Found an Onkyo SKW-150, Any Good? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 05-18-2017, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Found an Onkyo SKW-150, Any Good?

Found a subwoofer in my parents basement. I know it's old, but I'm wondering if anybody is familiar with it, or if based on its ratings you could give me some info.

I'm a complete novice so I have no idea, but it is an Onkyo SKW-150, Ratings - AC 120V, 60Hz, and 75W.

Any help is appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-18-2017, 11:26 AM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 187
It's from one of Onkyo's HTIB systems (SKS-HT230). It's an 8-inch, 75W RMS/150W peak power sub so it probably isn't going to pack much of a punch, but it might be enough for a small room. It's probably worth about $50 on ebay/craigslist.
post #3 of 4 Old 05-18-2017, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by godfatherip View Post
It's from one of Onkyo's HTIB systems (SKS-HT230). It's an 8-inch, 75W RMS/150W peak power sub so it probably isn't going to pack much of a punch, but it might be enough for a small room. It's probably worth about $50 on ebay/craigslist.

Well that's a little disappointing. But I did just purchase a bunch of speakers and a receiver for an atmos setup, and I was holding off on a sub for now because I live in an apartment and I don't want to bother my neighbors, so a little sub like that could be fine for now.

One thing I noticed though was that the subwoofer that's part of the HTIB package is an SKW-150X. Mine doesn't have the X. I'm guessing Onkyo also sold the sub by itself, and that is the one I have.

Thanks for the info.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 4 Old 05-18-2017, 12:57 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpalermo View Post