SVS Unleashes 16-Ultra Series Subwoofers Featuring 8" Voice Coil Drivers - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2818Likes

post #3841 of 3934 Old 12-22-2017, 04:58 AM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Is the consensus here that SVS SB16 Ultra is the best large sub for the price for 2 ch music only (no ht)?

Speakers are Revel f208

Don’t the large drive subs are “too slow” when it comes to music use only?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #3842 of 3934 Old 12-22-2017, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Quoted: 3499 Post(s)
Liked: 1955
Quote:
Originally Posted by thyname View Post
Is the consensus here that SVS SB16 Ultra is the best large sub for the price for 2 ch music only (no ht)?

Speakers are Revel f208

I think the SB16 Ultra is exactly that. Good for many folks' use in HT too. I don't own one but have auditioned the SB16 Ultra at my dealer. I'm no expert but believe its huge voice coil combined with a powerful amp allows it to be a fast-acting sub. I also believe that with the voice coil attached to the cone at about the midpoint of its surface area rather than down near the center helps with less physical distortion of the cone and a "cleaner" sound during long-excursion passages.

Purely conjecture on my part, but sounds good to me.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, R50, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758v3 AVR, LG UP875 4K BlueRay, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer. Office: NAD M10, KEF LS50, KEF Kube 10b, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red. Guest room: Hafler 300 L-R, KEF Reference Model 100 center, KEF iQ10 surrounds, modded M&K V-90 sub, Bluesound Vault 2.
post #3843 of 3934 Old 12-22-2017, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM10759 View Post