What to do with a Martin Logan 700 with blown amp? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-11-2019, 11:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dannieboiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What to do with a Martin Logan 700 with blown amp?

I just dug out a mint condition Martin Logan Dynamo 700 that I forgot about for the past couple years. ML wanted like $230 for a replacement plate amp for a sub that's worth $300 in working condition.

Looking for some creative ideas on getting this thing to sing again without too much $$. Thinking of fixing it to pair with some M Audio AV42 in my home office.
dannieboiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-11-2019, 11:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6,689
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3318 Post(s)
Liked: 1871
with the price of labor everyone wants these days probably not worth trying to take amp to repair shop...last time I got a voltage rail replaced in my yamaha avr it cost $270 and took 2 months and 3 hr drive roundtrip.

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-12-2019, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RayGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,352
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2586 Post(s)
Liked: 2328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannieboiz View Post
I just dug out a mint condition Martin Logan Dynamo 700 that I forgot about for the past couple years. ML wanted like $230 for a replacement plate amp for a sub that's worth $300 in working condition.

Looking for some creative ideas on getting this thing to sing again without too much $$. Thinking of fixing it to pair with some M Audio AV42 in my home office.
If you can find something like this that will fit the hole, or create some sort of adapter to fit one.

https://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-...SIN=B0070Z81MW

The other option is to run it off an external amp and modify the internals to run the wires.

It's a VIRTUAL channel unless stated otherwise.
RayGuy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off