Impedence with Shakers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 09-18-2019, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Impedence with Shakers

So I currently have 3 x Hsu ULS-15 Mk2 in my theater. 25x15ft with 10ft ceiling. All EQ'd from a miniDSP 2x4HD
Peak SPL in 120-130db no complaints until we get below 20Hz to 25Hz. Still have respectable output down there but looking to reinforce the output without having to get monster ported subs...Like JTR Orbit Shifter x 2 or something. Have the budget, just not the will to bring in monster ported subs...plus I've always been preferential to sealed subs.

So 6 x theater seats. I am considering bass transducers for the seats. When I built the theater, and specifically the riser, I prewired speaker wire and banana plug plates for transducers for each rows (2 rows of 3 seats)

Question 1: As I have little experience with transducers (ok near none) are they going to do much as I have plenty of output from the ULS-15's? You can never have enough bass...but its worth asking.
Question 2: I have one output left on the MiniDSP...so getting a new amp to run these and use it in Bridged/mono seems to be a solid choice. Does the amp quality matter for transducers? Like a Crowne or Dayton Audio vs. Emotiva PA-1 (stable mono at 2.7 Ohm)?
Question 3: How do I wire them? 6 transducers at 4 Ohm is going to be odd...pairs in series (x3) and then Parallel? 2.67 Ohm is tough for many cheap amps.
Question 4: besides the ButtKicker Mini LFE is there another inexpensive option for sub 20hz to look at? Aura shakers appear to roll off.

Any help or suggestions with these questions is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-19-2019, 04:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Quoted: 5227 Post(s)
Liked: 3398
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighModulus View Post