Velodyne sub won't power after connecting 12v trigger to remote input - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-11-2018, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Velodyne sub won't power after connecting 12v trigger to remote input

I got the brilliant idea to auto trigger my Velodyne HGS-15 with my receiver's (Yamaha AV-R2050) remote trigger out. It didn't work and now my (aging, but otherwise perfect) sub doesn't power on. Did I fry something by doing this? It would be an incredible coincidence that it suddenly failed after several years of second-hand ownership right at the very moment I plug up a trigger cable that I now know isn't the right way to go.

Thanks for your collective help...
Breddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-11-2018, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've posted this question to the official Velodyne support thread. I don't see a way to delete this but mods are welcome to do so.
Breddy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-13-2018, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,407
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3305 Post(s)
Liked: 3407
I do not see a trigger input in the HGS-15 manual, just a remote IR input. What did you plug the trigger line into?

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 08-13-2018, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
I do not see a trigger input in the HGS-15 manual, just a remote IR input. What did you plug the trigger line into?
Thanks for the reply.

Plugged it into that, not realizing what it was for. Definitely my mistake. I'm sending it out to EBC which I found by perusing the big Velodyne thread in this forum.
Breddy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-13-2018, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 12,407
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3305 Post(s)
Liked: 3407
OK, hope it all works out.

I might have expected the IR circuit to have fried, but would not have expected it to take out the rest of the circuits. Maybe it is along the way and by taking out the IR remote sensor it disrupted the main turn-on path.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-13-2018, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
OK, hope it all works out.

I might have expected the IR circuit to have fried, but would not have expected it to take out the rest of the circuits. Maybe it is along the way and by taking out the IR remote sensor it disrupted the main turn-on path.
I was also scratching my head about why that would cause the whole thing to crap the bed, but alas. I should have it back in a week or so!
Breddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off