* Offical Velodyne Support Thread * - Page 362 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 88Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10831 of 10872 Old 07-25-2019, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namelessd View Post
Hello,
could someone help me with my pre-owned velodyne spl-1200 ultra, mfgd in 2008, serial number 682591001? If it was left connect to AC power with main switch on, after a while (like 6-10 hours), it's stops to give any sounds. If I leave it for few hours with main switch off, then it's start to work normally for another few hours. Auto power settings doesn't affect that behavior. When it is in this faulty mode, it's still can sense incoming signal (when auto power on option is selected, volume indicator turn's on when sub detects incoming signal).
I will really appreciate if someone can send me electronic schematics of this unit. I already sent an email to service at velodyne dot com, but no reply yet for almost a week now.
If you visit the Velodyne Acoustics website you’ll find two authorized service providers who may be able to advise you.
M-dB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10832 of 10872 Old 07-28-2019, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
For some time one of my HGS-15s has needed repair because it makes chuffing sounds, and today I discovered my other HGS-15 does not reliably trigger on with a LF signal. So that's two big subs to lug to LA for service. I recently discovered that one of my HGS-10s made clacking sounds when the SMS-1 ran acoustic room correction. Is it worth lugging the HGS-10 to LA as well? These subs have served well for decades, but I wonder if it's time for newer subs.

db
dbphd is offline  
post #10833 of 10872 Old 07-28-2019, 04:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,770
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
For some time one of my HGS-15s has needed repair because it makes chuffing sounds, and today I discovered my other HGS-15 does not reliably trigger on with a LF signal. So that's two big subs to lug to LA for service. I recently discovered that one of my HGS-10s made clacking sounds when the SMS-1 ran acoustic room correction. Is it worth lugging the HGS-10 to LA as well? These subs have served well for decades, but I wonder if it's time for newer subs.

db
Consider new subs. Rythmik makes their own version of servo subs that will blow away old Velodynes, that were awesome in their time, but time moves on.


http://www.rythmikaudio.com
Mike Butny likes this.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10834 of 10872 Old 07-30-2019, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
mobileES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Got a strange issue with my VA-1215XII, AVR has the LPF set at 120hz, I have the bypass toggle switched on. I notice the bass output is very little, so I flipped the toggle to use the internal x-over which is set at 120hz as well, bass response is instantly improved.

Thinking it may be my AVR, I tried the same thing with my VA-1012XII, no difference in response using the int/ext x-over. Wondering if there is an issue with my 1215XII x-over and bypass toggle.

Dolby Atmos 7.1.4 | Samsung 65" 4K KS8000 Series | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player | Sony DVP-S7700 DVD Player | Onkyo TX-NR3030 Atmos Network Receiver | Energy Veritas 6.3 mains | Energy C-C1 center | Energy C-R100 surround sides and backs | (4) Energy Take Classic satellites heights | Velodyne VA 1215 XII Sub
mobileES is offline  
post #10835 of 10872 Old 08-04-2019, 12:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
For some time one of my HGS-15s has needed repair because it makes chuffing sounds, and today I discovered my other HGS-15 does not reliably trigger on with a LF signal. So that's two big subs to lug to LA for service. I recently discovered that one of my HGS-10s made clacking sounds when the SMS-1 ran acoustic room correction. Is it worth lugging the HGS-10 to LA as well? These subs have served well for decades, but I wonder if it's time for newer subs.

db
It's not official but it seems a forgone conclusion that Velodyne Lidar is a far greater business opportunity than making Hi-Fi subwoofers. George Meyer TV & Stereo in LA may have the experience and the only pipeline of remaining spare parts. I've owned the HGS series and they're long in the tooth.

I would suggest shopping for another brand that will support its product for years to come. Your SMS-1 still offers greater equalization than most other brands current offerings. Be concerned about connectivity options for using multiple subs preferably XLR in's and out's.

Velodyne stopped using its patented servo sensing and control system years ago for a method of control that produced the lowest claimed amount of driver distortion in their DD Plus series along with their third generation of multi-band Auto and Manual Room Optimization and Equalization which is beneficial in a stereo system where matching the main speakers presentation is the goal yet still be able to produce substantially higher output than the menu of $1K fare.

Last edited by M-dB; 08-04-2019 at 12:43 AM.
M-dB is offline  
post #10836 of 10872 Old 08-10-2019, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Well long in the tooth and not caring about the clients aside. I bought a used dsl3750 about 5 weeks ago, then a second, then 2 more in that time total cost 420 bucks. Holy crap. These will be with me until I'm out the house in a pine box.
It does suck that customer service is noexistant but all things pass.
Enjoy What you have now and replace with new technology as needs be.
Mike out.
Rich 63 is offline  
post #10837 of 10872 Old 08-11-2019, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Leeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Gang , I was given a Velodyne VDR 12 from
Some folks saying it didn’t work . Was built in 2009. I opened it up and found the problem. The metal contained box (assuming it’s the amp) is all burnt up
And melted inside . Wondering if it’s possible to get another amp from someplace , size it’s plug and play , or should I just take it to the dump ? Thanks for any answers.
Leeboy is offline  
post #10838 of 10872 Old 08-15-2019, 05:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 4,605
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeboy View Post
Hi Gang , I was given a Velodyne VDR 12 from
Some folks saying it didn’t work . Was built in 2009. I opened it up and found the problem. The metal contained box (assuming it’s the amp) is all burnt up
And melted inside . Wondering if it’s possible to get another amp from someplace , size it’s plug and play , or should I just take it to the dump ? Thanks for any answers.
It will cost around $200-$250 to repair assuming the circuit board is not damaged in the melt down. I would suggest contacting EBC electronics for repair.

https://www.ebcelectronics.com/velodyne-repair.php


Here's the manual for your VDR-12:

http://velodyneacoustics.com/pdf/vdr/VDRManual.pdf
b curry is online now  
post #10839 of 10872 Old 08-15-2019, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Leeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post
It will cost around $200-$250 to repair assuming the circuit board is not damaged in the melt down. I would suggest contacting EBC electronics for repair.

https://www.ebcelectronics.com/velodyne-repair.php


Here's the manual for your VDR-12:

http://velodyneacoustics.com/pdf/vdr/VDRManual.pdf

Thank you very much for this information
Leeboy is offline  
post #10840 of 10872 Old 08-18-2019, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I have two HGS-15s, two HGS-10s, and two SMS-1s. I'm thinking about using one SMS-1 with the HGS-15s for HT and the other SMS-1 with the HGS-10s for stereo. Should I use the equalized rather than LFE output from the SMS-1 for stereo? The manual doesn't address this and it appears as though Velodyne is in the LIDAR business now so I don't expect help from them.
dbphd is offline  
post #10841 of 10872 Old 08-19-2019, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 19,395
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9089 Post(s)
Liked: 6232
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I have two HGS-15s, two HGS-10s, and two SMS-1s. I'm thinking about using one SMS-1 with the HGS-15s for HT and the other SMS-1 with the HGS-10s for stereo. Should I use the equalized rather than LFE output from the SMS-1 for stereo? The manual doesn't address this and it appears as though Velodyne is in the LIDAR business now so I don't expect help from them.
If using pairs of subs the ideal is two have two identical subs paired together.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10842 of 10872 Old 08-19-2019, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
My understanding is that the spectrum of LFE is modified for more spectacular sound for LFE for HT, but for music I just want unmodified sound with acoustic room equalization.
dbphd is offline  
post #10843 of 10872 Old 09-04-2019, 06:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
For some time one of my HGS-15s has needed repair because it makes chuffing sounds, and today I discovered my other HGS-15 does not reliably trigger on with a LF signal. So that's two big subs to lug to LA for service. I recently discovered that one of my HGS-10s made clacking sounds when the SMS-1 ran acoustic room correction. Is it worth lugging the HGS-10 to LA as well? These subs have served well for decades, but I wonder if it's time for newer subs.

db
I'm having a similar dilemma but with my two Velodyne Q12's. They both make chuffing/blatting sounds on heavy low notes. It will cost about $250 per sub to repair. They are both about 12 years old, so am also wondering whether to just replace with new equipment. I have already bought two SVS PB-3000's, but want a 4 sub set-up. Thus the question, $500 for repair or $1500+ for new.
ShadowBoy is offline  
post #10844 of 10872 Old 09-04-2019, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I had two HGS-12’s and a SMS-1and after needing repair one year and then a year later it needed another.

I decided it was time to move on without adding more to this spiraling hole.

I purchased a single brand new SVS SB-3000 and I am so happy I did. I cannot believe this single sub keeps up with two of my old subs.

I feel like I’ve been missing something for a long time with how good this SVS sub plays.

I’m so happy and I don’t even feel like I need two subs with this thing. Well, we’ll see about that. 😜

Receiver : Pioneer Elite SC-LX701
Main & Center Speakers : Phase Technology PC 3.5, & Surrounds
Amplifiers : Emotiva UPA-1 Monoblocks, SVS SB3000 Subwoofer
MonsterPower HTS5100, Harmony Elite Remote
TV & Sources: Sony 75” 900F, Bluesound Node 2, Xbox One & Apple TV4K
todd1010 is offline  
post #10845 of 10872 Old 09-04-2019, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I had always used the short cut route to acoustic room correction with my SMS-1s, but after studying the manual I realized I should use the equalized output to match the acoustic spectrum level from the speakers with that from the subs. I connected that output to an AUX input of my Ayre preamp and the video to a small TV. It is instructive to see a display of the in-room 15-200 Hz spectra for the speakers and subs before making acoustic room correction then after room correction. The resulting integration of speakers and subs is excellent.

Re my earlier posts: (1) Only one HGS-15 and HGS-10 needed repair and both are in the shop now; (2) what I read as spectral tilt is the 10 dB boost given to LFE; (3) the equalized output is for setup, the LFE output for listening.

I look forward to using an array of my four Velodyne subs.
dbphd is offline  
post #10846 of 10872 Old 09-10-2019, 09:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone have firmware for DD Plus subs? I get an error on the first page of the menu and can't make any changes. I think reinstalling firmware will fix it.
M49r is online now  
post #10847 of 10872 Old 09-13-2019, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HGS-12 Amplifier

I have an HGS12 sub that I am in the process of recapping due to 2 cap failures. While removing one of the caps I damaged the SMD diode located in slot Z4. It appeared to be orange and black. I located others just like it on the board but there are no markings on them other than being the same colors. Does anyone know what the replacement diode would be???
Clayton McWhorter II is offline  
post #10848 of 10872 Old 09-14-2019, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I'm daisy chaining a pair of SMS-1s to manage a pair of HGS-10s and a pair of HGS-15s. I've connected an HGS-10 and HGS-15 to each SMS-1, but after rereading the manual I'm wondering if it might be better to connect the HGS-10s to one SMS-1 and the HGS-15s to the other given you set up master and slave independently, a step I missed in my initial setup, before daisy-chaining them. Advice sought.
dbphd is offline  
post #10849 of 10872 Old 09-18-2019, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Oregon
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Velodyne service

Quote:
Originally Posted by Namelessd View Post
Hello,
could someone help me with my pre-owned velodyne spl-1200 ultra, mfgd in 2008, serial number 682591001? If it was left connect to AC power with main switch on, after a while (like 6-10 hours), it's stops to give any sounds. If I leave it for few hours with main switch off, then it's start to work normally for another few hours. Auto power settings doesn't affect that behavior. When it is in this faulty mode, it's still can sense incoming signal (when auto power on option is selected, volume indicator turn's on when sub detects incoming signal).
I will really appreciate if someone can send me electronic schematics of this unit. I already sent an email to service at velodyne dot com, but no reply yet for almost a week now.
The factory rebuild protocol is upgraded caps, regulator I.C.'s and the internal sub-amp module (this will bring your amp back to new). Fortunately there are a few OEM parts left for the SPL series.

Cheers - Mike
HiFiPro is offline  
post #10850 of 10872 Old 09-18-2019, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Oregon
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
DD+

Quote:
Originally Posted by M49r View Post
Does anyone have firmware for DD Plus subs? I get an error on the first page of the menu and can't make any changes. I think reinstalling firmware will fix it.
If you can't retrieve it from Velo - let me know. The latest Rev I show is from 2013, so there's that.

Cheers - Mike
HiFiPro is offline  
post #10851 of 10872 Old 09-20-2019, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiFiPro View Post
If you can't retrieve it from Velo - let me know. The latest Rev I show is from 2013, so there's that.

Thanks for the offer. I don't have 15 posts to be able to send you a message. If you get to 15 first, send me a message. I didn't see firmware on the Velodyne site. I did download the Windows app but it wouldn't connect using a Keyspan USB-serial adapter.
M49r is online now  
post #10852 of 10872 Old 09-24-2019, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Oregon
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by M49r View Post
Thanks for the offer. I don't have 15 posts to be able to send you a message. If you get to 15 first, send me a message. I didn't see firmware on the Velodyne site. I did download the Windows app but it wouldn't connect using a Keyspan USB-serial adapter.
Yeah, I know what you mean.... I rarely get enough time to post on forums (I own one of those authorized shops listed on Velo's website - so I stay busy in the trenches). Tried to drag-n-drop the zip file but no joy due to file size limit.

Maybe email me?: [email protected]

~Mike
HiFiPro is offline  
post #10853 of 10872 Old 09-30-2019, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,309
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 436
HGS-18 Squeaking Noise

My HGS-18 makes an irritating squeaking sound during low frequency signals. Has anyone experienced this issue. It's only during loud low frequency sound that the squeak occurs.
gbaby is offline  
post #10854 of 10872 Old 10-02-2019, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rome (Italy)
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everybody!


I needed to change the capacitors in the DD 18 amp, but I done a stupid mistake: I deleted the photo of the internal connections, so know I'm unable to correctly plug the various cables (but the mains to the speaker).


Could someone gently provide me a photo with all the cables connected in the right position? Or do have I to contact (if exists) an european assistance centre (I'm from Italy - by the way, sorry for my bad english)?


Thanks in advance.


Best Regards. Leo!

Best Regards. Leo!
YGPMOLE is offline  
post #10855 of 10872 Old 10-02-2019, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 19,395
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9089 Post(s)
Liked: 6232
Quote:
Originally Posted by YGPMOLE View Post
Hi everybody!


I needed to change the capacitors in the DD 18 amp, but I done a stupid mistake: I deleted the photo of the internal connections, so know I'm unable to correctly plug the various cables (but the mains to the speaker).


Could someone gently provide me a photo with all the cables connected in the right position? Or do have I to contact (if exists) an european assistance centre (I'm from Italy - by the way, sorry for my bad english)?


Thanks in advance.


Best Regards. Leo!
These are the photos of my DD15; they MIGHT be of value to you, not sure.

I took these when I had to send in the amp for repair.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DD15 (2).JPG
Views:	16
Size:	2.33 MB
ID:	2622814   Click image for larger version

Name:	DD15 (3).JPG
Views:	16
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	2622816   Click image for larger version

Name:	DD15 (4).JPG
Views:	17
Size:	2.64 MB
ID:	2622818   Click image for larger version

Name:	DD15.JPG
Views:	15
Size:	2.13 MB
ID:	2622820  

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10856 of 10872 Old 10-02-2019, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rome (Italy)
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you Geoff!!! It worked: even if in my unit the female plug for the twisted Red/White/Black cable has 3 holes and the male has 5, thanks to your photos I have been able to connect it in the right position.

Dinner on me, in Rome!!!
gajCA likes this.

Best Regards. Leo!
YGPMOLE is offline  
post #10857 of 10872 Old 10-02-2019, 03:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,593
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2248 Post(s)
Liked: 3266
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
My HGS-18 makes an irritating squeaking sound during low frequency signals. Has anyone experienced this issue. It's only during loud low frequency sound that the squeak occurs.
When you say a squeaking noise, could it a small rubbing noise?
If so, it could be your coil and spider. Start to rub together, past a certain point. Since lower frequencies at louder volume. Would require your driver to go out further.



You can test this easily. With the sub turn off, all you do is spreading your fingers from both hand. As evenly as possible around the cone.
Then apply a gentle and even push in, and let the cone go back out (done by the surround suspension). While having an ear near the center of the woofer.

If you hear a small and faint grinding noise, the motor section as started to fail at lower/loud frequencies.
If not, I have no idea.

Just something to test


Darth
gbaby likes this.

Last edited by darthray; 10-02-2019 at 04:01 PM.
darthray is offline  
post #10858 of 10872 Old 10-03-2019, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,309
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post
When you say a squeaking noise, could it a small rubbing noise?
If so, it could be your coil and spider. Start to rub together, past a certain point. Since lower frequencies at louder volume. Would require your driver to go out further.



You can test this easily. With the sub turn off, all you do is spreading your fingers from both hand. As evenly as possible around the cone.
Then apply a gentle and even push in, and let the cone go back out (done by the surround suspension). While having an ear near the center of the woofer.

If you hear a small and faint grinding noise, the motor section as started to fail at lower/loud frequencies.
If not, I have no idea.

Just something to test


Darth
Thank you. Assuming it is the motor section failing, is this something that can be fixed by taking out the driver and sending it to the factory?
gbaby is offline  
post #10859 of 10872 Old 10-03-2019, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 6,593
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2248 Post(s)
Liked: 3266
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
Thank you. Assuming it is the motor section failing, is this something that can be fixed by taking out the driver and sending it to the factory?
Honestly, I do not know. But would assume the answer is no. Most speaker companies, just replace the driver when it fail while been under warranty.

That said, you should contact Velodyne Customer Service. To see if it can be fix or if a new driver can be purchase if out of warranty.
Since it would be much cheaper than buying a new sub, by just replacing the driver even if it is expensive to get (unless you need an excuse, for a new sub).

Wishing you all the best, to get your bass back to the way it was.


Darth

Last edited by darthray; 10-03-2019 at 06:40 AM.
darthray is offline  
post #10860 of 10872 Old 10-03-2019, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 3,770
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
Thank you. Assuming it is the motor section failing, is this something that can be fixed by taking out the driver and sending it to the factory?
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post
Honestly, I do not know. But would assume the answer is no. Most speaker companies, just replace the driver when it fail while been under warranty.

That said, you should contact Velodyne Customer Service. To see if it can be fix or if a new driver can be purchase if out of warranty.
Since it would be much cheaper than buying a new sub, by just replacing the driver even if it is expensive to get (unless you need an excuse, for a new sub).

Wishing you all the best, to get your bass back to the way it was.


Darth
Not 100% sure, but I think Velodyne has shut down. The website hasn't worked correctly for weeks, maybe months now. There are highly recommended Electronic repair shops up thread, but I think they mostly work on the amps. Wouldn't hurt to get in contact with one.

As expensive as Velodyne is, it might not cost that much more for you to get a new Rythmik F18, which will vastly outperform an HGS. The HGS was awesome in its day, but that was a long time ago.
http://www.rythmikaudio.com/F18.html
https://www.data-bass.com/data?page=system&id=145
darthray likes this.

My World Beating System!
Spoiler!
drh3b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Velodyne Acoustics , Velodyne Impact 10 10 Subwoofer , Velodyne Wiconnect 10 Wireless Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 8 8 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 10 10 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 12 12 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 15 15 Subwoofer , Velodyne

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off