Velodyne HGS 10 connection question - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Alan P
  • 1 Post By Alan P
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
henrylr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Velodyne HGS 10 connection question

Hi all,

My source is an OPPO BDP-95 which is 7.1 capable. My system is 2.1 and the OPPO FR and FL outputs are connected to a preamp that is connected to a two channel amp powering the front speakers. The OPPO has only one RCA output for SW. My Velodyne HGS 10 sub has two RCA inputs labeled left and right. What is the correct way to connect that one cable to the Velodyne?

Thanks,
henrylr
henrylr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,288
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3625 Post(s)
Liked: 2058
my hgs 12 gets connected with 1 rca cable to input...you can use a rca splitter and connect both inputs on sub

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,288
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3625 Post(s)
Liked: 2058

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
henrylr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure I understand. Is one end of your RCA cable connected to a sub output on one of your sources and do you have a splitter on the other end to connect to the L and R inputs on the HGS 12?
henrylr is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 08:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,288
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3625 Post(s)
Liked: 2058
something like this

https://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-U.../dp/B004EBX5GW

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #6 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
henrylr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm familiar with RCA splitters and have a couple. I was just curious if you used a splitter at the HGS 12.
henrylr is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,288
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3625 Post(s)
Liked: 2058
no i didnt

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #8 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
henrylr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you plug the RCA cable into the left or right HGS 12 input? The Velodyne manual doesn't say anything about using a single cable.
henrylr is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 06-14-2017, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,288
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3625 Post(s)
Liked: 2058
it doesnt matter

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #10 of 17 Old 06-15-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,955
Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6534 Post(s)
Liked: 5879
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrylr View Post
Hi all,

My source is an OPPO BDP-95 which is 7.1 capable. My system is 2.1 and the OPPO FR and FL outputs are connected to a preamp that is connected to a two channel amp powering the front speakers. The OPPO has only one RCA output for SW. My Velodyne HGS 10 sub has two RCA inputs labeled left and right. What is the correct way to connect that one cable to the Velodyne?

Thanks,
henrylr
Does the OPPO have the ability to set a crossover for your speakers when using a subwoofer? If not, you would want to connect the sub the way it is described on the last page of the owners manual.
Alan P is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 06-15-2017, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
henrylr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Does the OPPO have the ability to set a crossover for your speakers when using a subwoofer? If not, you would want to connect the sub the way it is described on the last page of the owners manual.
Thanks for the reply and link to the manual. However I have the manual from when I bought the HGS 10 in 2002. Problem is the manual doesn't have any info or description for connection with only one RCA cable and the two inputs are only labeled L and R.

I talked with an OPPO tech and was told the OPPO does have adjustable SW crossover capability. I was also told the OPPO combines all LFE from both right and left channels and that is what is sent to the OPPO SW RCA output.

So question remains is there a best way to connect the sub with only one cable. One reply I got said it doesn't matter which input the cables goes to. I'm surprised the manual only describes a two cable setup. I should probably call Velodyne.

Thanks,
henrylr
henrylr is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 06-15-2017, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,955
Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6534 Post(s)
Liked: 5879
You are usually just fine using the L or R input when using a single subwoofer cable, but if you are worried about it just get a simple y-splitter (as mentioned above) and connect to both inputs.

Make sure you set the crossover in the OPPO to an appropriate setting for your particular speakers and set the "X-over" to "Out" on the sub.
Alan P is online now  
post #13 of 17 Old 06-15-2017, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
henrylr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. I have been using it with one cable connected to the left input and the xover set to out for about ten years.
I don't remember why I connected it like that and the manual was no help since it only shows and describes one setup using two cables. Just thought I would ask if my one cable connection was OK.

Thanks,
henrylr
henrylr is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-18-2019, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
... you would want to connect the sub the way it is described on the last page of the owner's manual.

Sorry to resurrect this thread but it comes up at the top of my searching.


I have a new (to me) HGS-10 as well. A hand-me-down from my cousin, thanks cuz!






I got a couple relevant question that I hope adds value to this thread:

  • If one was to connect this sub from the main speaker line out per the manual, vs the mono sub out wouldn't they lose the DSP sub signals in a multi speaker HT setup, e.g. Atmos, DTS, etc?
  • If so would it matter? Not sure how much it would take away from the HT experience.


Thanks in advance for any insight.
NTTD is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-18-2019, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,955
Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6534 Post(s)
Liked: 5879
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTTD View Post
If one was to connect this sub from the main speaker line out per the manual, vs the mono sub out wouldn't they lose the DSP sub signals in a multi speaker HT setup, e.g. Atmos, DTS, etc?
If your AVR/pre-pro has a dedicated subwoofer pre-out, you want to use that. The diagram on the last page of the manual is if you have equipment that lacks a sub out.

To answer your question; you would not lose any "DSP sub signals", but you would lose the redirected bass from the satellite speakers (unless mains were set to LARGE).
NTTD likes this.
Alan P is online now  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-18-2019, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
If your AVR/pre-pro has a dedicated subwoofer pre-out, you want to use that. The diagram on the last page of the manual is if you have equipment that lacks a sub out.

To answer your question; you would not lose any "DSP sub signals", but you would lose the redirected bass from the satellite speakers (unless mains were set to LARGE).



Got it! Always wondered exactly what the difference was in the main "speaker size" in AVR setups.



I figured the sub pre-out was the way to go, but that earlier reply seemed to imply the preferred method was to use the method in the manual.






I too came here to see if the sub output on my AVR should use just one channel (including which one) on the subwoofer, or instead use a wye.
NTTD is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 10-21-2019, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,955
Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6534 Post(s)
Liked: 5879
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTTD View Post
Got it! Always wondered exactly what the difference was in the main "speaker size" in AVR setups.
Unfortunately, years ago AVR manufacturers decided on the terminology of LARGE & SMALL causing much confusion...especially with guys who thought there was no way my speakers are "small".

LARGE = bass management off
SMALL = bass management on

When speakers are set to SMALL, all frequencies below the crossover will be sent to the subwoofer. When set to LARGE, that speaker will get a full-range signal.

If there is a capable subwoofer in the system, all speakers should always be set to SMALL, regardless of the physical size of the speaker.



Quote:
I too came here to see if the sub output on my AVR should use just one channel (including which one) on the subwoofer, or instead use a wye.
Using a y-splitter and connecting to both inputs on the subwoofer plate amp will double the input voltage and raise the output of the sub by 6dB. No, this does not get you "extra" output...it is the same as if you were to turn up the gain on the sub +6dB. The only reason you may need to use a y-splitter with your sub is if your AVR has low output voltage and you are having trouble getting the Auto-On function to work correctly on the sub.
NTTD likes this.
Alan P is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off