Official Monoprice THX Subwoofers - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 654Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
All I know is that they are pretty darn powerful and its from the original SVS guru.

so is your recommendation based on my questions about the monolith 15? is it lacking in some ways?

I was also looking at the rhymtick fv15hp. it looks like the price includes tax but i’m not sure, also the amo doesn’t seem as powerful.

.... so many choices no way to demo easily


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 4,501
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2431 Post(s)
Liked: 5363
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
so is your recommendation based on my questions about the monolith 15? is it lacking in some ways?

I was also looking at the rhymtick fv15hp. it looks like the price includes tax but i’m not sure, also the amo doesn’t seem as powerful.

.... so many choices no way to demo easily


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Amp power is only one part of the equation. The FV15hp can hang with or beat pretty much any other 15 inch subwoofer. It's on data bass. The FVX15 is pretty much the same, just subtract 2 db from all the max output numbers. From what I've read here, many people consider the Monoprice 15 and the FV15hp to be pretty close to each other.

My Stuff.
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
post #1623 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
The Monolith 15 ported isn't lacking in bass. If Monoprice can send you a sub with a working amp and you use settings similar to mine, play the grenade scene in the movie Ready Player One and tell me it lacks bass. Or the movie Aquaman that has bass throughout the movie. If those movies make you think the sub lacks bass then something is wrong with your sub or your settings on the sub or the settings in your AVR. And I'm on a wood floor over a concrete slab.
doni01 likes this.
Spewdom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1624 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
The Monolith 15 ported isn't lacking in bass. If Monoprice can send you a sub with a working amp and you use settings similar to mine, play the grenade scene in the movie Ready Player One and tell me it lacks bass. Or the movie Aquaman that has bass throughout the movie. If those movies make you think the sub lacks bass then something is wrong with your sub or your settings on the sub or the settings in your AVR. And I'm on a wood floor over a concrete slab.
I have to agree with the above.
After my original 15 ported failed on arrival, my replacement is running great.
You definitely feel the bass and I do not play reference levels.
bad1550 is offline  
post #1625 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Swoosh830's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
I would look at the Power Sound Audio V1512.
Or the upcoming TV1512 which will have a lower port tune in the same size cabinet.
Swoosh830 is online now  
post #1626 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
The Monolith 15 ported isn't lacking in bass. If Monoprice can send you a sub with a working amp and you use settings similar to mine, play the grenade scene in the movie Ready Player One and tell me it lacks bass. Or the movie Aquaman that has bass throughout the movie. If those movies make you think the sub lacks bass then something is wrong with your sub or your settings on the sub or the settings in your AVR. And I'm on a wood floor over a concrete slab.

Haven’t figure out multiple quotes yet. But I will probably end up giving it the ported 15 a try, where can I find your settings? You may have posted them in a reply to my question (on phone will check after).

I know another poster said that amp power is not everything. (sure seems nice “bragging rights” at least) 1000 watts vs 600.

I want to be able to blast the sound when needed.

Also I don’t know to much about the servo controlled “gimmick” rhythmic advertises.

I’m guessing by servo controller they mean electronic servomotors. Don’t understand the benefit. Or maybe wouldn’t all drivers have one to move the “cone”.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1627 of 1750 Old 03-31-2020, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 15,133
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4999 Post(s)
Liked: 3020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swoosh830 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
I would look at the Power Sound Audio V1512.
Or the upcoming TV1512 which will have a lower port tune in the same size cabinet.
Dang! That could be a great sub to look at. Of course, manufacturing will probably be delayed due to the very obvious microscopic reason.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #1628 of 1750 Old 04-02-2020, 05:34 AM
Writer & Reviewer
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 128 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2500 Post(s)
Liked: 4003
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
Haven’t figure out multiple quotes yet.
Hit the Multi-Quote button on every post you want to include, and then on the last one also hit the Quote button.
darthray and SuperFist like this.

 
If you take yourself too seriously expect me to do the exact opposite.

BTW, did you really need to quote the entire post?
JimWilson is offline  
post #1629 of 1750 Old 04-02-2020, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimWilson View Post
Hit the Multi-Quote button on every post you want to include, and then on the last one also hit the Quote button.

don’t think it’s available on tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1630 of 1750 Old 04-02-2020, 01:18 PM
Writer & Reviewer
 
JimWilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Somewhere in New Joisey
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 128 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2500 Post(s)
Liked: 4003
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
don’t think it’s available on tapatalk
That's indeed possible. I would never even consider using a forum from my phone so I actually don't know what it shows and what it doesn't.
darthray likes this.

 
If you take yourself too seriously expect me to do the exact opposite.

BTW, did you really need to quote the entire post?
JimWilson is offline  
post #1631 of 1750 Old 04-03-2020, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know the dimensions of the monolith 15 ported version inside its shipping box i want to know if it will fit in the back of my SUV

i know the sealed version fit


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1632 of 1750 Old 04-03-2020, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
Does anyone know the dimensions of the monolith 15 ported version inside its shipping box i want to know if it will fit in the back of my SUV

i know the sealed version fit


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
A couple of pictures, very heavy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	E56BCD44-26ED-45D2-8DF9-CD0C339220EC.png
Views:	104
Size:	1.72 MB
ID:	2705382   Click image for larger version

Name:	29F04FD6-EC1B-4AD9-9FAC-F8DA2F1F5B66.png
Views:	102
Size:	1.70 MB
ID:	2705384  
thetman likes this.
bad1550 is offline  
post #1633 of 1750 Old 04-03-2020, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
Does anyone know the dimensions of the monolith 15 ported version inside its shipping box i want to know if it will fit in the back of my SUV

i know the sealed version fit


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
33" H x 24" W x 37" D
Spewdom is offline  
post #1634 of 1750 Old 04-03-2020, 10:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
33" H x 24" W x 37" D

thanks for the info.

picked up the ported monolith 15.

and... this is the exact same in terms of “”issues”” as the sealed 15 I just returned.

... i’ll probably wait till 29th day to RMA this thing and refund. Don’t much feel like packing it up right now. Probably won’t be buying another sub anytime soon after this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1635 of 1750 Old 04-03-2020, 11:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
33" H x 24" W x 37" D

thanks for the info.

picked up the ported monolith 15.

and... this is the exact same in terms of “”issues”” as the sealed 15 I just returned.

... i’️ll probably wait till 29th day to RMA this thing and refund. Don’️t much feel like packing it up right now. Probably won’️t be buying another sub anytime soon after this.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You already got the ported and its also having amp issues?
Spewdom is offline  
post #1636 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Official Monoprice THX Subwoofers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
You already got the ported and its also having amp issues?

yeah i live near the will call facility

i didn’t have red and green flashing lights if that’s what you mean

but low output currently have gain set to max and subwoofer level in AVR set to -5db

can’t hear a thing unless i put my ear next to it

i did a factory reset on my yamaha rxa 3060 but i don’t think this procedure was full factory reset, because i was firmware 2.xx as soon as i turned it on, unless the update installed really fast

also watched a quiet place and played some Battlefield little to no output

took out a single port plug midway through my gaming session in hopes that that would do something

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by klipsch123; 04-04-2020 at 01:45 AM.
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1637 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
you know if i remember correctly the manual says to set the gain to THX and calibrate. I did this and ypao set the sub level to +2.5

on my klipsch even at 9 o clock ypao would set sub level to -10 or -8

anyhow i’ve tried with gain at 12 o clock and 3 o clock etc..

on the sealed one.

guess i’ll give it a try with this one too.
currently only ran ypao with gain at THX


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1638 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 02:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
You already got the ported and its also having amp issues?

yeah i live near the will call facility

i didn’️t have red and green flashing lights if that’️s what you mean

but low output currently have gain set to max and subwoofer level in AVR set to -5db

can’️t hear a thing unless i put my ear next to it

i did a factory reset on my yamaha rxa 3060 but i don’️t think this procedure was full factory reset, because i was firmware 2.xx as soon as i turned it on, unless the update installed really fast

also watched a quiet place and played some Battlefield little to no output

took out a single port plug midway through my gaming session in hopes that that would do something

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Strange. The bass should have hit hard during A Quiet Place. Not sure what's going on this time. Many Yamaha owners complain about low sub output due to low sub output voltage, but it shouldn't be that bad to where the sub sounds off.
Spewdom is offline  
post #1639 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 02:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
you know if i remember correctly the manual says to set the gain to THX and calibrate. I did this and ypao set the sub level to +2.5

on my klipsch even at 9 o clock ypao would set sub level to -10 or -8

anyhow i’️ve tried with gain at 12 o clock and 3 o clock etc..

on the sealed one.

guess i’️ll give it a try with this one too.
currently only ran ypao with gain at THX


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ignore what they say. Don't put the gain knob to the left where it clicks for THX. Turn the gain knob up before calibration until the sub is placed around -9 to -11dB after calibration and then run it about 5dB hotter.
Spewdom is offline  
post #1640 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,664
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6497 Post(s)
Liked: 4691
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
you know if i remember correctly the manual says to set the gain to THX and calibrate. I did this and ypao set the sub level to +2.5

on my klipsch even at 9 o clock ypao would set sub level to -10 or -8

anyhow i’ve tried with gain at 12 o clock and 3 o clock etc..

on the sealed one.

guess i’ll give it a try with this one too.
currently only ran ypao with gain at THX
What crossover frequency is being used for the front L, C, and R speakers, what are they, and are these crossover values YPAO's findings untouched or have you overridden YPAO's findings and set these yourself?
m. zillch is offline  
post #1641 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,664
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6497 Post(s)
Liked: 4691
Also what is phase set to? I just read the manual and their guidelines on this are written from the perspective of how things worked in the 1990s, i.e., horrible advice in modern times with AVRs including microphone based auto-calibration such as YPAO.
m. zillch is offline  
post #1642 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Official Monoprice THX Subwoofers

Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
What crossover frequency is being used for the front L, C, and R speakers, what are they, and are these crossover values YPAO's findings untouched or have you overridden YPAO's findings and set these yourself?

i set crossover on all the speakers at 80hz after setting them to small. I do this after ypao does it’s thing. Ypao sets them to large. I have two klipsch rp160m and a rp450c center. So yeah i overwrite them.

i have a klipsch sub12hg subwoofer was always able to get output out of that thing with these settings.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
klipsch123 is offline  
post #1643 of 1750 Old 04-04-2020, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14,664
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6497 Post(s)
Liked: 4691
Klipsch speakers as a class generally have a higher efficiency than most. Your speakers, for example, are rated as 96dB/1 watt/1m which is on the high side, let's say by +6dB to keep the math easy.

Knowing people who buy their subs are likely people who also buy their speakers, it would make sense for them to design their subs such that the often recommended "half rotation/12 noon" level setting has a 6dB higher actual SPL output than other brands so to a Klipsch system owner they'd find everything jives with what they've read on-line about starting off at "half rotation".

Your finding you need to crank the level knob up by (say) ~6dB, or more, when using a different brand of sub is not surprising and should not be a reason for concern: Different brands, different standards.

Last edited by m. zillch; 04-04-2020 at 01:33 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #1644 of 1750 Old 04-06-2020, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
badtlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Have any of the recent amp issues plagued the 12" ported Monolith? I'm debating between this sub and a Rythmik LVX12. I like the looks of the Monolith a bit better but it seems there may be some quality issues right now. Can anyone confirm?

Front: Polk S55
Center: Polk S30
Rear: Polk S10
Sub: P̶L̶-̶2̶0̶0̶I̶I̶ | (̶2̶)̶ ̶F̶V̶X̶1̶2̶ | V1812
badtlc is online now  
post #1645 of 1750 Old 04-06-2020, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,822
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Have any of the recent amp issues plagued the 12" ported Monolith? I'm debating between this sub and a Rythmik LVX12. I like the looks of the Monolith a bit better but it seems there may be some quality issues right now. Can anyone confirm?
I have read about Monoprice subs suffering from mold. Haven't heard about mold with any other subs.
spyboy is online now  
post #1646 of 1750 Old 04-06-2020, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Have any of the recent amp issues plagued the 12" ported Monolith? I'm debating between this sub and a Rythmik LVX12. I like the looks of the Monolith a bit better but it seems there may be some quality issues right now. Can anyone confirm?
I have read about Monoprice subs suffering from mold. Haven't heard about mold with any other subs.
That was just one person though, correct?

More likely to have an amp issue than mold. Don't know if Monoprice received a bad batch of amps, but there has been several users at AVS receiving Monolith subs with bad amps. My first Monolith in 2018 had the amp go bad after around 3 weeks, but the replacement has been going strong with zero issues (knock on HDF) since receiving it.

Guess you could chance it since replacement is free. I'm waiting for Monoprice to hopefully get that sorted out (maybe it's not as bad as it seems), COVID-19 to be over, and a sale on the ported version before I possibly grab a second.
Spewdom is offline  
post #1647 of 1750 Old 04-06-2020, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
badtlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
That was just one person though, correct?

More likely to have an amp issue than mold. Don't know if Monoprice received a bad batch of amps, but there has been several users at AVS receiving Monolith subs with bad amps. My first Monolith in 2018 had the amp go bad after around 3 weeks, but the replacement has been going strong with zero issues (knock on HDF) since receiving it.

Guess you could chance it since replacement is free. I'm waiting for Monoprice to hopefully get that sorted out (maybe it's not as bad as it seems), COVID-19 to be over, and a sale on the ported version before I possibly grab a second.

Do you have to pay shipping for any replacements?

Front: Polk S55
Center: Polk S30
Rear: Polk S10
Sub: P̶L̶-̶2̶0̶0̶I̶I̶ | (̶2̶)̶ ̶F̶V̶X̶1̶2̶ | V1812
badtlc is online now  
post #1648 of 1750 Old 04-06-2020, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
That was just one person though, correct?

More likely to have an amp issue than mold. Don't know if Monoprice received a bad batch of amps, but there has been several users at AVS receiving Monolith subs with bad amps. My first Monolith in 2018 had the amp go bad after around 3 weeks, but the replacement has been going strong with zero issues (knock on HDF) since receiving it.

Guess you could chance it since replacement is free. I'm waiting for Monoprice to hopefully get that sorted out (maybe it's not as bad as it seems), COVID-19 to be over, and a sale on the ported version before I possibly grab a second.

Do you have to pay shipping for any replacements?
I didn't pay anything for the replacement. Shipping was covered by Monoprice. Several others here also paid nothing for their replacement. You can try to contact them and ask if where you live will also be free so you know for sure. I'd be surprised if it isn't free.
Spewdom is offline  
post #1649 of 1750 Old 04-06-2020, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
doni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: New England
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by klipsch123 View Post
yeah i live near the will call facility

i didn’t have red and green flashing lights if that’s what you mean

but low output currently have gain set to max and subwoofer level in AVR set to -5db

can’t hear a thing unless i put my ear next to it

i did a factory reset on my yamaha rxa 3060 but i don’t think this procedure was full factory reset, because i was firmware 2.xx as soon as i turned it on, unless the update installed really fast

also watched a quiet place and played some Battlefield little to no output

took out a single port plug midway through my gaming session in hopes that that would do something

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am sorry but this is user error. I have two of the 12's and they shake my basement along with the house. There is posts on these thread with guys having the same issue as you till they dial them in correctly. Then they come back very very happy. I also was using a Klipsch R-112sw prior, well still am ( different room ) and let me tell you, big difference between the two!! Read the thread below, it will help you with setting it up correctly:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/113-s...eferences.html

Home Theatre: Marantz SR7012 | Emotiva BassX A-300 | Ascend CMT-340 SE Front L/C/R | Klipsch R-14S Surround Side L/R | Klipsch R-41M Surround Rear L/R | Klipsch CDT-3650-C ii Atmos | Dual Monolith 12 Subwoofers | Sony BDP-S6700 | Minix NEO U9-H |

Music: Denon AVR-S910W | Klipsch RP8000F | Klipsch R-112SW Subwoofer |
doni01 is offline  
post #1650 of 1750 Old 04-07-2020, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Laserfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 4,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by doni01 View Post
I am sorry but this is user error. I have two of the 12's and they shake my basement along with the house. There is posts on these thread with guys having the same issue as you till they dial them in correctly. Then they come back very very happy. I also was using a Klipsch R-112sw prior, well still am ( different room ) and let me tell you, big difference between the two!! Read the thread below, it will help you with setting it up correctly:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/113-s...eferences.html
Thanks but...yikes that looks like a college course in subwoofers. There must be a basic 1...2...3... that discusses the basics? I might've guessed for example that an out-of-phase setting would be key by actually REDUCING the bass-output of an entire system.

Someone here could probably tell the basics off the top of his/her head.

But I will bookmark that guide for when I have a week to look at it...
Laserfan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
bestsubs , better than psa , monolith 12" thx ultra 500w sub , monolith 15" thx ultra 1000w sub , psa sucks

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off