Help me with Epik sub repair / amp panel replacement - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by snookfisher View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
You can always run it in Bridge mode
Then I would need 2 of them..in which case im looking at almost the cost of a new sub
Why would you need 2 of them? Isnt the Phoenix a single 18? Are they 8 or 4 ohm drivers? Can you send me the full specs on those subs? Im having trouble finding info. I dont see why you cant run them both. Or you can always go with a 6000D. But I think the 3000 will be sufficient depending on those subs specs

Last edited by Juiced46; 08-06-2019 at 08:30 AM.
Juiced46 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
snookfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Why would you need 2 of them? Isnt the Phoenix a single 18? Are they 8 or 4 ohm drivers?
Well...the inuke is a 2 channel amp I have two subs...
snookfisher is offline  
post #33 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by snookfisher View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Why would you need 2 of them? Isnt the Phoenix a single 18? Are they 8 or 4 ohm drivers?
Well...the inuke is a 2 channel amp I have two subs...
My Behringer is a 2 channel and I run 6 subs, I run 4 off of ONE channel...... I edited my post. Can you list me the specs on those Phoenixs?
Juiced46 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
snookfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
My Behringer is a 2 channel and I run 6 subs, I run 4 off of ONE channel...... I edited my post. Can you list me the specs on those Phoenixs?
Its a single 18 inch driver 4 ohm original amp was 600RMS and 1500peak.
snookfisher is offline  
post #35 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by snookfisher View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
My Behringer is a 2 channel and I run 6 subs, I run 4 off of ONE channel...... I edited my post. Can you list me the specs on those Phoenixs?
Its a single 18 inch driver 4 ohm original amp was 600RMS and 1500peak.
Is the driver a single voice coil or DVC? If its a single 4 ohm. You run the amp in bridged mode and wire the 2 speakers in series/parallel which will give a 4ohm load and 3000 watts peak power
Juiced46 is offline  
post #36 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
snookfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Is the driver a single voice coil or DVC? If its a single 4 ohm. You run the amp in bridged mode and wire the 2 speakers in series/parallel which will give a 4ohm load and 3000 watts peak power
I was thinking of running each sub off each channel ..my receiver has duel sub output
snookfisher is offline  
post #37 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by snookfisher View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Is the driver a single voice coil or DVC? If its a single 4 ohm. You run the amp in bridged mode and wire the 2 speakers in series/parallel which will give a 4ohm load and 3000 watts peak power
I was thinking of running each sub off each channel ..my receiver has duel sub output
Then run 1 per channel @ 4 ohms. It will be enough. If you dont like it, return, or buy a 6000D
Juiced46 is offline  
post #38 of 47 Old 08-06-2019, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
snookfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Then run 1 per channel @ 4 ohms. It will be enough. If you dont like it, return, or buy a 6000D
I will...thank you for the help
snookfisher is offline  
post #39 of 47 Old 08-14-2019, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Vladyxa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
You will need an RCA to XLR adapter to connect the Receiver to the AMP. No cutting required.

From the AMP to the speakers you will just need a Speakon connector.

It goes like this.

RCA out of receiver > cable to convert RCA to XLR> connect XLR to INPUT of Amp. This gets the sub signal from the receiver to the AMP.

From there, its a Speakon connector out to the sub with speaker wire. At that point you can do what I did and add another speakon terminal at the back of the Epik.

All you need to make all of this work is an RCA to XLR cable like this-

https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-XLR...gateway&sr=8-6


You will not have to cut any wires at all. Then you will need the SpeakOn connectors to go from Amp to sub.
Got little derailed, ordering parts now:
- speakon connector for the back of the sub. Did you have to break out the old connector from Epik? I looked and it looks like I might have to break off peace of the amp board.
- 2 x speakon connectors for speaker wire (should have some 14ga wire left from running speakers)
- XLR to RCA cable

I already got the amp, yay!

Should get it next week and will update.
Vladyxa is offline  
post #40 of 47 Old 08-14-2019, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladyxa View Post
Got little derailed, ordering parts now:
- speakon connector for the back of the sub. Did you have to break out the old connector from Epik? I looked and it looks like I might have to break off peace of the amp board.
- 2 x speakon connectors for speaker wire (should have some 14ga wire left from running speakers)
- XLR to RCA cable

I already got the amp, yay!

Should get it next week and will update.
I unscrewed it from the plate amp and clipped the wires where it goes to the circuit board I believe. I forget what it looked like exactly at the moment.


I did it neatly but to be honest, the plate amp is junk, so you can technically break it off if you wanted to. Post a picture if you can and hopefully it will refresh my memory lol
Juiced46 is offline  
post #41 of 47 Old 08-26-2019, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Vladyxa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
I unscrewed it from the plate amp and clipped the wires where it goes to the circuit board I believe. I forget what it looked like exactly at the moment.


I did it neatly but to be honest, the plate amp is junk, so you can technically break it off if you wanted to. Post a picture if you can and hopefully it will refresh my memory lol
Finally got to work on the sub. Got everything connected and now struggling with the amp setup.
When I turn the amp on, the sub starts making a buzzing (not static) noise, which changes when I start or pause a movie.
The noise goes away if I turn the play around with settings, but I have not figured out how to set up the settings.
The manual for the amp's setup was less than user-friendly.
So, right now, there isn't much bass coming from the sub. But the good news - it seems to be working. lol

Can you share the setting you use for the sub?
Did you have any issues connecting to your amp?
Vladyxa is offline  
post #42 of 47 Old 08-26-2019, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladyxa View Post
Finally got to work on the sub. Got everything connected and now struggling with the amp setup.
When I turn the amp on, the sub starts making a buzzing (not static) noise, which changes when I start or pause a movie.
The noise goes away if I turn the play around with settings, but I have not figured out how to set up the settings.
The manual for the amp's setup was less than user-friendly.
So, right now, there isn't much bass coming from the sub. But the good news - it seems to be working. lol

Can you share the setting you use for the sub?
Did you have any issues connecting to your amp?
Buzzing is due to poor grounding in your electrical of your home. I will PM you tonight
Juiced46 is offline  
post #43 of 47 Old 08-26-2019, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Vladyxa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
Buzzing is due to poor grounding in your electrical of your home. I will PM you tonight
Thank you! Just to clarify, the buzzing sound doesn't start until I turn on my receiver.
When I turn the amp on, and the receiver is off, there is no sound.
Vladyxa is offline  
post #44 of 47 Old 08-26-2019, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladyxa View Post
Thank you! Just to clarify, the buzzing sound doesn't start until I turn on my receiver.
When I turn the amp on, and the receiver is off, there is no sound.
Then it may be interference with your Sub cable to XLR or something connected to the AVR causing noise to pass through the AVR to the AMP. I am going to PM you now....

Last edited by Juiced46; 08-26-2019 at 04:50 PM.
Juiced46 is offline  
post #45 of 47 Old 11-14-2019, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Stickgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Memphis
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by harync View Post
I can second the use of a parts express plate amplifier to repair an Epik sub. I have an Epik Sentinel, and the amp went dead. I obtained a different Parts Express amp that was nearly a perfect match for the opening and had the same power rating. It works great.
Hi Do you mind posting a link to the AMP you purchased as a replacement? Thanks in advance.

I have two Epik Subs that need replacement Amps!
Stickgs is offline  
post #46 of 47 Old 11-14-2019, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Juiced46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickgs View Post
Hi Do you mind posting a link to the AMP you purchased as a replacement? Thanks in advance.

I have two Epik Subs that need replacement Amps!

The SPA500 Dayton amp seems to be a popular replacement amp for the Epiks. However, since they are $300 a piece and you have 2 subs that need amps. I would highly suggest going with a single external like the Berhinger NX6000D which is what I run to power 3 -Epik Empires (looking for a 4th). Its an amazing amp with tons of control

If you have an Empire with a dead amp, I would be interested in buying it.
Juiced46 is offline  
post #47 of 47 Old 11-15-2019, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Stickgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Memphis
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juiced46 View Post
The SPA500 Dayton amp seems to be a popular replacement amp for the Epiks. However, since they are $300 a piece and you have 2 subs that need amps. I would highly suggest going with a single external like the Berhinger NX6000D which is what I run to power 3 -Epik Empires (looking for a 4th). Its an amazing amp with tons of control

If you have an Empire with a dead amp, I would be interested in buying it.
Thanks unfortunately I was using the two subs in different rooms in the house so I can't use a single amp for both. I picked up a Bash 500S Digital Subwoofer Plate Amplifier 500W for $249 and will give that a shot first. I have a Sentinel and a Legend. been without either one for quite some time now and finally going to try to repair them.
Stickgs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off