & Grey Theater 2 | Yet Unnamed Theater 3
Marantz AV7702mkII | Epson 5040 | 7.2.4 Elusive 1099 LCR + Volt 8 Atmos & Surrounds + Dual UM18 Subs
crimsonblue is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 09-04-2015, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2118
From the information I have gathered...

The amp sections are the same, they added a bandpass function for the crossover, added 12V turn on, added 0.775V RCA level inputs, can switch off the output lights and made it black. It would be a GREAT amp for mains as long as DSP and below 20Hz does not matter.

It is fine as a PA amp but is lacking in two things for HT use: true DSP and ability to go below 20Hz without limiting. The proof of what it can do will come out when it's bench tested--maybe it can do infrasound--maybe. Still, no DSP to adjust for sealed EQ or protect ported subs down in the teens.

This might change in the future with the continued march of EDM--after all, Harmon is more concerned with the needs of the PA market over some nut cases trying to put IMAX in the basement.
18Hurts is online now  
post #23 of 42 Old 10-10-2015, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
biliam1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Undiscovered Country
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Anyone figure out how to use the auto-on feature?
biliam1982 is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 10-20-2015, 01:14 AM
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,231
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4797
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post
Hello, i will use the XLS1000 to drive the woofers of a Klipsch RP280FA (no subwoofer in use), tweeters will be done by a Denon X7200WA, so it will be a Bi-amp setup.
Can anyone tell me what Crossover mode i must select on the XLS, and what frequency ?
Are you taking the passive crossover components out of the speakers?

ps What happened to your subs you made?
lovinthehd is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 10-20-2015, 02:39 AM
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,231
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4797
You're giving your speakers full range signal now if you bi-amp them as you're leaving the passive components in the speakers, so continue to give them a full range signal. I suppose you could try and put a low pass setting on the Crown to limit the range for additional power via upping the gain on the Crown, but how are you sure you will get enough signal to be able to significantly raise the gain to act in the range you want? Seems like a waste of time to me.

ps You shouldn't hijack threads, particularly when you aren't even talking the same model range as this thread. Start one.

Last edited by lovinthehd; 10-20-2015 at 02:55 AM.
lovinthehd is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 11-15-2015, 03:27 PM
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by worldturning75 View Post
I've had the new Crown XLS 2502 for several days which has replaced an XLS 2000. Aesthetically, I do like the overall look, but I find the 2 front blue led's and the lcd screen to be too bright and somewhat annoying in my HTS setup so I have them set to sleep after 5 minutes. I wish they kept the small blue light on the power button from the gen 1 xls series. The signal presence indicators cannot be put to sleep.
Do they sound different? What speakers and pre/pro do you have?
wse is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 11-20-2015, 02:18 PM
Member
 
worldturning75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Do they sound different? What speakers and pre/pro do you have?
In my opinion, no difference in sound between the DriveCore 1 & 2's and I guess there really shouldn't be any difference.

Currently using a pair of PSA MTM-210 speakers for L/R. I also have a pair of Paradigm Signature S8's that I used to run with a Crown XLS-2000.
worldturning75 is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 12-02-2015, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kschmit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wow, haven't logged in here for years.

Can anyone who owns a XLS DriveCore 2 series amp please do me a favor and look what the lowest frequencies are that can be selected in bandpass mode.

I'm converting Klipsch KSP-400 speakers to external amplification for the bass section and therefore I'm looking for an amp that can set to a bandpass filter to allow around 20 Hz - 100 Hz to feed my 15 inch subs.

If there is no way to select a lower limit in the 20 Hz range, I can just as well go with the 1500 instead of the 1502 and mate it with something like a Reckhorn B-1.

Any help would be appreciated.
kschmit2 is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 12-02-2015, 01:38 PM
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 16,231
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4588 Post(s)
Liked: 4797
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschmit2 View Post
Wow, haven't logged in here for years.

Can anyone who owns a XLS DriveCore 2 series amp please do me a favor and look what the lowest frequencies are that can be selected in bandpass mode.

I'm converting Klipsch KSP-400 speakers to external amplification for the bass section and therefore I'm looking for an amp that can set to a bandpass filter to allow around 20 Hz - 100 Hz to feed my 15 inch subs.

If there is no way to select a lower limit in the 20 Hz range, I can just as well go with the 1500 instead of the 1502 and mate it with something like a Reckhorn B-1.

Any help would be appreciated.
It will be in the manual just like it is for the 1500, wouldn't it?
lovinthehd is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 12-02-2015, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kschmit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
It will be in the manual just like it is for the 1500, wouldn't it?
For the record: I checked the manual before posting, and unlike the manual for the XLS DriveCore 1 series, the manual for the XLS DriveCore 2 series does not contain the relevant information.
(http://rdn.harmanpro.com/product_doc...5_original.pdf)
I wouldn't have asked here if the information was readily available.
kschmit2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off